We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, comfortable hotel in a very nice part of the city!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belhaven Hotel
Ranked #51 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, comfortable hotel in a very nice part of the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stayed here for 3 very comfortable nights. Booked a single room but was given a very well proportioned double room.
Very tastefully decorated bedroom with the grandest, highest ceilings I have ever seen. Room was warm and cosy and the bathroom was bright with a good selection of toileteries.
I didn't actually try the breakfast but it smelled really good and the small bar area looked very nice with a roaring fire.
I had to leave the hotel a day early for personal reasons which the manager was very understanding about and did not charge me for the cancelled night.
I would recommend this hotel 100% for anyone and due to the fantastic west end location, it is a peaceful place to stay whilst being very handy for all the city attractions. At a fraction of the price of some of the chain hotels, this was definitely a good find!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller190573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    172
    66
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
139
66
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dunoon scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Always stay here when visiting Glasgow on my own. The hotel has very cosy single rooms. The area around the hotel is very safe. I have never had problems with car parking but then I am aware to park up before residents of the terrace have returned from work. Theres still parking in nearby streets. Byres Road is within walking distance. Buses to the city centre
pass by on Great Western Road. Wouldnt stay anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrach79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Arrived at the hotel after an awful day .....could not wait for a bath - up to our room .....NO BATH....... Asked the gent on reception if he had any rooms with bath and he could not have been more helpful. Gave us a brilliant room on the ground floor with 2 very very comfortable double beds and a very spacious bathroom.. WITH BATH :-) Very comfortable, well appointed hotel with extremely friendly accommodating staff. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainand1stmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We only stayed one night at the Belhaven and wish it could have been longer. The room was spacious yet cosy and had all the amenities you would expect. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was amazing with a two-person spa bath. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and lacked that 'hotel' smell. We had a few drinks in the lounge bar on our return from town, prices were very reasonable. All staff were friendly and helpful and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. The location of the hotel is very good being only a five minute walk from Byres Road. This is a perfect place to stay if you are coming to Glasgow for one night or one week. We wil certainly be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed one night here at the Belhaven, and the staff were very helpful. Chris on the reception desk was great – he took our bags up to our room, which was good since our room was up four flights of stairs! And there was no lift.

Hotel is a little way out of town centre, so you’d need to catch a bus or have a car to go into the city centre. You could walk it, but it would be about a 20min walk I imagine. Getting to the hotel entrance is a little tricky as it’s on a side road that you have to go around the block to get to. Car parking can be an issue too as there is none on site.

Building was a little dated and in need of some renovation. There was a bar downstairs near the lobby. Room including the bathroom was a very good size, clean and comfortable. I couldn’t work the heater in the room but the temperature was fine. Room door lock was flimsy, but since we were only staying one night it wasn’t an issue for us.

Bathroom shower head height was extremely low that you would have to be vertically challenged to fit under there. The water pressure wasn’t very good, but I imagine as we were on the top floor and the building was older that it had something to do with it.

The included full Scottish breakfast was delicious and a great start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccranny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed at the Belhaven for 4 nights while in visiting a friend who lives in the area. The hotel is in a great location in the West End of Glasgow, conveniently located near the subway line, bars, restaurants and shopping. The surrounding neighborhood is charming (beautiful old architecture), seemingly safe and although located off of a main road, fairly quiet to traffic. I reserved a single room for four non-consecutive nights (two nights before heading to Edinburgh and 2 nights before I left Scotland). My first room was very small but really cute and cozy. The room faced the back of the hotel and was very quiet. My second room was just slightly bigger but unfortunately it faced the street and was located under the front stoop. The trash area was located right outside of the window and although I was out and about during the day and didn’t mind the poor view, it was the sound of the staff wrestling with the garbage at midnight that was most unfortunate. But the rate was worth the small inconvenience - it was a great value without giving up overall comfort. Clean rooms, friendly proprietor who accommodated my luggage while I was out of the city and a delicious breakfast (try the waffles!). The hotel had much more character than your standard chain hotel. I would certainly recommend and stay at the Belhaven again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissaknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jock in Brum
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed here for just one night on our way North and had an overall pleasant experience. We stayed at One Devonshire Gardens in the summer and had a dreadful night's sleep so The Bellhaven was our next choice, much cheaper and closer to the Byers Rd (restaurants & bars).

However, it did not get off to an auspicious start. The place is a devil to find and having driven round for 15 minutes we had to telephone for directions. On arrival there was no parking (on street, first come first served) anywhere near the hotel and I had to drop our bags on the wet pavement and drive off in search of somewhere to leave the car. Hiked back to the hotel in the rain, wet and cross, missed the sign pointing to the bell and stood there banging on the locked door in exasperation. Grrrr.

The hotel is a converted town house, beautiful high ceilings with fully restored cornice work and elegant, good sized rooms throughout the public spaces. Our room was on the second floor so we accepted the kind offer of a hand with the bags. Be warned - no lift.

Our room was smallish with the ensuite bathroom being a partitioned area taking up about a third of the original room space. Decor was fine (if a little tired) but the tacky flat pack furniture lets it down. Cheap and wobbly, it could be easily replaced with second hand sale room items in real wood with age and character. With a little effort and thought this could be a superb boutique hotel - the fabric of the building is crying out for it and the West End is the perfect location.

The "compact" bathroom was fine (if a little cramped) and the corner shower stall could be problematic for larger guests. For the price I couldn't complain.

Breakfast was a good full Scottish, served a little early for my liking as in most hotels, but the lovely waitng staff made up for the early hour with their smiles and speedy service.

They have one PC set up in the lounge/breakfast room for internet access, but upgrading to free wi fi would be a huge plus, even if it was restricted to the lounge, for business and leisure guests alike. I wanted to check the route out of town and had to wait for 30 minutes to use the pc while my laptop sat unused.

All in all a good small hotel that, with a little attention to decor in the rooms, could be very special. It's a shame that this site only gives us "average" and "very good", because The Bellhaven is definately not your average hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Property: The Belhaven Hotel
Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 OTG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing