We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at its redo”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Argyll before - more than 10 years ago. At the time I joked that the room was so small, I had to go out in the hall to change my mind. What a difference a decade has made! Our room was large and roomy, sporting a 4-poster bed. The bathroom was sparkling. Although we weren't particularly disappointed in our earlier stay, we were pleasantly surprised at the improvements.

Breakfast was ample, although my wife and I steered clear of the scrambled eggs which appeared a shade or two too runny for us. We did, however, order poached eggs which were perfect when delivered to our table.

The staff was most helpful. And we took advantage of having laundry done at the hotel. Great value for money.

We had a terrific stay at the Argyll and would readily return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4-poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We'd read they'd recently redecorated the rooms in a previous review but this seems to have extended to new curtains and bed/pillow covers only. The furniture i.e. wonky wardrobe and scratched bed side tables could do with replacing. Same goes for the rusty shower rack. The bathroom in general could be updated. A mattress protector of a few inches so you don't feel the springs would be nice. The reception staff was friendly and cleaning was fine. WiFi wasn't great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed in the Argyll many times over the years and this was as good a stay as previous, we stayed in one of the 4 poster rooms. Very comfy sleep, clean room and bathroom. Nice Breakfast as usual and always friendly staff. Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedandBreakfast90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here overnight as we had an early departure the next morning on holiday.
The staff were all very nice. The room was very well decorated, comfortable and the bathroom also wasvery clean I had asked for extra pillows when booking and they were in the room when we arrived.
The breakfast in the morning was buffet style and excellent - there was everything you could want.
We usually stay in an hotel in the City Centre but couldn't get a booking, but from now on we will stay at the Argyll - it is not far from the city centre by taxi or bus (bus stop close to the hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I arrived with my group for a long planned 2 night stay, friendly staff but disorganised and had to pay on the spot. The single room was fine but had a torn and filthy headboard and a poor bed. The side table looked like it had been picked up from a junk shop. The next room smelled of smoke. Four years on the owners have changed and rooms are still slowly upgraded. Maybe I was just unlucky ....

For a 3 star hotel I would expect more professional reception staff, a lounge, towel rails in the bathroom, nicer decor, better coffee and a choice of eggs in the morning. Not much love lost here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janso0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. It’s our hotel policy to take payment or swipe on arrival and it’s been the same policy for the past 10 years, which I’m sure is with all hotels. Your room was located on the 4th floor which is our budget rooms and they all are clean and meat current grading standards. All our rooms are non smoking and if you had reported this to a member of staff I’m sure they would have moved you.
We have refurbished 20 rooms this year on the first second and third floor and more are in the pipeline. There are videos and pictures on our website available.
We do get very good feedback with our staff and we offer pouched eggs fried eggs and boiled eggs on request. All our coffee is free trade and as we are refurbishing room we are putting in new towel rails.
Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Argyll Hotel.

Kind regards

Bobby Bashir
Hotel Manager
Argyll Hotel Glasgow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It has been 12 years since I last stayed at the Argyll - loved it then and love it still.
We were given a very friendly welcome and upgraded to the family room for the night - it was great with plenty of room which was appreciated after 3 weeks travelling. The room was tidy and clean and really well appointed.
The bar and restaurant was quiet on the night (compared to what it was 12 years ago) but was good value for drinks and dinner.
Parking is limited, however the staff are able to assist with street parking permits.
Anyone looking for very good accommodation, service and friendly staff for the Commonwealth Games - look no further than the Argyll.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were here for one night only but I wish I could have stayed longer. The welcome was warm, the room imaginatively decorated and the bathroom looked recently renovated. We had a minor problem on arrival which the hotel graciously resolved for us. The breakfast was good - buffet style - and well-presented. The only minor niggle, and only very minor, is that if your car is parked outside on the street, the meter has to be fed at 8 a.m. Would certainly try to book this hotel on our next visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#51 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
583 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 93 in Glasgow
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#57 of 93 in Glasgow
986 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £50 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing