We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable drinks prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #70 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unbelievable drinks prices”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Popped into the bar with some friends who were staying at the hotel for a nightcap. Bill for 3 large wines and a double G&T was an astronomical £33. In what is essentially a soulless lobby of a mid-rate City centre hotel, this is frankly a disgrace. Drink anywhere else if you stay here - even the über trendy Corinthian next door is significantly cheaper.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments.

The pricing within the bar outlet is competitive within the local hotel market. This is something that we do check before setting prices. Additionally, this is a 24 hour operation, for the convenience of our guests, which must be staffed as such.

Prices of individual drinks and measures do vary and wine lists are available to peruse before making any drink selection.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    351
    338
    129
    51
See reviews for
72
417
94
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Booked well in advance for a one night stay. The Following day setting off early for Skye. The noise of the music from The Corinthian Casino/Nightclub went on till 0500 hours. Room was on second floor near alley between club and hotel. Avoid this side if you can. Room was clean breakfast was good. Only thing that let it down was the noise. Thought they may have waived the parking charge for my motorbike??

Room Tip: Avoid the side near The Corinthian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIES999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We do work very closely with the neighbouring pubs and clubs to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum. Unfortunately, it is not always possible to control all elements of external noise however, we will investigate all issues reported to us at the time.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking with other Mercure hotels in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Passing through on way to Highlands we stayed here for one night. It was easy to find and in a brilliant location half way between Central Station and Queens Square. A bit noisy at the front of the hotel but it is a city centre! Was glad we booked in advance because it was much better value. 2 minute walk to a wide selection of places to eat and drink. Room wasn't huge and might have been a problem for more than one night but ok for short stay. Bed a bit bouncy/soft!

Room Tip: Double room not massive but ok for one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather_May_Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

The hotel does have an ideal location for both of the main train stations, within easy walking distance.

Thanks again for your comments and I do hope you will decide to stay with us again should you be in the area.

Regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I felt like I had to review again as I had a totally different experience staying this time. This was my 3rd time staying and although the location,rooms,staff and food were still very good,I did not sleep at all on my last stay. I was in room 211 which faced out onto the alley in between the hotel and I think the Corinthian next door. I'm not sure if this was where the music was coming from but there was extremely loud banging music non stop until 4am!!! This kept me and my daughter awake the whole night. And considering we were there for her birthday and were up early for a day of shopping the next day,we were both knackered. Would stay again only if we were guaranteed a room in a diff part of hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms on the same row as 211. Must be the noisiest place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and continued support.
It is a shame that you did not enjoy this stay as much as previous stays.
We do work very closely with the local pubs and clubs in the area to ensure noise is kept to a minimum.
Unfortunately, it is not always possible to control noise external to the hotel although we will investigate all incidents brought to our attention.
I can only apologise and hope that this will not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay.

Room was spotless, staff were friendly breakfast was great everything you could think off to eat and great quality not like some of the breakfasts I have had at other hotels.

Location was fantastic. Right next door to Corinthian and lots of other great bars!

Will be back an would recommend it to anyone who was planning on staying in Glasgow

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGRAYScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotels ideal location.

I hope you will decide to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

In spite of the rooms being pretty small this hotel is fab. Couldn't be in a better location. This is the first place I've stayed where EVERY member of staff was incredibly pleasant- especially Terri on the desk. Would return in a heartbeat and highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review and comments.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will ensure I pass this onto the team and Terri in particular.

Thanks again and hope to see you again in the future

Regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Hotel has great location next to George Square on the Merchant city side. We stayed in the superior room which was a good size with sitting area and 4 poster bed. Good tea/coffee making facilities in room. Room was at a reasonable rate of 60 per night. Staff were friendly and attentive, my wife used room service which was quick.
Reduced rate through hotel for parking at the glasshouse which is just around the corner.
Corinthian is next door to the hotel (for a drink or meal) and the Italian centre which has some good shopping is across the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Superior room. This room has recently benefitted from a redecoration with a new colour scheme and upgraded fixtures.

I do hope that you will stay with us again should you be in the are in the future.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing