We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great river views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #39 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great river views”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here one night. I was upgraded to a Club Room as I tried to do a Best Price Guarantee, this wasn't accepted, so I was offered a Club Room. It was very good with access to the Club Lounge, with snacks and drinks available at different times of the day. Also breakfast was free which was plentiful and good choice. Internet access was free but unfortunately the computer wasn't working.My room had a lovely view looking out at the river. The decor in the room is a little dark, but the bathroom was good with a bath and overhead shower. Toiletries also good. Only problem I have, it is a bit out of the way. But a ten minute walk to the station where train takes you in to centre in 10 minutes. I didn't find the reception staff friendly. Usually you would be asked if your room was okay or if everything was okay, but no chat at all. I did find the concierge very helpful and friendly. I would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Club Room and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    871
    344
    173
    84
See reviews for
287
907
86
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Recently had the pleasure to stay in this fabulous hotel while down in my home town of Glasgow, and so glad we did! The hotel staff couldn't have been anymore helpful and friendly, from the moment we arrived until we left! Our beautiful double bedroom was both spotless and comfortable and we had a great view of The River Clyde which looked spectacular from the 5th floor! We ate in the restaurant and again could find no fault, both with the food -which was so beautifully displayed on the plate that I thought I was in a 'gourmet' restaurant and also the service which was 'spot on'! We were going to a show at the SECC and I thought it was a great bonus for us to walk through the hotel corridor and link to the SECC without having to go outside!
I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again when next down in my beautiful Glasgow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKGuest1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your first stay with us and found our team members to be wonderfully friendly and helpful. I’m glad your room was to a high standard and you found the view from your room to be spectacular. I’m overjoyed you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant so much, I will share your review with our chef, I’m sure he’d love to read your kind words. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed one night in July. Great views from the window and a very comfortable room. The staff were all very friendly and helpful; service was prompt and efficient. There was a wedding the night I stayed and I wasn't disturbed by it at all. Breakfast was an amazing buffet selection and, although travelling on my own, I was seated discretely and well looked after. Very professional and business like. Would recommend.

Room Tip: I had a great room looking west down the Clyde and straight into the sunset. Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizalilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us and found that though there was a wedding you were not disturbed by it at all. I’m pleased your breakfast was delicious and I’m happy you were well looked after by our team members. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

.Just arrived back from an overnight business trip to Scotland. Whilst working in both Edinburgh and Glasgow, elected to stay at the CP Glasgow as hotel costs in Glasgow were significantly more cost effective.

The hotel is conveniently located by the S.E.C.C and just off the M8. Be aware car parking is charged at 6 pounds per night.

The front desk staff were good and of a standard you would expect from Crowne Plaza, whilst the rooms are a little tired, they were clean and the mattress was incredibly comfortable. As a IHG platinum member I did get an upgrade to club and the facilities were of the usual standard.

However, my colleague and I ate in the restaurant that evening and whilst there was a wide food choice the quality was poor, in fact way below what you would expect from CP and worse than many Holiday Inns. You could elect to have a hot buffet option, choose from a select Scottish menu or choose A La Carte.

Before making any decisions I made a cursory trip around the buffet, the main carvery was roast pork which looked awfully dry on both ends, so that was a no no, all the hot sauce based dishes had a crust/skin from the warming lights as there were no lids to protect the food.

I elected to have the Haggis parcel off the Scottish menu followed by a Sirloin (the staple safe option when in hotels). The haggis and neaps left my mouth with a taste of grease. The sirloin was ok, but the mushrooms and the chips were poor, in fact your average oven chip would have been more pallatable, the chips again added to the grease sensation. The poor food was also compounded by sloppy service, no bread roll with out asking the question after the starter arrived. When the waiter spilled wine on the wooden table he made no attempt to wipe it up with a cloth, instead he just rubbed it across the surface with his hand. It is worth noting that for the evening meal the restaurant was not busy and my observations on the buffet were at 7.15pm so it still had a few hours to go.

Next morning my colleague and I agreed to meet early for breakfast at 7am, absolute bedlam, we struggled to get a table for two. On checking out I discovered that there were 5 coach parties in on the previous night and they were expecting 6 that evening! Apparently this is a common occurance through the summer with the hotel acting as a staging post before travelling on to the Highlands so be warned.

In summary the hotel is in a convenient location and if you can get it for 80 quid B&B offers a cost effective solution I would use again for business travel. However you get what you pay for and the hotel is much more in line with a Holiday Inn that the usual standard expected from a Crowne Plaza. If prices are much north of the above figure I would be looking for an alternative solution.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vizsla_Posh_Paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your concise review of your experience with us. I am pleased to read that you found our team members to be of a high standard, our location ideal, and bedrooms to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your meals, and as this is certainly not a comment we receive often I will be sure to investigate it to ensure our high standards don’t slip again.

Breakfast is, understandably, one of our busiest times of day and I’m sorry you experienced one of our more crowded mornings. However, I am pleased you managed to find a table and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed there for four days during our family vacation. It was easy to get in and our of town and to the train station. We took several tours and the train to Edinburgh. The taxi drivers were easily accessible as well when we were out late. The rooms were clean and spacious. There were ample towels, toiletries etc. provided. The concierge was very helpful in booking our tours. The hotel restaurant provided us with free pots of coffee in the morning. The kids enjoyed the pool! I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your review highlighting why you enjoyed your time with us so much. I am very pleased to read that throughout your stay with us you found everything to your liking and found our team members extremely helpful. I hope very much to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the crowne plaza and although a little way from the centre of Glasgow it's an excellent hotel. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the staff friendly. The restaurant is above average and the bar has a good atmosphere. It's location on the side of the Clyde is a plus if you fancy a walk after dinner! Always a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed this stay as much as the first and you continue to find our hotel to be comfortable and modern with excellent team members. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The location on the waterfront is ideal - great for the SECC, the tall ship and the Science Museum. Easy and pleasant walk into the town centre. Rooms were up to the usual standards. Environment for the breakfast was good and the older staff seemed to be on the ball and keen to make the experience worthy of Crowne Plaza but there were a group of young staff on breakfast who - at the time we were sitting down to eat - clearly needed re-training or sacking. They gathered in groups to gossip whilst there were clearly plenty of jobs to be done.

Room Tip: As high as possible and away from the food preparation areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyemha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am very pleased to read that your room was to the standards you’d expect and you found our location prefect for your stay. I have taken notes concerning your comments about some of our restaurant team. I will be sure to discuss this at length with them to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,253 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#26 of 95 in Glasgow
2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing