We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, dirty room. Excellent location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    335
    320
    124
    51
See reviews for
68
395
92
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Excellent central location. Reception / bar / restaurant area is very nice, there was a decent selection of food and drink available, and the staff were all absolutely magnificent. Top marks there.
The bathroom is a good size, with a shower over bath, and everything was very clean. The bedroom is however very small. It’s fine for a night or two but if you have any meaningful amount of luggage I don’t know what you could do with it. The bed was comfy, two small desks are provided although it is a bit of squeeze trying to sit at them since the bed is so close. Everything was nicely presented though, and I experienced rather little external noise. A large gap at the bottom of the bedroom door does mean any noise in the hallway can be heard, so any noisy guests returning to their room are sure to disturb you. The hallways themselves look cheap and dated and need refurbished.
Overall this hotel is nice enough for a short stay, so long as you avoid it in summer. The room was unbearably hot, far hotter than outside, and the window barely opens so you can’t allow the room to cool and there is no air conditioning. There also isn’t a fridge so keeping drinks cool isn’t really possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comments.
I will take your comments on board regarding refurbishments and pass these on to the design team. Hopefully they will be able to introduce these at the next refurbishment.
The windows in the bedrooms are fitted with security latches that initially, prevent the window from being opened fully. These can be released, allowing the windows to open fully.
I can appreciate that this is not always ideal, given the location. We can provide fans if required.
I am pleased that you found the public areas suited your needs and that the staff were friendly and helpful.
I do hope that you will decide to stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

It might look like a scruffy out of place building on Ingram Street but the hotel is good value for money, lovely accommdating staff and a quality breakfast in the morning compared to other hotels of a similar price. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floors near the front of the hotel void noise from the night life of Glasgow and bars that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will4Sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review
I am pleased that you found the hotel to be good value for money and you enjoyed your breakfast.
We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

i stayed in these hotel, it's amazing experience. The hotel situated in heart of galsgow aprrox. 5-7 mins walk to either glasgow central or queens street stations. All shopping shops are just round the corner. the rooms are in good size. i'll definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev0679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Many thanks for your review.
The hotel is ideally located to explore Glasgow and the surrounding areas.
Shops and Restaurants are all within easy reach.
I do hope that you will decide to stay with us again on your next visit to Glasgow

Kind regards
Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We travelled to Glasgow by train and arrived at Queen Street station. The hotel is a five minute walk past George Square.

Although we arrived two hours earlier than the scheduled check in, our room was ready and we were allowed in straight away. We were asked at reception if we were planning on doing the city site seeing tour, and when we said yes were given two money off vouchers..

Our room was small and didnt have much of a view, but it is a city centre hotel so what do you expect? Massive room with views of the mountains!!?

It was functional for our needs, clean and reasonably priced. We were in the back so didnt hear any noise from the street, but if you dont want noise, dont stay in the middle of a city!

We were close to everything we required for our first visit to Glasgow when we wanted to cram as much in to the one day we were there.

Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopsHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments.

I hope that we have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel is well below average Mercure standards. Room was very small, several stains of dirt could be noticed on the carpet including a couple of chewing gums stuck on it. Marks and scratches all over the wall paper. There was no ventilation in the toilet and in the room therefore the window had to stay constantly open bringing in all the noise from outside. The hotel furniture looks tired and outdated, overall the whole establishment is desperate for a full refitting. Breakfast is mediocre and served in the depressing basement by under skilled waiters. Hotel website advertise "free wi-fi in the room" but it is actually only available in the hotel lounge. Car park is a patch of muddy land surrounded by overgrown vegetation in the back of the hotel where customers are charged £6 per day to leave their cars at their own risk.
Spending a night in this hotel, be prepared to be waken up during the night by loud music and people shouting from nearby bars and clubs.
Only advantage of this hotel is its very central location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleEnSuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City.
I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay.
Please be assured that very direct action will be taken to ensure that these issues are rectified as quickly as possible.
I have instigated the necessary steps to ensure that the information relating to the WiFi connection in the bedrooms is amended, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I do hope that this experience has not put you off staying with Mercure hotels in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Staff very helpful. Hotel in a great location but this also works against it as its very noisy especially if the room is at the front of the hotel with buses pulling up and driving off until the early hours. The room we had was very pokey, the phone didn't work and the toilet didn't flush properly. The staff promptly came to fix the phone and attempted to fix the toilet however it later stopped working again. The staff provided us with a bigger room but this was very noisy. The light and the iron in the new room failed to work. Given the lateness of the move I was tired and past caring. The bathroom fixings were very old and tired and the plug chain was tired around the tap. The mattress was very uncomfortable and there was a hair on the pillow. Not something I'd expect from a 3 star hotel. I'll never stay at a Mecure again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yrogerguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your review and comments.
I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful.
I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations, certainly poor standards of cleanliness are not acceptable and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the houskeeping team for relevant re training.
I can only apologise for the shortcomings you have experienced and I do hope that you will give Mercure hotels another chance in the future.

Yours sincerely
Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#87 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing