We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel NO air con”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for the weekend because I was down for a gay pride march the weather has been very humid and thought the rooms were air conditioned as most hotels are nowadays. But the heat at night was almost unbearable called reception and they came with two fans very quickly too but still too hot but overall very pleasant - Jennifer on reception very pleasant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Abdnboi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel

The hotel is of an older design and as such the room sizes can vary and unfortunately, we have been unable to install air conditioning so far.

I do hope that you had an otherwise enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Once I found the hotel the lack of directions to the car park prior to arrival was a pain. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were compact but had all you would expect, informally in my room there was a dirty towel left in the bath. The location is good for exploring the city centre. I would stay here again if I visited the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the hotel.

Unfortunately, due to planning permission restrictions, signage to the car park from Ingram Street is not possible. We have loaded the directions onto the hotel website and the team are able to offer directions where necessary.

I have passed on your comments to housekeeping for immediate redress. I do hope that this did not detract from your stay too much and I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for couple of nights recently as part of a stag party and was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews. However, it is a great location, the room was absolutely fine, not huge but adequate, the bed was very comfortable, nice bathroom with powerful shower. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel of this type in the UK. Only problem was the key cards for the room. They just didn't work on numerous occasions and you had to go down to reception to get it fixed - this seemed to be a major problem with many of the guests so Mercure should get it sorted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BasilEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I have been unaware of any recurring issues with the key card system for the bedrooms, as they are magnetically coded, they can be affected with devices with cellular function such as mobile phones and tablets. However, I will ensure the maintenance team conduct a full check on the system.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here for one night and found the location of the hotel superb. Close to both Central and Queen St train stations, near the Buchanan Street for shopping but also walking to distance to almost anywhere in downtown Glasgow. Yet it was far enough away from the busy parts to be quiet at night. The reception team were very friendly and efficient. The rooms were a little small but well equipped, however the ensuite was superb and extremely clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rml247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Monica Docherty

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a great hotel for location and a short walk from all the main shops, restaurants and bars.
Rooms are standard and probably needs updated and the shower is not great as it just trickles, stayed at the Mecure Greenwich which was a lot better power shower.

Staff are friendly. Breakfast was good other than the shower would defiantly stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SV60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel ideal location within the centre of Glasgow.

I have noted your comments regarding the shower and asked the maintenance team to investigate this as we have not been aware of any recent issues which would affect the pressure of the water or showers.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked the Mercure as my course was at the hotel. It was scorching weather and being put on top floor the heat was unbearable, didn't sleep both nights, windows wouldn't open. The rooms are shabby and in need of renovation, my other colleague asked to be moved as hers was in a poor state and not big enough to swing a cat. The public areas are not too bad and the training rooms were ok but the noise from lift could be heard all night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chicos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that the hotel failed to meet your expectations. The hotel is an older design building which means that the room sizes can vary. Additionally as there is no air conditioning, we are able to provide fans if that helps. Windows are fitted with safety restrictors which can be released in order to allow the window to open fully.

It is unfortunate that we were unable to discuss your issues at the time of your stay and perhaps offer some alternatives for you. I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure hotels in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
998 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £55 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing