We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed one night on a business trip.
Big and clean room, with a big bathroom.
The room had everything you need and also the view on the river Clyde.
The conference facilities are good.
Great breakfast, it's a buffet but you can also ask for anything you want.
The hotel is not right in the city centre but it is ideal for a business trip.
There is also fitness centre and indoor pool which is great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benedettauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit so much and hope that you'll be back before long. We also have a beauty Salon and for those wanting to go into the City centre we have a taxi rank right at the front door.

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,779 - 1,785 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here a few times,is everything you would expect of a Crowne Plaza hotel. Staff friendly and helpful, bar and eating area very pleasant and nice place to sit and relax. 16 floors so if you are in a higher floor there are some spectacular views of beautiful Glasgow. The rooms are clean and well furnished. The location is also very good thought not in the centre of Glasgow it is in a lovely regenerated area and is quite lovely to walk by the river...he city centre is a short walk or £4 in a private hire taxi.

Room Tip: higher floors have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajerobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Great review - thankyou so much for being such a loyal guest as well.

We hope you will visit again soon,

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I've loved this hotel ever since I was a kid, I have been staying here for concerts, Christmas shopping trips for years! The morning breakfast maybe a little pricey at around £10 per person but considering its an all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet it is not too bad at all! As silly as this sounds, they have the best potato scones I have ever had!! One small critique is that we have had to stand outside in the cold on 2 occasions due to fire drills.... But safety first and all that! They also have rooms for £57 per night which is outstanding for this hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

What a great review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us so much and hope you will visit again soon.

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a conference at the SECC. Rooms are clean and well stocked with all that is needed. However, the rooms are noisy despite the hotel blurb stating that they pride themselves on how quiet their rooms are! I found myself putting the aircon on to drown out the noise. The restaurant is decent and the hotel service is excellent. The hotel is directly connected to the SECC so it's great when it's raining outside which it frequently does in Glasgow! But, the SECC is a taxi ride from the city centre making the hotel some way away from the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashishakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

As you quite correctly state - the Hotel is in a great location for the SECC especially as we have an internal link corridor. We also have a taxi rank at the front door should any one wishes to go into the centre of Glasgow. Fares are only circa £5 to George Square. I am pleased that you found the Hotel Service Excellent.

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here recently as I was attending a conference at SECC. The hotel seems to be trading on its prime location close to the SECC. Many of the facilities are dated and need a major revamp. Rooms still have CRT televisions with a very limited selection of channels. Only 4 radio channels with no radio 4 or radio 5. Charging for wifi which costs the hotel pennies per day is a disgrace and just plain greedy. Rooms are a good size, with big comfy beds and good tea and coffee making facilities. Bathrooms are small with only an over bath shower. No ventilation/extractor in bathrooms with average shower gel, soap etc. Housekeeping is a bit slapdash with some items not replaced or omitted. Ice machines don't work.
Staff are very helpful and seem eager to help.
This hotel could be so much more. They need to update things, pay more attention to detail and drop the ridiculous charge for wifi (and please don't blame your service provider as you chose them and other hotels can provide free wifi).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiltern_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thankyou for posting a review. Iam pleased to confirm that all our TV's are getting changed over the next few months which will enable us to offer you a much wider choice of Channels. We are also reviewing our internet provision with our provider which I am confident will address the concerns raised.

On a positive note, I appreciate your comments abiout the team and am pleased that you found our beds comfy.

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I always stay here when going to secc and have never been disappointed. Hotel and rooms clean today and good size. Highly recommended by fussy hotel folk.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACLEASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thanks for your great review. Its all in the Title.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back before long.

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Very convenient if you're a conference guest at the nearby convention centre - you don't have to even go outside to get there!

Room are ok. Decor is a bit dated. Mattress good but pillows way too high and too firm. Aircon terrible - very noisy but much too hot with it off.

Bathroom shower attachment irritating and fixed.

Nice view of river from 8th floor.

Excellent breakfast and nice service.

In general, a fair conference-type hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dpms1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thankyou for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. The noise coming from the AC units is the motor as all are individually controlled in the room. I have asked our Engineer to check though to ensure all are working as they should be.

Thanks for the feedback though,

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,156 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £80 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing