We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Polite Staff and Ideal Location”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had some visitors in town and chose this hotel for them. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and the rooms were great value for money. The breakfast for which i joined my guests one morning was excellent and no request was too much for the staff on hand serving us. All in all a great choice can't go wrong with this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel after a recommendation and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is nice and clean with the staff very welcoming. The breakfast in the downstairs restaurant had a very nice hot and cold selection. The staff kept asking if we needed anything. Would visit again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank medin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Clean and tidy with no frills, value for money if on your own budget. Breakfast was excellent Scottish with the trimmings and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. If you are needing in town accommodation without the significant overheads this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkRedbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel in a good location. Few steps away from the kelvin grove museum and a 20 minute walk to George Square. Rooms are extremely small but clean. We mainly used this as a base to visit the highlands. Good value for the price. There are lots of restaurants and supermarkets around the area

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

What can I say great hotel staff are so friendly and helpful breakfast was really good room was amazing with four poster bed . Would recommend this hotel and not fair away from the town. Would stay at this hotel again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here on Easter Sunday as a last minute booking for one night. The room was very clean and you could tell it had been recently updated. The hotel is only a short walk from the centre of town near to Kelvingrove Art Gallery and park. The hotel does not have private parking but there is on-street parking which is free from 6pm-8am and all day Sunday. Breakfast was included in our stay and i could not fault it - all buffet dishes full and fresh. The only thing that prevented me from giving 5stars was the fact our shower had a leak and that the other parts of the hotel such as the breakfast area looked quite dated and were requiring some attention.
I would highly recommend the Argyll Hotel and would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackie2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped in the Argyll on our way up north. Great for a stop. Comfy rooms and modern bathroom, excellent service at breakfast and by the receptionist. It has a couple of spaces for parking at the back. Its not for a romantic hotel night, more for a stop on a longer trip but we enjoyed it all the same.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ColeSchmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
593 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,924 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £37 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing