We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it or leave it”
Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belhaven Hotel
Ranked #54 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Lodi, Wisconsin
1 review
“Take it or leave it”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had the premier room for one night for our anniversary. I booked the belhaven because it was the only hotel in our budget that had a spa tub. Not quite sure the stay was worth 110 pounds. Room service stops at 11pm and there is nothing to drink after that unless you want tap water from the bathroom that doesn't get very cold. Would of also appreciated being able to control the temp of the room or to have a fan available if needed. The room was very spacious and beautiful and very quiet. Bed was super comfortable. Carpet looked kind of old and looks like rooms are not cleaned behind the furniture. Probably wouldn't book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrshashim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I agree the Premier Room is a lovely spacious room with fantastic features. The two person spa bath is a perfect treat to match the room for a romantic weekend or a relaxing night on your own. We are sorry to hear there was some dust behind the furniture. The rooms are cleaned daily and deep cleans are regular. We will look into this further and ensure the highest standard of cleanliness is met at all times.

Please note if you require a fan they are available on request. Heaters are also available if you feel the room is too cold. We feel putting a fan in every room would be a waste of space and not the nicest sight. If you had called and informed reception you felt the temperature wasn't right we would have organised something for you. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the temperature of the cold water in the tap.

Thank you for choosing Belhaven Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    178
    67
    11
    14
See reviews for
63
147
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A mixed review from us. I had booked room 11 as a surprise for my partners birthday; the champagne and chocolates were a great touch.

After checking in we discovered there was no water in the bathroom. We were moved to another lower quality room, but again no water. The duty manager did his best to look after us with a free drink in the bar while they called a plumber. It took till 11pm before we got back into our room. It was not the best start to what I'd hoped would be a lovely couple of nights in the hotel. I wrote to the hotel to note my disappointment with the room and was offered a discount off the next booking.

The hotel is a lovely building, staff very friendly, nice breakfast. Rooms nice, but not perfect, dusty behind furniture, no tea / coffee making facilities.

All in all I would stay at the hotel again, but not paying that price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

In a situation that could not have been avoided or pre-determined I hope the way in which we handled the situation reflects well in our customer service. We did the best we could in handling an issue which affected the entire hotel. We did have the hot water back up and running within 3 hours.

Hospitality trays including kettle are available on request. Please choose the option when booking or ask when making a telephone reservation or at check-in.

Thank you,

Bal Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Location is excellent. Lovely high ceilings make smaller rooms feel spacious. Breakfast was good. Shower had excellent pressure. Bed was comfortable. Staff were nice.

My room was at the front and did have traffic noise and banging from the front door. Luckily I had packed earplugs. Shower curtain was plastic and clingy. Radiator not that effective. The Bar shut at 11pm. Very limited selection on offer and no nuts or crisps. The guy did make me toast though.

I would stay here again it was comfortable enough and had a bit of character.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you don't want traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We do offer crisps at the bar but we ran out of stock this evening. We are always happy to hear some suggestions. In fact most of our whiskies that are stocked have all been suggestions by various guests. If you would like to contact us and let us know what you would have liked to see we would be more than grateful to hear from you. Our job is to give the customer what they want, if you tell us, we will provide.

Thank you,
Bal Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for one night with our baby. The building is impressive and in a good location. Parking is available on the street outside but can be difficult to find a place. Unfortunately we were given a room at the very top of the building, the last set of stairs (70 in total) being particulary steep, narrow and difficult to manage with a baby and luggage. A cot was provided. The room was small, shabby and overly warm. We had been told on arrival that there were no other rooms available. Breakfast was average. Staff were friendly and helpful. We didnt feel that our room was worth the £79 paid especially given the description of the accommodation as 'spacious victorian rooms' however the rooms on the lower floors looked as if they might have been better. Wouldn't stay again in the room we were given.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmah97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Our rooms vary from room to room in size and shape. Some rooms are bigger than others but we aim to meet the same standard of quality in all of our rooms. I can imagine your disappointment with a room at the top of 70 steps with a baby to carry. We do not advertise that we have an elevator and we have posted on our website that this facility isn't available. I would urge any guest choosing to stay here to expect stairs. The staircase is a beautiful piece of the house and will not be replaced by a mechanical lift and shaft in the centre of the building.

Unfortunately we could not move you rooms as all guests had already checked in. If we could have moved you to a larger room on a lower floor my staff would have been more than happy to move your things for you and ensure you were comfortable.

Thank you,
Bal Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

One night a the Bellhaven - a hotel near the end of a really stunning terrace of mansion townhouses, just across from the botanic gardens and a short throw from the West End bars, restaurants and shops.

A really kind and helpful chap on the front desk - hoteliers everwhere take note, it makes a huge diffference when staff are friendly. It can make a bad stay bearable and a good stay a great one.

The hotel itself is comfortable enough but almost a victim of its own prime assets - The building is stunning and the location is ideal, basically a millionaires row. But it is an old building and although the bar/breaskfast room looks fairly opulent, there is an air of slight wear about the place. I could be slightly unfair here because I know very well how hard it can be to bring old victorian and georgian terrace houses to the highest modern standards... and the truth is that it involves nearly all of the interior being stripped out and rebuilding. Massively expensive, time consuming, disruptive and dirty job. It's just that although the hotel is really fine for most people, it is incongruous on a terrace of pristine multimillion pound properties and extermely expensive cars. I can't help feeling that whoever owns this could be thinking that with the right level of investment, they could easily be trebling their prices and fully maximizing on their location.... personally I think that as things stand it represents very good value, but I wouldn't be surprised to find other people miffed at cheap shower curtains, rawlplug holes in the bathroom tiles, poor sound insulation through the floors/ceilings, cheap plastic plants at the entrance etc.. if the expectation was that they were staying somewhere upmarket.

One more issue was the breakfast. A perfectly adequate breakfast buffet table was laid, but spoiled by easily the worst scrambled eggs I have ever seen in my life. They really did cook the hell out of some of the cheapest, palest, most tasteless eggs in the universe. It was like being served hot polystyrene on toast... only the toast wasn't toasted. It was just bread. Very strange and slightly embarrassing because the chap who served us was again very kind and friendly. Just a bit of advice if you guys read this - spend a little more for good, fresh free range farm eggs, scramble them loosely with butter and a little milk to a soft vivid yellow, serve them over good, white, freshly cut bread... toasted to a golden colour and buttered generously. Cross a couple of chives over the top and people will love you for it!

Room Tip: You may want to avoid the basement rooms if you have luxury in mind. However they are perfectly comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestServedCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are constantly investing in the hotel after we took over the hotel 16 months ago. With a new lounge, re-decorated reception, completion of 3 refurbishment single rooms, a new bathroom in room 17 and a new carpet going down at the start of February for all the commonual areas and staircase, we are constantly making improvements. We have plenty of work cut out and we have done very well to come as fas we have. It is a big job and it will take time.

However, our aim is not to triple our prices and market towards high flyers. We want to be known for our value, quality and customer care. You pay a reasonable price for a good standard hotel and a 5 star customer service.This is our market.

I think my florist will take some offence to referring to her lovely decorated flowers as 'plastic' and 'cheap'. Our flowers are real and we are happy to invest money into soft furnishings and pretty flowers to help make the hotel feel warm and comfortable. I do appreciate your observation and I am always happy to hear feedback but I don't think all of your observations are correct.

I am disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy the breakfast and if I was served the breakfast you just described I would not be happy either. I would however inform the waiter and asked for it to be made again if it was not to my taste or if I felt the quality was poor. We will take your comments on board and make efforts to improve our breakfast service. We are perfectly capable of providing an excellent breakfast as many of our previous guests would agree. If something isn't to your taste then please inform us and we can make it again.

Overall I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please stay with us again and let us know what you think of our improvements, as there is something new nearly every day.

Thank you,
Bal
General Manager
Belhaven Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here overnight,the staff very nice,helpful.The bed was so comfortable .central to what we needed ,love Byers road.One little gripe came back after 11pm and couldnt get a coffee .the breakfast however was spot on my husband had the cooked breakfast and could have anything, all the staff were pleasant.Would stay here again .

Room Tip: the only tip i can offer when you come along the great western road,carry on past byers road and ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrynewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Had a very comfortable nights stay at The Belhaven Hotel. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, the room (No 4) was very clean spacious and comfortable and lovely to have complimentary wee box of tablet. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and again, staff aimed to please to have your breakfast just the way you like it. We were attending a wedding and as such had to arrive before check in time, but this was not a problem and our bag was taken to our room for us on our return, which again was after hours but the night porter could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. Definately recommend this hotel when visiting Glasgow as it is also in a great location for the West End and the City Centre.

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the basement, it has two kingsize cofortable beds. It is quiet and the en suite shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonmcculloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 95 in Glasgow
310 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#56 of 95 in Glasgow
264 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Property: The Belhaven Hotel
Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 0TG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing