We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at the right price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Belhaven Hotel
Ranked #52 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Nantong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location at the right price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

The Belhaven is just righf. The price is excellent value considering it's really good location, at the top of Bytes Road.
So much to see and do within walking distance.
The hotel is fuss free with plenty enthusiastic staff close by should you need them.
The rooms are what you would expect, or even better at the price. Very clean and fresh. Had two great nights quiet and relaxing sleep. The room can be warm or cool very easily.
This hotel is nothing too flash, it is exactly what it says. If you are want Butler service it is not for you. If you want a clean, comfortable room in a great location, with super staff, easy parking and a fantastic Scottish breakfast. I would look no further.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaipro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    172
    66
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
139
66
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We learned about the hotel through a daily discount website...and were instantly blown away by the quality of the hotel and staff.
For what was on offer,from a fantastic welcome to the lovely way the staff had decorated the room (rose petals in a heart shape on the bed,Champagne on ice,chocolates etc), fantastic breakfast IN BED!!everything was perfect!
Massive congratulations should go out to the manager and all the staff,and a big thank you for making my partner and I feel so welcome.
As I am a restaurant manager AND as it was Valentines Day AND my partners birthday I wanted everything to be perfect....and the team at the Belhaven didnt let me down.
WELL DONE!!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I was in Glasgow for a few days and booked into the Belhaven. I had purchased a deal and contacted the Belhaven to see if I could adjust it slightly. They promptly replied and agreed. I even got a phone call on the day of my arrival asking when I would like the Champagne put on ice! This attention from staff lasted throughout my stay.
Room was large, bed really comfy and breakfast was great. It really added to my trip to Glasgow staying at Belhaven and the Oranmor is within easy walking distance!
I will be back and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 62Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night on a late deal ( £59 ) for double room B&B ! Had room on top floor looking out over Great Western Rd so expected some traffic noise but heard absolutely nothing . Large comfortable room with everything you could need , but staff always checking if we needed anything . Large bathroom with lovely shower / bath Nice touch to have dispensers containing shampoo & conditioner on the wall plus one at sink with liquid soap .
Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice to include a range of cereals . Porridge with fresh raspberries or mixed fruit , fresh juices yoghurt s fruit & then the full cooked breakfast ( never before have I been offered an extra slice of bacon or sausage instead of the mushrooms I didn't want )
The hotel is a large Victorian building in a classic terrace with free parking outside , beautifully decorated & by the amount of work going on at the outside is still work in progress
Staff some of the best eve ever met , friendly , chatty but not overly gushy which I find off putting and are trying very hard & succeeding in the hospitality trade
Well done to everyone connected to this hotel The owner should be very proud of his staff & I for one will defo be back especially as my sister stays in same terrace & hen I visit I will stay here
Only downside was lack of connectivity upstairs to wifi ( but my sister says is a common problem in that area ) so nothing much the hotel can do about that Anyway surely one night without Internet is not the end of the world

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dougaldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Beautiful hotel, massive rooms, lovely and warm. Fab location for the West End. Big breakfast in the morning but finishes quite early (about 9 am).
Only downside was the shower, water power was virtually non-existent on the top floor.
Would recommend and return if back in Glasgow!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earlsfieldgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gairloch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We have stayed there on numerous occasions over at least ten years now - I'd guess about two to three times a year on average. Rarely disappointed. It's relatively old - but that means character! Prices are entirely reasonable, and the location cannot be beaten, as it's just off Byres Road, which has good eating places - several pubs - and interesting shops and alleyways. The hotel is quiet and comfortable, breakfasts are good, and as long as this balance is kept up, we will keep going back.
Under new owners since our last stay, standards are being kept up, and some changes initiated - always good to see a favourite location having ongoing development.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are good value, but slightly smaller & a bit of a climb! But all rooms we have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squerble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Had a lovely break, Bal the manager, manageress and staff were very friendly, our room was so nice, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Glasgow, the service was excellent during our the whole off our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoragGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#58 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#51 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Property: The Belhaven Hotel
Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 OTG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing