We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Enjoyed our night at the Argyll hotel. Nice room and no traffic noise. great breakfast and great staff. Good parking outside only £2 for the whole morning. Will stay here again if possible next time in Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    350
    120
    19
    18
See reviews for
124
302
97
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel several times over the last ten years. It is reasonably priced and in a good location for easy access to the city. Although we had booked a twin room we were actually accommodated in a family room facing onto the main road which was a slight worry about traffic noise, but we needn't have worried. The only noise was in fact from noisy people in the street at 2am which was a little irritating. The bathroom's a little jaded and needs renovating.

The Sutherland restaurant which is part of the hotel is open Thursday to Sunday. A restricted menu but the food is of an extremely good quality.

Breakfast is also served here and is excellent. Watch out for Linda and Valerie both waitresses at breakfast - they are very extremely hard working and friendly.

The hotel also has murder mystery weekends - one mystery during our stay was that on Friday morning when we went out, there were five biscuits on the morning coffee tray. When we returned there were only three! mmm??

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy-Freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days before my interview as a volunteer for the Commonwealth games next year. It was perfect for my purpose. I wanted to drive to each of the venues and familiarise myself once more with the streets of Glasgow and city driving. I was able to park my car at the hotel, the room was spacious, comfortable and very clean, the staff friendly and helpful and there was a good choice at the buffet breakfast. We were opposite the bowling greens and had the Kelvingrove Park and the Art Galleries on the doorstep. A short walk took us to Byres Road where we relived our student days (we are now in our 60s and 70s) and enjoyed the still lively night life. The SECC precinct is within walking distance too (gymnastics, boxing , judo etc) and a walk along Sauchiehall St takes you to the main shopping areas with the option of a bus route outside for the return journey laden with parcels and suffering sore feet! All I need now is to hear I've passed the interview and been accepted as a volunteer next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorayTraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for one night
And were pleased with quality of room. Nicely decorated. The bathroom appeared freshly renovated and the bed was extremely comfortable. Good choice at breakfast. Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msida, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great location: close to city centre, public transport & new hydro. Comfortable & clean rooms. Helpful management & friendly staff. Buffet breakfast: great! plenty of choice. Thanks for making it a great holiday!! Paul & Margaret, Malta.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hotel was cheap and for the money was exactly what we expected. Room and bathroom were clean, comfy and had TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast buffet was great - no complaints. Location was excellent, 15 minute walk to SECC Hydro for concert. Pub next door was friendly, cheap and decent for something to eat before concert. Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyjG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for one night to allow my daughter to go to concert at nearby Hydro.

One double, one twin both £55 including breakfast. Rooms, in the main hotel, were fine. Bathrooms clean but shower a bit weak. Small car park which was handy. Hotel bar/restaurant never opened which meant there wasn't anyplace to sit/socialise. Breakfast was excellent, full range of hot foods, highly recommended.

Area excellent for restaurants and bars. Too many too count in every direction. The Three Judges good for real ales. Visit Kelvingrove Museum just along the road.

Would return to hotel as long as price was reasonable for a short visit.

Nearly forgot to say staff friendly especially at breakfast.

Room Tip: Back of hotel quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgedoull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#55 of 95 in Glasgow
208 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,110 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#54 of 95 in Glasgow
928 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Lastminute, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing