We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cei Connah
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would go again”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Nice hotel, ok location, helpful staff, what more do you need on a business trip? O yes a free bar for those who are Gold rewards or above, brilliant! Although i didnt eat in the hotel there was a nice Chinese just down the road.
Good access for the city centre and easy enough to leave the city without hitting the major traffic.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OnAPlaneTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your thoughts on your stay. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    871
    345
    173
    84
See reviews for
287
908
86
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Check in procedure went fast. Upon arrival in my room while taking I shower I discovered that the showerhead was damaged and could not be adjusted anymore. Ofcourse this can happen however, I do believe this is something that should have been seen by the housekeeping department while the room was cleaned. In my room I discovered a few more irregularities regarding cleaning and maintenance. First of all the airconditioning was making as much sound as a hairdryer. I found this quite disturbing. On the side of the TV cabinet I found an unknown dried stain and in the bathroom black dirt residue in each corner. I could only conclude that both cleaning and maintenance had not been done properly in my room for some time. Odd enough there was a card in my room with a written text saying "small things make a big difference". I can't agree more with that! I skipped breakfast as there was a long line of guests waiting for a table the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I am very sorry to read that you found your stay with us to be disappointing. I will be sure to share your review with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure that another guest does not leave feeling the same way. I hope you accept my apologies and return to us in the future so we can demonstrate the high standards we uphold.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have stayed at the Crown Plaza on about half a dozen occasions whilst in Glasgow along with other assorted establishments and must say the Crown wins hands down for overall service and comfort. The staff have always been very helpful and friendly, any queries are swiftly dealt with and have never had cause to challenge anything. The rooms are very well appointed, bed very comfy and pillows just how I like them, bathroom is adequate too. the rooms have always been spotless and if you're high up you'll get a great view across the city. Breakfast is excellent, wide choice available in a comfortable setting. Very handy for the SECC or the Hydro and consequently always very busy, but this has never affected the service I have received. In summary an excellent Hotel and with very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahameHportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read that we continue to be your hotel of choice whenever you visit Glasgow. I’m delighted that everything in our hotel remains just to your liking and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

From the check-in experience after a long flight, the unkept appearance of one of the reception team, gossiping about her personal conquests, was completely unprofessional. The receptionist who checked us in looked almost bemused when she'd seen we'd opted for a double room.

The facilities are tired. The red carpet leading throughout the hotel is anything but regal. The lack of air within the room, combined with the aged air-conditioning system, led to poor ventilation and a disturbed sleep. I now know why they provide you with sleep remedy in the drawer . . .

The poorly lit bedroom made it difficult to do anything productive after 6.30pm - not what you're looking for when you've a night ahead planned, and your 'readying ritual' is spoiled. When phoning the reception to get the light fixed, the response was less than speedy, non-existent.

At check-out, overhearing the qualms of other guests assured me that my gut instinct of this hotel was definitely correct - a run down establishment, surviving only with the reputation of the name - 'Crown Plaza'.

If you're going to a concert, great location, otherwise - check yourself into somewhere with at least an ounce of decadence.

A few redeeming features:
- Close to SECC and Hydro
- Bar area has chic lighting
- Bathroom clean

Room Tip: Book the 'Quiet Zone' in advance if you want minimal disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheContinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us and found that there was little you enjoyed about your stay. I have taken extensive notes from your comments and I will be sure to share them with our team members as soon as possible. I hope in the future you return to witness the improvements we have made.

Kind regards,
Dominic McVey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Ideally located for SECC and the new arena, and only a five minute walk to the train station for a five minute journey to the city centre. Generally well maintained with good rooms and an excellent morning breakfast (bit greasy but that's Glasgow). Only minor gripe was it took three handyman visits to get a working remote control for the tv!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

stayed here on 12/10/13 after proclaimers gig at sse hydro....
ample car parking to rear of hotel £6 overnight
nice welcome quick check in .
good size room , quality bed and bedding . view doon the clyde . little or no noise heard from other rooms .
bar a bit pricey , £7 for a large wine . £4 for a murphys
breakfast 10/10 good variety of fruit , cereals , excellent choice for hot breakfast , haggis was top notch . all in all very impressed with our stay as it was booked for us as a gift .
only thing is the windows badly need a clean , window in room was filthy outside with cobwebs and streaks on window , windows downstairs at bar / restaurant really need a clean , easily fixed

Room Tip: king room , 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I will be sure to share your comments concerning the windows with our housekeeping team. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This large business hotel definitely needs some refurbishment in its public areas. The changing rooms in the spa are very tired and smelt strongly of drains on my visit. The corridors upstairs have scratched paint and shabby wallpaper. The first floor public areas outside the meeting rooms are freezing, as there is a continual draft from the exterior doors that blows through onto the first floor balcony area where coffee is served. Having said that, the bedroom itself looked newly decorated and was comfortable and had a nice riverside view, although (major downside) noise insulation was non-existent and you heard every word spoken in the corridor or neighbouring rooms. Not good. The breakfast was excellent, as was service at breakfast. Service elsewhere was mostly good, although it took a while for the reception staff to stop talking amongst themselves and check me in. In summary, this hotel was OK for a brief business stay. Location may be an issue for some people - it is great of you have a meeting at the hotel itself or are going to the nearby exhibition centre, but there are no shops or restaurants nearby and the city centre is a taxi ride away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your rooms to be to your liking. I have taken extensive notes from your review and I hope to make improvements. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,261 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#27 of 95 in Glasgow
2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing