We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, clean and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #70 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
newtownards
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Compact, clean and helpful”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a conference. Excellent city location, good hearty breakfast.
Reception very friendly and printed boarding pass without any hassle.
Room on the small side but clean and comfy bed and has all the usual amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ards56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback about your stay,
I am pleased that you were comfortable during your stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast.

I do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Glasgow

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    361
    350
    133
    52
See reviews for
73
434
97
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for an overnight, reception staff welcoming, rooms clean and warm. It's about 1 minute walk to George Square, Queen Street train station, so really central for the town. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlene88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review and comments about your stay at the hotel.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable during your time with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is the third time I have stayed in this hotel, and there was 18 in the group. Not one dissenting voice amongst us. Apart from the rooms being a bit small there is nothing else to complain about. Breakfast is buffet style with everything you can think of, and more.
The location of the hotel makes up for any negatives. Superb location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganSnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and continued support.

It is nice to hear from guests such as yourself, who return to stay with us.

I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and I will certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Glasgow.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Found a deal online to stay last July for a double room however as it was a twin room i was after i called the hotel and they where more than happy to apply the same deal for a twin room. Hotel is in a great location in the city centre which is ideal as we where there for a night out. Staff where great from when we arrived until we left! Will definetly recommend to others!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeMissSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City.

I was pleased to hear we were able to accommodate your room change request and that you enjoyed your stay.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback especially about the staff. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

Thanks again, and I look forward to seeing you back in the hotel soon

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stay at this hotel quite a lot - what you may not realise is that Mercure rescued it (and others in the UK) from the ashes of Ramada's insolvency. Under Ramada's hands this hotel and the other one I stay at Livingston were allowed to fall into chronic disrepair - clearly back then Ramada had no money to invest and it showed. However, Mercure have owned it for a while and the refurb has already started and I've seen real improvement - there is now the Mercure brand wifi which is free, and the restaurant downstairs was closed off during my last stay as they presumably seek to update that too.
The rooms are tatty that's true, with window frames decaying and my bath was surrounded by copious amounts of sealant as it's just been applied over old sealant as a stop gap. But Mercure are doing their best by installing the easy quick wins such as fresh bedding, televisions and chair/desks - the decor will take time as will the badly needed bathroom refurbs but I'm sure they'll bring this hotel back to great Mercureness as I often experience in other parts of the UK - they've certainly done wonders with the Livingston former Ramada which was just as bad.
The staff are friendly and prices in the bar are in line with the usual fayre. Food is always pleasant and despite being quite a small establishment it does have a nice air about it.
So, do remember that this hotel is gradually being brought up to Mercure standards but the rot under Ramada's ownership was severe so it's bound to take time to recover. The old stuff such as decor, bathrooms and lifts will all be dealt with in time. I'll certainly be returning and looking forward to seeing the improvements!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review and feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City.

The WiFi project has been a major improvement, having only gone live within the last couple of weeks. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of this service during your stay.

The hotel has no major refurbishment works in progress at the moment, although our in house maintenance team will make improvements and repairs where required.

If you wish to contact me directly, I would be happy to any questions you may have regarding the hotel change of brand to Mercure. However, I feel I must point out that Ramada Worldwide is still a trading company but no longer affiliated to ourselves.

Thank you for your comments and I will certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Great location for a stay in Glasgow except for the nightclub next door! Hotel is tired and a bit tatty (broken sink) and could be cleaner. Bedrooms are tiny but have a lovely, comfortable, big bed but very limited wardrobe or drawer space. Don't let me put you off, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ibbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and comments about your stay at the hotel.

Poor standards of housekeeping are not acceptable and as your comments are not specific, I can only apologise for any shortcomings you experienced.

I am pleased that you will return to stay with us again, I am sure on your next visit, you will experience our normal high standards of housekeeping.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This 3 star hotel is a minute's walk from George Square and is on the edge of the Merchant City so very central. The major shopping areas are a short walk away as are the main railway stations. There are plenty of good eating places nearby and major cultural venues are easily reached on foot or public transport. Great central location.
The hotel itself is good value at about £50+ a night. The rooms are pretty small but comfortable enough but have maybe seen better days. Things work. The internet connection was a bit sluggish. Cleaning standards are OK. Ideal for a short stay but might get a bit claustrophobic for longer and there is limited storage space if not travelling light.
The food is quite acceptable and reasonably priced, I found the staff very helpful and friendly.
If all that sounds lukewarm bear in mind the location and what you are paying and it represents pretty good value for money

Room Tip: Best avoid rooms facing onto Ingram Street as it can be pretty noisy especially at weekends in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay.

I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and found everything that you needed.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,126 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing