We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lifting Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 14 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hewge1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alison5678
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I think I'll start with the positives for this review. It is centrally located being only 5 minutes away from Queen Street Station. The staff members that I encountered were all very effecient and where helpful when they could be and the food served in the dining for the evening meal were not too bad although a bit expensive for some of them. The breakfast in the morning was much like any other breakfast buffet you would get elsewhere.

This is where the downsides away the very little good sides, the bedrooms are very small, you don't get much space around the double bed and I found it cramped with only one person, goodness what it would be like with two! At night you can hear the elevator from the room and whilst i understand there's not much you can do about that, is still annoying when you're trying to sleep. Which brings me to the radiator, or my daily 6.30AM alarm clock as i came to know it, it seemed to like clunking and blunking at this time every morning I stayed, goodness knows why. The rooms as others have said are dated and in need of repair although perhaps suprisingly, the bed was alright to sleep in.

Room Tip: Anything at the far end of the halls away from the elevator!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beef-Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry for the issues that you experienced during your stay, The hotel is of an older design and as such the room sizes can vary. I do hope that we had the opportunity to discuss these at the time you stayed so that we can ensure we are consistent in delivering good service by implemented any improvements necessary.

I do hope that this did not detract too much from your stay and otherwise enjoyed your trip to Glasgow.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel with work 20 years ago for months at a time when it was a Stakis, and it felt like the decoration and furniture (apart from the bed) were still the same. The bathroom was terrible - shower head loose and water poured onto the floor. On the positive side, we were on the front side of the building and there was no noise from the nightclub next door. However very disappointed and definitely would not stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and make improvements where possible.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Glasgow City again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, 2 for business and 1 night extra to see friends. The receptionist was really fast at check in, she was able to process my booking so the right people were billed whilst preventing me to go down every day to check out and in, something other hotels have failed miserably to do.

The room was ridiculously cramped and hot. So cramped you couldn't walk around the bed without hitting your leg, arm or toe, this makes for some choice language when nipping to the loo at 4 am! The room was awfully hot, had to sake for 3 fans when the first two broke, the bathroom was clean enough but mould on the wall looked awful. Not sure if this is what made the funky smell in the when room.

I had room service twice. The first was ok the second was from the 24 hr menu the food was awful. The sandwiches were hard like they had been out for hours, even the crisps were soft. For approx £6:00 per sandwich. Not impressed. Breakfast was ok, nothing special at all, I've had the same standard at Holiday Inns or Travel Lodges - not value for money at all.

I attended a function in the room downstairs a on the Saturday, it was boiling hot, the food was dry and below average. The bar staff were very nice however.

The price range was between 60 and 90 for the first nights, I though the price was ok for the location but the room was not worth it, other budget hotels may not be as nice but are bigger, cleaner and much better value for money. On the 3rd night it was £120 there was no way at all this was worth it! Really bad actually.

The only good points are the location, in the centre next to some very nice shops, and the staff were all really friendly, helpful at all times.

I would stay here again if the price was £69 or below but it has a cheek to ask for £120. I would not stay here again at full price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank KateyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

I hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Two words - lousy and loud! I found this to be a great location, but ultimately would not recommend it to anyone due to significant noise and lousy service. We wanted a nice weekend in Glasgow as a 1st experience and honestly found the hotel almost ruining the entire trip...the cathedral in Glasgow is superb, but please find another hotel to see all the sites in Glasgow

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SuperTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at Mercure Glasgow City.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that the hotel failed to meet your expectations. It is a shame that we were unable to discuss your issues at the time of your stay.

I hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
963 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £64 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing