We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, clean and comfortable”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 January 2011

was just looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful. Room was lovely and warm, bed was comfy and close enough to the city centre. Great value for 25 quid!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
Thank marina_wilkinson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

Stayed at the Argyll for a couple of weeks whilst working in Glasgow. Personnally, it ticked all the right boxes when it comes to travelling and working away from home on a budget...comfortable bed, good wi-fi connection (which did not drop out at anytime during my stay), nice fresh breakfast and very good value. I stayed in the single rooms which were by no means large or decked out in modern decor but warm and felt comfortable, as expected for a 3* hotel. Stayed in three different rooms during my time at the Argyll as I checked in and out whilst in Glasgow to stay with friends. The standard of all the rooms was generally consistant, with only minor niggles (such as one room with not a very good tv signal). The hotel is situated in a safe area close to the University and with a number of good places to eat with variety. Walked into the city which took about 15 mins - loads of cabs to flag down along Argyll if you don't fancy a walk.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mDean-o-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This hotel is worth staying in food out of this world management and staff very very helpful, rooms are up to a very high standard only thing it lacks in the tea/coffee tray is hot chocolate packacts it realy says it all home from home log fire burning in the bar plenty of warmth in your rooms and plenty of hot water in the bathrooms. A real little gem .It puts on murder mystery nights where you take part in solveing the crime excellent

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catriona085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Throughly enjoyed our stay! We were Pleasantly suprised as we opened our room, to find a very cute and convienent room tradition scottish themed. It was also great to have heaters that ACTUALLY work in our rooms as the weather was terrible. Location was great and made it very easy to get places with the bus stops right outside the door. -only downside is it's a one way st so you we had to walk or cab back. The breakfast was lovely, greeted with friendly staff and had a wide variety of food to nibble on, from toast, ceral, fruit to fry up! (and now soya milk available on request- thanks guys! Haha) 
Would defently stay here again! 
Thankyou argyll!   

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marikaa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Excellent value for money, good service, slept like a baby. Will stay again if I need to go to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rog5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Stayed here whilst on a trip doing the Christmas Shopping. First impressions are good at the front entrance, clean and well lit. The weather was not great, very very cold, but the marble mosaic tiled floor and steps at the entrance were like something from dancing on ice....some grit please!! Receptionist was polite and informative, we paid for our 2 nights up front with no breakfast: £80 total, £40/p/n for the room. Good value at that time of the year regardless of the quality. Approached the lift to take us to the 3rd floor, and it stank of urine. It must be stressed that only the lift smelled not the hotel generally. Our room was very small but adaquate. The TV worked but the max volume seemed to be very low and I soon realised that this probably deliberate as the walls were paper thin and you could hear every word of the telly next door.
The floorboards were very bouncy and squeeky and I genuinely thought I might go through the floor. The bed was well made, warm and comfortable, just what I needed after a hard days wallet hammering!!!!
A real advantage was the free customer parking to the rear, which is monitored on CCTV. I mention the CCTV because the parking area is on a back street behind the hotel and doesn't look too salubrious.
Overall its a friendly and cheap place to stay and OK if you're on your own or on a business trip or something but sadly I wont be taking the women there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tealejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Thank you for your candid review. When booking through an agent, please keep in mind that agents generally charge separately for the breakfast option. The rate you paid was for our budget rooms; having booked directly with the Hotel, you would have had breakfast included in the price.

The Hotel is currently undergoing renovations, so we have allocated the third and fourth floors to budget accommodation until the renovation is complete. Customers are always welcome to upgrade to one of our tartan rooms, depending upon availability.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I needed a place to stay overnight in Glasgow as a result of travel difficulties and this hotel was quiet and welcoming. I was provided with a good night's sleep and a nice fulfilling breakfast at great value price.

John T

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JockyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
588 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,910 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,078 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £42 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing