We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here on Sun 29th September as a wee quick getaway. Having stayed previously we expected the best .... and thats what we got. Room was lovely with a great view over the clyde and hydro. Range of food at breakfast buffet was amazing, very fresh and topped up by chef at least 4 times whilst we were eating ours. Only a couple of little moans. At check in wasnt informed as rewards members that we would get an hours free wifi. We were sent to floor 11 (written on card) instead of 12 so trying to get into wrong room!! (luckily no one was in). The majority of female staff at breakfast were too busy complaining about other staff to notice tables werent bring cleared. So I'd give the hotel the thumbs up but the staff need a bit more work!! Definately will be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Migailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your thoughts on our stay. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us and found everything to your liking. I have taken the opportunity to discuss your comments with the team and can assure you that you will notice an improvement should you stay with us again. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    853
    342
    170
    84
See reviews for
285
888
85
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for a concert at the Hydro recently and the location was perfect.

Check in was fast and staff were helpful. Our room was spacious and clean.

Breakfast was great - good choice and all items I had were well cokked and tasty.

Would use again for future events at SECC / Hydro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything from our team members to our breakfasts to be excellent. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is right on the water near all the event venues and only a few pounds in a taxi from the city centre. The hotel is comfortable, good staff and large friendly bar. It looks slightly dated in decor, but not unattractive. Good venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalot001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to be to your liking while here. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here for the Fleetwood Mac gig at the Hydro and was left disappointed with the hotel. Initially we were checked into a 1st floor disabled (i'm not disabled) room which was, as others have highlighted with their rooms, very shabby and tired. Stained bed cover, trodden chewing gum on the carpets, visible dust and generally very tired furnishings, especially the bathroom. I spoke to reception who immediately moved us to a better room, I couldn't fault the handling of the complaint but I don't think guests should be accommodated here. I would expect it from a 2 star hotel but not a supposed 4 star.

Food wise, we had a bar snack and later, room service, which were very good. The breakfast was good too, with a wide variety of both cooked and cold food, however we weren't offered tea or coffee and had to catch one of the waitresses walking past after 10 minutes.

Overall I would not stay here again, the convenience of the SECC is fantastic, but a short walk over the bridge to another hotel will probably be what i'll do next time. I booked the hotel for my fiancé's birthday so that made the overall feeling worse, especially as the price I paid (£219) for one night had been so overly inflated. Overall feeling - stung.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and left feeling disappointed. I am very pleased to read that our team members handled the problem you had with your room quickly and efficiently but I’m sorry it even occurred. If you would like to discuss your stay further with me, please do not hesitate on contacting me at gm.cpglasgow@qmh-hotels.com quoting your name, room number and date of stay.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the purpose of seeing a concert at the Hydro so will be reviewing on that perspective. The hotel is only 10 minutes from city centre by taxi and costs £6. The location to the Hydro is perfect as it is right outside. Considering as we came out of the concert as soon as the house lights went up, the taxi queue was already over 150 long with hardly any taxis available. However, we didn't care as the hotel is only 2 minutes walk. For a 1 night convenience, the hotel has the following:- Good bar meals from 4 pm onwards for pre concert food and drink, full restaurant if you have a bit more time, comfortable rooms although in need of a bit of a freshen up, well equipped room with kettle and coffee, hair dryer, fridge, iron & board, big TV and usual cosmetics. Bar (and food) open until midnight for post concert drinks, huge & very good buffet breakfast (6 - 10 am) and on site parking. I would say ideal for 1 - 3 nights but not a holiday hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Travel-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for spending time on a review for us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed everything you experienced with us and found that our hotel offered everything you needed for a break. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed overnight while attending an event at the Hydro.
Hotel room was good, a little cramped but clean and comfortable. Staff were excellent. Used the room service for a late supper and this was good too.
Breakfast was self-service with many dishes to choose from.
A pleasant relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_masson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for a Hydro Concert as it is very handy. Very pricey hotel for what you actually get, we paid £190 per couple B&B.Check in was very quick and the girl very attentive. Room size is OK but the views are great. Bed was very comfortable. A bit surprising that there is no safe in the room, and they actually want to charge you internet charges when you are paying £190 a night. Room is getting shabby(10th Floor)Paper starting to peel off the wall in bathroom.
Used the pool which is small but OK. Gym is straight off reception/hallway and a bit off putting as it is quite small.
Must admit bar staff were first rate as the bar was besieged when the concert finished and the staff did wonders.
Breakfast in the morning was pretty chaotic, there did not seem to be enough staff as when we arrived there was no fruit juice, Pastries or Bread and many tables left un-cleaned.
Food itself was ok. I am not into fry ups but found the continental selection was pretty poor with very limited choice.
It is a bit of a hotch potch as you go to one area for Toast/Bread/Pastries then another area for Juices then to the main server for hot food.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandPoohbaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you found our team members to be excellent and enjoyed what you experienced. I have taken note of your comments regarding the breakfast selection and will discuss further with the team.I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing