We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location when visiting Glasgow.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location when visiting Glasgow.”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Been visiting this hotel for a number of years under its different names and it has improved in relation to the decor in the rooms and service at breakfast over the years. Rooms are all spacious and well equipped. Lots of car parking at the rear of the hotel (£6 charge though). Not the most central location, but you can jump a taxi or walk into town in about 20 minutes. Breakfast is a buffet style with lots of choice and always being replenished, service has got a lot quicker with coffee arriving at your table within minutes. Staff are very friendly and the hotel is very clean. There is an on site gym and pool.
You can get some very good deals for this hotel from the ICT website but be careful we paid £69 for our room, B&B rate was £91, but we were able to upgrade to breakfast for £10 extra when we booked in. Also the internet access is very expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thankyou for posting a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and have noticed a steady improvement over the years. I hope it won't be too long before you are back.

Regards

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    839
    338
    169
    84
See reviews for
281
883
84
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here for one night as a birthday getaway and was disappointed with this supposed 4 star hotel. Had to move the cleaners vacuum from in front of our door to get in, the toilet flush was poor, dust on surfaces you could write your name in, stains on carpet, hand prints on the mirror, bulbs in lamps were dud, air conditioning was poor and room was too warm even on coolest setting. When we went to the bar for a meal our seats were covered in what looked like a dried in drinks spill, the fact that staff had not noticed this when setting the table is unacceptable.

Reception staff and concierge were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good and the buffet never ran out. Our bed was very comfy and the view from our window was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegas_newly_weds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thankyou for posting a review. Your title was correct in that there is no excuse for poor housekeeping and we do need to try harder in this respect. I am pleased to say that we have concentrated on this area since you posted the review and we are sure you will notice a vast improvement on your next stay.

Regards

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza when Mamma Mia was on - we just wanted something convenient so went with the CP. Room was lovely - decor a little dated for my liking but it wasn't tired just more of a classic look. Room was a little hot and AC was quite noisy but we managed to sleep regardless. Used the pool the following day which was lovely and quiet on a Sunday morning. Breakfast was out of this world though...the selection and quality of the food was second to none. Great stay at the Crowne Plaza - thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravellassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thanks for posting a review following your stay last march. I am pleased you enjoyed it so much , in particular the breakfast and our close proximity to the Armadillo.

Regards

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have stayed in a lot of Glasgow hotels and this hotel was nice large hotel and the staff very friendly and helpful( Carla checked us in) great facilities on site with indoor access to SECC.
Stayed on the 12th floor and the room was great, lots of nice touches which I appreciated - such as bathrobe, welcome chocolates, free newspaper and I also received 30 minutes free wifi. The room was very clean and well presented. I also had a large king size bed and did not hear any noise

The hotel is slighly out of the main part of the city but we walked it and it was under 20 minutes
Negatives -you do have to pay for parking £6 but most hotels now charge for parking

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thanks for a great review. I fully appreciate you have a wide choice of hotels in Glasgow so am pleased that you are able to post such a positive review about us.

Hope you can come and visit again soon,

Regards

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Chose this hotel for its direct link to secc as had teenage daughter and her friend who where attending carnival at secc and thought this would allow them to go safely by themselves. Unfortunately walkway was closed due to "children playing in it"?. This walkway was the sole reason for choosing this hotel and should it be closed would it not be a good idea to tell guests in advance. Room (701) was comfy and clean but tv in lounge room did not work, no blankets or pillows for pull out bed even though room was booked for 4 and also wash hand basin in bathroom had plug stuck in, reported these to reception , first two problems rectified but couldn;t fix plug so just left it out. Fortunate just to have booked one night

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masaca_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thanks for your review and sorry that you were a bit disappointed. No excuse for the sink which my Maintenance Manager wishes to apologise too for. I understand that the link was closed temporarily by the SECC Security personnel due to Children playing and as such no notice was given.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again,

Regards

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Now my favourite hotel in Glasgow especially if attending an evening event at SECC. Even if not this is a quiet spot just outside the city centre. Always good service and clean rooms. Only downside is the £6 overnight parking charge

Room Tip: If you're priority gold or premium aim for the executive floors, 19 and 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelscot127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Delighted to hear that this is now your favourite hotel. As you quite correctly state, if you are a platinum member will try and upgrade you but please note it is subject to availability and therefore not always possible.

Regards

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed 31st December 2011 and 1st January 2012. Attended the Hogmanay Gala Ball with 21 family members to celebrate my father's 80th birthday. The hotel gave my parents a complementary upgrate to a suite which allowed all the family to gather together somewhere private to cut cake, etc. Check-in went extremely smoothly as I was allowed to complete the necessary procedures for all of our party (11 rooms). Once that was done all I had to do was hand out the room cards as and when members of the family arrived. We all had rooms on the Club Floor and access to the Lounge. This was an invaluable space for us all to relax and a convenient location for meeting up without having to bang on doors or ring round all the rooms. Access to complementary self-sevice drinks and snacks also meant we weren't constantly having to go to the bar/lounge area of the hotel. The Gala Ball was excellent - fabulous food (probably the best fuction food we've ever had) and a great band (with masses of energy and enthusiasm)! The only slight negative comment I would make was that the music playing whilst the food was being served was too loud. As nobody was dancing during this period a background volume would have sufficed and would have enabled dinners to converse without raising voices. Once the dancing had begun and the volume turned up even more, I was impressed when one of the waiters, who noticed my mother putting her fingers in her ears, quickly offered the older members of our party ear plugs! I personally did not use the Leisure Club but many of our party did - it was a welcome facility which all ages could enjoy (our party ranged from 12 to 80 years). Breakfast/brunch was served from 7 until 12 each morning because of it being the holiday period. This meant nobody had to get up too early, which was great - but even with these extended hours there were still queues at the buffet. All the family thought the venue was an excellent choice for our celebration and nobody could fault the staff or hotel in any way.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
A great review of your Hogmanay stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed it so much and that you felt that the food served was the best that you have possibly tasted.

I hope you will consider joining us again next Hogmanay ...or even sooner.

Regards

Dominic McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
2,513 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
3,116 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing