We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great find for us and we enjoyed our stay there immensely! The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the location couldn't have been better...only three minutes walk from railway station. Our room wasn't large, but let's face it, we weren't there to hang around in our room! Although it was quite old it seemed well maintained and clean. The security in the lobby was great at night and breakfasts were very good in the morning. I would recommend this place to other travellers, particularly if you don't have loads of money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debmc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest

I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Monica Docherty

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location right in the city centre, and a very short walk from Glasgow Central Station. My room was small, but clean and comfortable. It might be somewhat cramped for a couple with a lot of luggage. It wouldn't be my first choice for a romantic break, but it's fine if you need to stay in the city centre and don't want to pay for luxury you don't need. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and average for this sort of hotel, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Man-in-black-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest

I much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Monica Docherty

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Hewge1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed one night with a friend. The room was small but adequate, very clean and tidy. The staff were all friendly and happy to help. The beds were very comfortable. We took advantage of room service during our stay which was too a high standard. The breakfast was good although we had a slight issue with the two members of staff sitting guest sat us at our table then while we got up sat someone else at our table

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank DanniMcisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sorry for the inconvenience at breakfast. I will share these comments with the team to ensure this does not happen again in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Monica Docherty

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

First the good points. Staff are very friendly, rooms are clean (a tad small though) and the breakfast was great, also a great central location. The not so good, having got back to my 2nd floor room later in the evening all I could hear were the heat dumps from the building across the way. I popped downstairs and the chap on reception moved me straight away to a room on the 7th floor. Unfortunately for me, this seemed to back on to the lift shaft so each time the lift was called, I heard the mechanism at work, by this point I was too tired to move again and put up with it. Apparently this could have been avoided if I had a room on the 'inside' of the building but I was only there for one night.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank PADWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not quite meet with expectations and that your stay was disturbed by noise.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is excellent for central Glasgow, but that's about it.

The room I had 516, was very small, little room and hardly any wardrobe. Down from a premier inn. The shower was more of a trickle.

Would not recommend for the future

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Monica Docherty

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
981 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £60 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing