We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argyll Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 03/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$255
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
325
390
129
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
390
129
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstartan themekelvingrove museumcity centrestreet parkingthe main hotelglasgow universitywest endfour poster bedguest housesingle roomclean bathroomfamily roomsauchiehall streetbreakfast was excellentscottish breakfastbreakfast staffbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here overnight as we had an early departure the next morning on holiday.
The staff were all very nice. The room was very well decorated, comfortable and the bathroom also wasvery clean I had asked for extra pillows when booking and they were in the room when we arrived.
The breakfast in the morning was buffet style and excellent - there was everything you could want.
We usually stay in an hotel in the City Centre but couldn't get a booking, but from now on we will stay at the Argyll - it is not far from the city centre by taxi or bus (bus stop close to the hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I arrived with my group for a long planned 2 night stay, friendly staff but disorganised and had to pay on the spot. The single room was fine but had a torn and filthy headboard and a poor bed. The side table looked like it had been picked up from a junk shop. The next room smelled of smoke. Four years on the owners have changed and rooms are still slowly upgraded. Maybe I was just unlucky ....

For a 3 star hotel I would expect more professional reception staff, a lounge, towel rails in the bathroom, nicer decor, better coffee and a choice of eggs in the morning. Not much love lost here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janso0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. It’s our hotel policy to take payment or swipe on arrival and it’s been the same policy for the past 10 years, which I’m sure is with all hotels. Your room was located on the 4th floor which is our budget rooms and they all are clean and meat current grading standards. All our rooms are non smoking and if you had reported this to a member of staff I’m sure they would have moved you.
We have refurbished 20 rooms this year on the first second and third floor and more are in the pipeline. There are videos and pictures on our website available.
We do get very good feedback with our staff and we offer pouched eggs fried eggs and boiled eggs on request. All our coffee is free trade and as we are refurbishing room we are putting in new towel rails.
Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Argyll Hotel.

Kind regards

Bobby Bashir
Hotel Manager
Argyll Hotel Glasgow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It has been 12 years since I last stayed at the Argyll - loved it then and love it still.
We were given a very friendly welcome and upgraded to the family room for the night - it was great with plenty of room which was appreciated after 3 weeks travelling. The room was tidy and clean and really well appointed.
The bar and restaurant was quiet on the night (compared to what it was 12 years ago) but was good value for drinks and dinner.
Parking is limited, however the staff are able to assist with street parking permits.
Anyone looking for very good accommodation, service and friendly staff for the Commonwealth Games - look no further than the Argyll.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were here for one night only but I wish I could have stayed longer. The welcome was warm, the room imaginatively decorated and the bathroom looked recently renovated. We had a minor problem on arrival which the hotel graciously resolved for us. The breakfast was good - buffet style - and well-presented. The only minor niggle, and only very minor, is that if your car is parked outside on the street, the meter has to be fed at 8 a.m. Would certainly try to book this hotel on our next visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was cosy and clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly . I am a solo traveller (lady of a certain age) and felt very comfortable here. The breakfast was traditional Scottish fare and I was a bit disappointed not to get the choice of croissants etc but I understand that this is a very traditional Scottish hotel - love the tartan carpet! The breakfast room has a very unusual toaster - never seen one like this before - a bit like Wallace and Gromit - !- but you toast the bread yourself and it does definitely work!
the location of the hotel is excellent and a taxi into the city costs £4.00.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews