We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Stoke-on-Trent, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Nice public face in this hotel. Reception staff very good and friendly. The location near to George Sq is superb. Room was quite large but a bit dated it has to be said. Would stay here again purely for the location. Nice little hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel's ideal location.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    335
    320
    124
    50
See reviews for
68
396
92
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trafalgar, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on two occasions as the position in the city and the value was very good. However the rooms are very tired and run down not to mention very small. It is also a very noisy hotel with lots of noise coming in from outside eg air con motors and late night revelers. The second time I stayed there I was given my room key and ended up walking in on some poor man on the toilet wondering what I was doing in his room.
The staff I found to be excellent and very helpful so that was great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcbar1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations, and for the confusion surrounding your room allocation.

The hotel is an older building and this means that the room sizes can vary.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spent a most pleasant week end in the city recently visiting relatives and wasvery happy with our choice of hotel.The staff especially on the desk were first class and could not have been more helpful or obliging.The hotel is ideally situated for the main part of the city and transport was easily accessed from it.
The bedroom was smaller than we would have liked but was perfectly comfortable and spotlessly clean.The meals were also very good though the dining room downstairs was not the ideal place for a meal.
Overall a pleasant hotel to stay in mainly because of the staff

Room Tip: Ask for as large a room as is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel location which is ideal for exploring the sights of Glasgow city centre.

I will share your feedback with the rest of the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My first visit to Glasgow! Been round the world, lived in Africa and never visited Glasgow! A super first hotel to visit- comfy, friendly and efficient. Spent two nights, slept well, very nice breakfast- good choice, even cooked me vegetarian sausages when I asked for them. Staff very helpful, especially Terri on reception( he even asked next day when hearing that my daughter was in travelling in THAILAND as the coup happened the previous day- very thoughtful!) when t.v didn't seem to operate properly hotel couldn't be more helpful-immediately sorted and manager even came up to room and apologised! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back- some noise later at night from revellers but nothing horrendous, I slept w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review on your stay at the hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feeback and I will share this with the rest of the team. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in Glasgow.

I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland and will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent location, room was a good standard, breakfast was excellent. Reception staff all very helpful. Easy to get around the city centre walking and accessible for trains and buses. There were no noise issues considering it was the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will ensure I share this with the rest of the team!

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

..... the room and bathroom were cramped and in need of a revamp. Secondary double glazing is totally inadequate for keeping out the late night / early morning noise from outside and the windows were filthy (our room looked out on to Ingram Street). The main door didn't fit the frame properly so we had problems with light and noise from the corridor and lift. Thin walls too so we could hear everything the neighbours were saying and doing. Toilet pipe leaking over the floor throughout the two night stay. We almost didn't stay for the second night but it had been paid for in advance. On the plus side the location is great for sightseeing, the bed was comfortable, staff helpful and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the hotel location which is ideal for exploring the city centre.

It is a shame that we did not have the opportunity at the time of your stay to discuss your issues regarding the room, we may have been able to offer an alternative which would have made your stay more enjoyable. We are looking to replace all bedroom doors as part of a rolling refurbishment programme.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

great hotel staff could not fault them ( young man working in the bar Thursday evening what a asset to the hotel, really busy full of tourists and on his own worked really hard with a lovely smile thank you ) very handy for shops ect. but the bathroom , sink with large crack right across it, just so tired looking...........

Room Tip: try and not get a room to the left side of the hotel......next door is a casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faretara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am very pleased that you were able to take advantage of the hotels location, it's an ideal base for exploring the sights of the city.

We have endeavoured to replace basins as and when cracks appear, it is not always possible to do so immediately as a lot of the bathrooms have bespoke installations which are difficult to replace. Please be assured that we are replacing these as timely as possible.

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#85 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing