We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Decent enough place and an absolute bargain for the price. Room was a decent size, four poster bed (thin mattress and not too comfy), free wi-fi and a decent breakfast. What's not to like? Major disappointment was no haggis with the breakfast, the only hotel I've ever stayed in in Scotland that doesn't do haggis lol.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    333
    112
    19
    17
See reviews for
119
282
95
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was a very last minute one night stay booked on "lastminute.com" @ 11pm the night before travel £50 B&B - we have no regrets ! Arrived early and were met by very helpful reception staff when enquiring about parking (as small car park full) were offered on street parking vouchers £2 for 24 hours to purchase which we did and parked right outside hotel front door for duration of our stay removing much stress ! The large room (306) was very well appointed and very clean with beautiful French Rococo style furniture and crisp white bed linen with teal accents.Large Wet room was again very clean and shower had huge twin rainfall shower heads making it feel very luxurious. We walked into city centre straight walk in Sauchiehall Street took approx. 15minutes, but also used underground nearest station Kelvinhall probably about 10min walk if that back to Hotel. Breakfast was excellent welcomed by lovely polite staff and shown to table breakfast is self service but very varied choice with Juice's, Cereal's ,Fresh fruit , Yoghurt and full selection of cooked breakfast products also board offering certain items cooked to order.Staff were attentive offering tea and coffee at regular intervals.Husband also commented on fact that wall mounted large LCD TV had absolutely no wires on view just a small thing but show's care had been taken.Have already recommended to friends and family and will always check availability here first before booking for next trip to Glasgow look forward to visiting again. Excellent Location for visiting Kelvingrove Museum & Park , University , Charles Rennie Mackintosh house and Huntertarian Museum also.

Room Tip: Would certainly recommend Room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STRAYCAT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As my wife caustically commented, this hotel was designed by a man. No mirror in the room anywhere near an electric socket for the hair drier. That apart our room (311) was well appointed for the price (£50 with breakfast via booking.com) including what seemed to be a 40" LCD TV. OK this twin room was on the small side, but it was spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable feel to it and was reasonably quiet as it overlooked the hotel's small (5 car max), free car park accessed via a lane to the rear of the hotel. As it was full (6 cars!) we parked in a street close by, the hotel providing a ticket to cover 0800-1400 for £2. A previous commentator was probably unlucky with Reception, ours was extremely warm and welcoming and, as the hotel's restaurant was closed, she recommended some local eateries.One attracted a discount on production of room card but was unfortunately out of action on the night. The highlight for us was the breakfast. A warm welcome and good choice of hot or cold buffet, including four choices for eggs, the best porridge my wife has tasted from a hotel, ever, and deliciously crumbly West Coast black pudding. And to round it off, even as the time was past 0930, when breakfast finishes?, an invitation for more tea or coffee. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crichtocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thankyou for your kind coments. We have noted your feedback on the electrial points next to the mirror and we working on placing a socket next to mirror in 311.

Our breakfast always scores very high and our porridge definately is the best.
Next time please try our freshly prepared scambled eggs which are very good too.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers . We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

B Bashir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed one night, and very pleased with everything. Very reasonable price. Room, bathroom and bedding were all clean. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Decor is a bit "twee" but I prefer hotels with a bit of character and history rather than the bland cold corporates. Breakfast was brilliant! It's only a 20 minute walk or a fiver taxi into the city centre. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithaLittled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Enjoyed our night at the Argyll hotel. Nice room and no traffic noise. great breakfast and great staff. Good parking outside only £2 for the whole morning. Will stay here again if possible next time in Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel several times over the last ten years. It is reasonably priced and in a good location for easy access to the city. Although we had booked a twin room we were actually accommodated in a family room facing onto the main road which was a slight worry about traffic noise, but we needn't have worried. The only noise was in fact from noisy people in the street at 2am which was a little irritating. The bathroom's a little jaded and needs renovating.

The Sutherland restaurant which is part of the hotel is open Thursday to Sunday. A restricted menu but the food is of an extremely good quality.

Breakfast is also served here and is excellent. Watch out for Linda and Valerie both waitresses at breakfast - they are very extremely hard working and friendly.

The hotel also has murder mystery weekends - one mystery during our stay was that on Friday morning when we went out, there were five biscuits on the morning coffee tray. When we returned there were only three! mmm??

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy-Freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days before my interview as a volunteer for the Commonwealth games next year. It was perfect for my purpose. I wanted to drive to each of the venues and familiarise myself once more with the streets of Glasgow and city driving. I was able to park my car at the hotel, the room was spacious, comfortable and very clean, the staff friendly and helpful and there was a good choice at the buffet breakfast. We were opposite the bowling greens and had the Kelvingrove Park and the Art Galleries on the doorstep. A short walk took us to Byres Road where we relived our student days (we are now in our 60s and 70s) and enjoyed the still lively night life. The SECC precinct is within walking distance too (gymnastics, boxing , judo etc) and a walk along Sauchiehall St takes you to the main shopping areas with the option of a bus route outside for the return journey laden with parcels and suffering sore feet! All I need now is to hear I've passed the interview and been accepted as a volunteer next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorayTraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#65 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing