We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #74 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Nicely situated in the heart of Glasgow the Mercure City Hotel is in need of refurbishment. There were plenty of examples of minor repairs giving the hotel a slightly run down appearance. The room was very small with very little space to store things. In addition the toilet seat was broken and the space between the double glazing could do with a good clean.
On a positive note the bed was extremely comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Petefromswinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and feedback on your stay at the hotel.

I am sorry for any shortcomings you experienced with the maintenance. All of our rooms are on a preventative maintenance schedule, I will ensure that these room is revisited to resolve the issues you have reported and I am sorry that this was not the case prior to your arrival.

I do hope that these issues have not put you off staying with us again in the future, I would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Came up to Glasgow for a quick visit. Hotel in Merchant City and very convenient for shopping in nearby Buchanan Street. George Square very close by and both main stations (Queen Street & Central) both within easy walking distance. Hotel was very pleasant, Bedroom comfortable, bathroom adequate, though lacking any wall or door hook to hang bathbag on. breakfast was hot and eaten by 7.15am as I had an early train to catch! Staff seemed pleasant!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hewge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will ensure to pass your comments on to the team. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were comfortable in the hotel.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Very central location, excellent transport links, airport link bus stop 1 min walk away, lots of shops & restaurants nearby.

My overall impression of this hotel was poor, I wouldn't stay again despite the excellent central location.

I specifically asked for a quiet room, and I was in the best part of the hotel for lower noise levels but I could still hear the bass beat from a nearby pub/club and my fellow residents rolled in at 12 midnight, then 3am then 4am , on both nights (tho different people each night) and as the soundproofing is somewhat lacking I had two broken nights sleep. You could hear every word spoken in the rooms next door.

The decor is tatty thoughout, my sink basin was cracked , the bath panel was coming away and their were very few t.v. channels. I could also smell cigarette smoke coming from nearby rooms.

The breakfast staff were friendly but the "fresh" fruit looked dry and unappetising and the choice wasn't the best I've seen for a buffet. The metal coffee pot I got given on the second morning was filthy and put me off drinking it.

In summary, if you're in Glasgow to go clubbing til 3am & spend all day shopping and just want a central base then this is the place for you. However if you like a good night's sleep then I would recommend you avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NelliePhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay and that the hotel failed to meet your expectations.

It is a shame that we did not have the opportunity to redeem ourselves at the time through management intervention, however, you have my assurances that your comments will be acted upon and changes implemented where possible. These issues you have raised are not indicative of our usual high standards especially with maintenance and food presentation.

I do hope that your experience has not put you off booking with other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Ideal location wise. Room clean and spacious enough. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Opening doors for me to help getting my dad in his wheelchair in and out of the hotel. The adapted room was excellent, maybe the positioning of the plughole for the wet room could have been better to keep the main bathroom floor dry. Overall great value, great location , helpful staff. | would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thanks again for your comments
Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Excellent location for shoppers, right around the corner from the main shopping centre. Very clean room & bathroom, very friendly & helpful staff, secure outdoor parking, we thought the fact that the exit code for the car park changed was a good idea. Nice food.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shari-Lea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were comfortable. The hotel has got an ideal location for exploring the sights of the city.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Glasgow

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A decent sized clean and comfy room with a good and friendly service from the staff that i came across. The location is perfect.

The only minor complaint is that the cleaning staff were a little noisy. Apart from that i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank J9CPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Welcoming helpful staff, very very central, clean rooms , comfortable beds and breakfast was adequate however could do with more choice of fruit and brown bread rather than just white. All,I'm all a good stay. Would stay here again

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lindybomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, I will pass your feedback onto the Head Chef and we will implement any changes if we possibly can.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,261 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £51 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing