We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about noise..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #69 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Shame about noise..”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

First the good points. Staff are very friendly, rooms are clean (a tad small though) and the breakfast was great, also a great central location. The not so good, having got back to my 2nd floor room later in the evening all I could hear were the heat dumps from the building across the way. I popped downstairs and the chap on reception moved me straight away to a room on the 7th floor. Unfortunately for me, this seemed to back on to the lift shaft so each time the lift was called, I heard the mechanism at work, by this point I was too tired to move again and put up with it. Apparently this could have been avoided if I had a room on the 'inside' of the building but I was only there for one night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PADWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not quite meet with expectations and that your stay was disturbed by noise.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    352
    339
    129
    51
See reviews for
72
417
94
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is excellent for central Glasgow, but that's about it.

The room I had 516, was very small, little room and hardly any wardrobe. Down from a premier inn. The shower was more of a trickle.

Would not recommend for the future

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Monica Docherty

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We go to Glasgow three times a year and for a changed we booked to stay in the mercure hotel. For two rooms it cost £260 which was an absolute rip off for what you get. The price should be no more than £50 for a standard room. Rooms tiny you couldn't even move in them . When using the shower our shower head kept falling down. With the window shut we were hearing extremely loud music until 2am meaning none of us slept. I would advise you to not book this hotel it is not worth the money!

Room Tip: Don't bother booking here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. It is a shame that we did not have the opportunity to discuss your issues at the time of your stay.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Check in was fast and straight forward. Privelidge room was really good 4 poster bed and large couch and chairs it was a spacious room. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Breakfast was a buffet hot& cold .if breakfast isn't included in your price you are better booking it online.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank EDG1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thankyou very much for your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Superior room at the hotel.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

centrally located, easy walk to bars, restaurants, attractions. Room ok, however stuffy due to no aircon - the window opened slightly, however our room overlooked a lane, which was very noisy at night with people leaving bars and the casino next door. Ok bar area, and staff were helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the hotels ideal location. The hotel is an older building which does mean that the room sizes can vary and unfortunately there is no air conditioning installed in the bedrooms. We can provide fans on request if that helps and the windows can be opened fully in most rooms.

I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing