We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Peterhead
1 review
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

The double room we were allocated was a huge disappointment, the wall paper was torn and dirty, it was tiny with a very small single wardrobe and only had one chair which you couldnt use without blocking the flow of the room. The bathroom also was very small and very old and outdated.

The staff were very friendly and the restaurant food was good, we had a meal from the February deal which was 3 courses and a bottle of wine for two for £20 very good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertPeterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response. I am sorry to hear that your room was not to your satisfaction. Please except my sincere apologies, as the 4th floor is awaiting renovations. The price you were charged for the room has been reflected on this.

I am glad to hear your Restaurant experience was good and that you enjoyed our February special. If I can be of any help to you now or in the future, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    317
    110
    19
    17
See reviews for
116
270
91
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Spent a night there recently and was delighted at the friendliness of staff and the comfort of the bed. You can tell a lot about a hotel by the comfort of it's beds. Hotel is wonderfully situated for easy access to the centre of the town if you don't mind walking and Glasgows wonderful Theatres if you like a good show. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and delicious and the staff helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwinamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

The room was excellent with a very comfortable bed. Warm, clean and well appointed with a nice bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was superb and we dined in the hotel restaurant before walking into town for a film and the food was excellent value at £13 for three courses.
Would recommend the Argyl Hotel to anyone.......already have in fact!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gcvclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Glasgow! There's nothing extravagant about it but it's very affordable, clean and homely! The Staff are excellent, couldn't do enough for you! The rooms aren't huge but they are very warm, comfortable and clean. We only spent one night there but would definitely stay there again the next time we go to Glasgow. The purpose of our visit was an interview in Glasgow University so the Hotel was a perfect location for this, only 15 minutes walk or a £4.50 taxi fare away! The Argyll Hotel is within walking distance of the City Centre, only 15/20 minutes walk from the famous 'Glasgow Style Mile' where you can shop till you drop! Would definitely recommed it to anyone looking for something 'Cheap & Cheerful' in Glasgow!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmfh1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We have now stayed here several times and are never disappointed. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the tartan theme quirky and charming. Cant say enough about the staff, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent, you wont need lunch! The hotel is ideally situated for the west end and the SECC and moments away from lovely Kelvingrove Park and the fantastic museum. If you are going to Glasgow then stay here and you wont be disappointed. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveACampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husband and i stayed here for one night, we booked the honeymoon suite as it was my birthday, the room was clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom shower was huge and very modern and clean.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent with plenty of choice and was all very hot and of good quality.
Staff were very helpful.
Great location with plenty of restaurants and bars around.
Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyduck71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Great hotel. Breakfast was superb, good value food in Sutherland's Restaurant in the evenings. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. If Sutherland's is closed(sunday) then I would recommend walking 2 mins at the other side of street to a restaurant called The Sisters-excellent scottish produce cooked to perfection. I would definately recommend The Argyll Hotel to friends and family looking for a hotel at the quieter end of Sauchiehall Street but easy accessable by walking to the many pubs and bars towards the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen220269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing