We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 29 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KillieNess
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Budget hotel, budget room. I have not seen any of the other rooms in the hotel, but ours on the 5th floor was tiny and this would put me off returning, so ask for a bigger room. Check in and out was easy and efficient. Fabulous location right in the centre of Glasgow, and for one night it is acceptable, but I have to say because of the size of our room, I don't think I personally will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were unlucky with the size of our room, so make sure you ask for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_McC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

The hotel is of an older design and as such the room sizes can vary slightly.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel, it is a shame that we did not have an opportunity to discuss your issues at the time of your stay.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Your sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Had booked a works Christmas Party here and decided to stay over. As I booked everything in person I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.On checking in everything was fully explained from where breakfast would be served to where the party would be held. The room was small but cosy and very clean. Ideal for an overnight stay. There was a good sized bath and a powerful shower with plenty of clean towels. The only thing missing was a shower cap among the toiletries. The bed was very comfortable. I thought that there might be some noise as it is a city centre hotel but this was not the case. The party night was great and the meal was excellent. On arriving for breakfast I was asked "if I had stayed before" when I stated "no" everything was fully explained and shown to me which I found very helpful. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty to choose from. You could also order from the menu if you didn't want something from the buffet. I chose the buffet and everything was hot and fresh although the toaster took a bit of working out. I would certainly return the next time I have a night out or special occasion

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the party night you attended. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will ensure I share this with the rest of the team.

Shower caps are not provided as part of the standard room set up. They are part of the enhanced toiletries. We would have been happy to provide one for you if required.

Thanks again for your review and I will look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Glasgow City in the future.

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Despite not actually staying in the hotel, I saw enough of it to be able to review it. My work had a Christmas night out, which cost us £26. Expected a little more for the money we paid (even a drink on arrival would have been nice) and more of a choice on what to eat. We had one choice of starter (tomato soup), one choice of dessert (chocolate Yule log), and three choices of mains- and I didn't particularly like any of them. I don't eat Turkey, or Fish (the choice was salmon), so i was left with the vegetarian option, which wasn't anything special and I hardly touched it. We shared a small function room with another group of people, and both groups were split between two tables each. The two halves of our party were at opposite ends of the room from each other. The drinks were completely over priced too. I'm quite an outgoing person, I like enjoying myself, so after dinner we were having a bit of a dance. I was drinking vodka and diet coke, and they were poring the diet coke out of a plastic bottle- yet you didn't get much change from £10 for 2! I'd had about four drinks, and as i went to get myself another, both bar men stood and laughed, one had to walk away for laughing and the other said "or you could try some water" - personally I was disgusted. The carpet in the hotel was old fashioned and the furniture was cheap. Bit of a let down, just glad I didn't stay all night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BubblyCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback on your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your party night and that your experience did not match your expectations, this year we have been receiving very positive feedback about the party nights.

The hotel Christmas brochure is sent to print and published eight months before the Christmas events take place so I am surprised that you were unaware of the menu prior to the night. We may have been able to offer you an alternative had we been aware of your requirements at the time.

Our prices are competitive within the local market and are indicative of the establishments within our sector.

Thanks again for your feedback

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Arrived this evening to a warm welcome after checking out early after a dreadful experience at a neighbouring hotel. The reception guy and other staff are efficient and accommodating. I have stayed here many times on business but have never written a review. The location is central, the rooms and beds are comfortable and clean and the staff have always been helpful. Look no further for a good place to stay in central Glasgow.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 537enigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your continued support. I am sorry to hear about your previous bad experience, I do hope that this has not put you off visiting Glasgow in the future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and will ensure I pass on your comments to the rest of the team.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is in a great Location for shopping, eating and drinking in Glasgow City Centre. Right in the centre just a stone throw away from Buchan Street, Argyle Street and Sauchihal Street it makes for a great stay. The only drawback is due to it being so central you do get some noise from local bars especially first thing in the morning clearing out bottles etc... The rooms are small but cosy and clean and staff very friendly. When eating breakfast i'd definitley chose from the menu as the buffet didn't have a great choice. All in all a nice hotel in need of some upgrade but the location certainly makes up for that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were able to take advantage of the hotel's ideal location for all that the centre of Glasgow has to offer.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for a single night whilst on a night out. Check in was fine, no issues. Room was small but expected this having read other reviews. But it was clean, warm with a decent bed. Bathroom was again adequate although there was no hot water when I arrived at 3:30pm! But there was plenty in the morning for a shower.

Ingram Street is busy but it is bang central so everything you would need is there or a short walk. For location alone this is a good hotel. But it does ramp up the noise so my advice is to request a room on a high floor (6 or 7) and to the rear of the building. That means no view but perhaps a better sleep.

I've scored average as it is, but that doesn't mean bad. It delivers an adequate stay at a good price for city centre.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Aleximo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry for the hot water situation. Although I am unable to reconcile your comments with any known problem with the hot water so can only presume at this time that there was high demand on the system which may have caused a temporary issue with delivery.

I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay overall and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Glasgow City in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
970 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £63 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing