We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Belhaven Hotel
Ranked #51 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I booked the Belhaven mostly based on the previous reviews; work's Christmas night out and didn't want to travel home afterwards. I thought that I would have a quiet night's rest after our festive get together. Boy was I wrong. Shouting and fighting from one of the other rooms started and I really should have left there and then. Of course when the Police and ambulance arrived I felt that I couldn't leave my room. What decent hotel has the emergency services arrive at their hotel.
So after what can at best be described as a "disturbed" night and at worst frightening, there was no apology or even any reference to the previous nights incident the following morning at breakfast. What kind of management runs this place? Any half decent hotel would have had the manager/ owner on site immediately. Management of this hotel should have intervened in this incident/situation immediately and not disturbed the remaining guests. Bad, bad management, guests safety should be paramount.
Stay here again, never. Recommend this hotel never

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim57g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all there was a manager on site during the whole incident. The assistant manager did her best to deal with two guests who had far too much to drink and was finding it difficult to intervene a couple having domestic problems. The police and ambulance were called in because somebody was seriously injured. As good as my assistant manager may be they aren't capable of putting 10 stitches into someones head.

Your review is based on nothing to do with the hotel and it's services, it is based on a freak incident that was well handled by my assistant manager. I apologise for your disturbance and it is not what I consider a pleasant night for any one to have to experience, for both guests nor staff. All members of staff made an effort the following morning to apologise to all guests during breakfast and during checkout. My deepest apology if nothing was said to yourself but instead of leaving a terrible review based on nothing about the hotel you could have asked to speak to myself regarding the incident, I would have more than happily offered you a discount, drinks at the bar, or anything that would help you leave with a smile on your face. My priority is my guests comfort, I will always do my best to ensure it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    172
    66
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
139
66
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

The Belhaven is a very pleasant hotel, with excellent location close to the bustle of the Byres Road and yet in a tranquil environment. The building as noted by other travellers is full of character and nicely done up and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. My attic room (a double bedroom with single occupancy) was however a little tired looking (albeit very clean) and the full "Scottish" breakfast was a little too English: no blackpudding or Larne sausage. I would still recommend this small family hotel warmly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vic_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I had just moved to Glasgow and was staying in the hotel until I could find a flat. Very helpful and welcoming staff, fantastic breakfast (help yourself cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt, tea/coffee/juices, and hot dishes by order). Brilliant location, bus stop basically outside the door for regular buses straight into the city, and right across the road from the botanic gardens, AND just a easy 5min walk to Byres Rd and all the fun there. I was in the budget single room, which was clean and had everything, despite it's small size. Would recommend and most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitKat102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Very friendly, welcoming staff. Lounge/breakfast room beautifully refurbished. We were moved to a family room which was massive and had a great view over to Botanic Gardens. Room although big was dated and tired looking but comfortable and adequate for weekend stay. Central location to Byres Road and handy for underground. Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Very warm welcome in a interesting and beautiful building. The breakfast was exceptionally good and the service was first-class. Yes, the building could be a bit more swish and parking outside is an experience but this is a great value and far more fun than a corporate chain.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Mike166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I had an excellent stay at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpfull and the building is so beautiful ( high celling, impressive moldings). I enjoyed being there. Thank you very much for this warm welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, Scotland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

like others I found the staff friendly, the breakfast just fine and the location good.

I'd stayed before but wasn't expecting the obvious decline in investment/care for what is a beautiful building. To coin a phrase, it felt as if it had been having the ar*e kicked out of it for a while, with a multitude of scuffed/tired fabric & fitments. The paintwork was in dire need of attention, and our room (15 on the top floor) was very good size but just so very unloved. Two lights both missing proper cords, a window in an appalling state, a disfunctional bathroom lock, a grubby tea tray container, lots of cracks just needing a little filler and paint to bring it back to happy life...lots of daft wee things which wouldn't take much to sort and which any good management would identify through occasional inspection. (and I'd suggest that cleaning staff be discouraged from hurling dirty soapy water all over the front steps at 9am, as people are checking out...such a bad impression it leaves!)

So, small things detracted from enjoyment of what otherwise might have been a better stay. Shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidkerrGlasgow, Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for comments. Firstly, we have recently took over the hotel in April and we are continuously making improvements and investing in the business. We do understand there are problems to be seen to. We have just finished refurbishment in the lounge and have started painting in the main communal areas. Room by room we hope to make a vast improvement over the next year. We hope you would come stay with us again to see further improvements.

Thank you,
Bal
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#58 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Property: The Belhaven Hotel
Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 OTG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing