We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a hole than a Haven.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Belhaven Hotel
Ranked #53 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More of a hole than a Haven.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here for a night after travelling up to Glasgow recently...

I wish I hadn't, stayed in room 1 and throughout the afternoon, all I could hear was the staff walking in and out of the security exit, presumably either having a fag or taking out rubbish, both I would assume.

Then in the morning, the room I was in was below the kitchen so all I could hear was the staff preparing food and gossiping about guests, walking in and out and laughing. The guestbook clearly stated that breakfast finished at 9:30, but when I turned up, I was informed it was finished at 9:00, which was a load of ****.

The staff weren't too bad, but what do you expect for £35.

Looks nice, but if they put you in room 1, do yourself a favour and escape through the fire exit yourself when the staff go out there for a fag.

Room Tip: Don't get room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunTiberius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Room 1 is a small budget room ideal for anyone on a low budget. The room is small, cosy and compact with a private bathroom along the corridor. The cost for this room is £35.00 per night including breakfast which is a competitive rate for the west end of Glasgow.

Regarding your concerns in the afternoon we do have a lot of work going on in the hotel in terms of renovation, especially in Room 2, 3 and 5 which are all based on the same lower floor as Room 1. Staff are not permitted to smoke in the back area however we do have builders and contractors who need to store equipment and use the back area to carry out work. We would like to sincerely apologise if this caused you any disturbance. Had we been notified by yourself that this was creating a uncomfortable environment for you we could have took steps to control the disturbance. We will always do our best to ensure a guest has a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

The guestbook in Room 1 has been checked and we can confirm it states the following:

Monday - Friday - 7:30am - 9:00am (last orders 8:45am)

Saturday - Sunday - 8:00am - 9:30am (last orders 9:15am)

This information is provided to you in your guest book, on our website, during check-in and a notice at reception. We understand that sometimes people make mistakes and if you had informed us you had misread and wished to have breakfast outwith these hours we could have arranged this.

As a team we enjoy our work and we are a happy team, this is usually conveyed in our working environment and allows an enjoyable experience for our guests too. I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed in the morning and I will ask staff members to remain aware of their own noise levels. I will also remain vigilant on the levels of noise, however I would strongly refute any suggestions that my staff were 'gossiping' about guests. We all enjoy our work and meeting guests from different parts of the world, not to mention the fact that our busy breakfast run leaves little time for chit chat.

There is a certain level of expectation which should not have to be mentioned when entering a hotel such as comfortable bed, clean room, clean linen, good bathroom facilities and quality customer care. Although you haven't mentioned any of the above in your review I hope we met your level of expectation on those points. I would welcome and encourage that yourself or any other guests who are experiencing a problem, discomfort or disturbance make staff aware of this - we can only fix a problem which we are aware of. Your comfort and enjoyment is my absolute priority and I will always go the extra mile for my guests, ensuring that any issues are rectified immediately. If you do stay with us again I would hope that this time you feel able to discuss any issues with myself.

Kind Regards,
Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    172
    66
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
139
66
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naha, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

A little pricey but a nice hotel with very good service. Excellent breakfast included in price of stay. Very close to Botanical Gardens and about 15 min walk from Glasgow University. Staff were very friendly and helpful; very comfortable beds as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Schraders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Belhaven Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,
Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here for one night, very friendly welcome and let me store my bag as I was there early morning and checked in that afternoon. Quiet location but only a 10 minute stroll from Byres Road with its many shops, restaurants and bars. Room was great, right at the top of the building up many stairs! Food brought to your room if you so wished which is a nice touch. Overall value for money and I would return. The Scottish breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Belhaven Hotel.

We aim to offer a good value service where you can expect a high standard of customer care. I am very happy to hear this was your experience.

Thank you,
Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I needed a hotel for just one night for a reasonable price, and this hotel ticked all the boxes. The hotel looks beautiful. I stayed in a clean single room with en-suite bathroom. I arrived well before check-in time, because I had to go to a wedding - the hotel staff was very helpful, preparing my room first so I could check in earlier. Breakfast was very nice, good quality and selection of items. I was lucky to be there early for breakfast, it became quite busy in the breakfast room later on in the morning. The hotel was easy to get to from the train station by subway, and I used the second day in Glasgow to walk to the Riverside museum which wasn't too far away either.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Enjoyable stay-2 nights in the premier room our for anniversary with chocolates/champagne and fresh fruit on arrival.Room 11 is very spacious and comfortable with a double spa bath.The room looks out on to great Western Road/The Botanic Gardens.The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.Very good location for Byres Road/Ashton Lane and Hillhead underground into city centre.Price very reasonable.We will definately book again when we are in Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My mum stayed in a standard single room and was delighted with the stay. Her room was small but perfectly adequate for a single adult, with a comfortable bed and all the bathroom facilities that one would require. She also felt that the staff were very mannerly and helpful.

But most of all she enjoyed the breakfast the most. Although the cut off time was quite early (last orders 08.45am) the quality of food that was made was fantastic..

All round a very competitively priced, well laid out hotel with helpful staff and a fantastic breakfast. My mum will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseGilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Belhaven Hotel.

We are delighted to hear your mum had such an enjoyable stay and loved our breakfast. We offer breakfast to non-residents as well. If your mum chooses to stay with us again then please join her in our breakfast room for a hearty scottish breakfast.

Thank you,
Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I was just passing through Glasgow and only needed a place for one night. The Belhaven was great for that (perhaps I could have chosen a hotel closer to the train station, but I got the bus just outside the hotel and it was quite easy). I had a single room, quite tiny and with shared bath and toilet, but I more or less had the whole floor to myself so I was alriight. I left too early to have the breakfast. The staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Property: The Belhaven Hotel
Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 OTG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing