We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok apart from hair in food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok apart from hair in food!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here on business 06/11/13 to 07/11/13 and its ok, rooms are a bit tired but the evening meal was really nice, the cauliflower soup and lamb being really tasty. Breakfast was an experience though, had the scottish breakfast with scrambled egg. Plated it up and sat down and saw the longest, blackest head hair IN the eggs, obviously from the kitchen. Didn't make a fuss, took it to the waitress and said that maybe the kitchen staff should wear a hair net. She came out with the immortal reply "Yes". I didn't expect much but jeez.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your meals to your liking. I am sorry you found a hair in your meal as this is not expected in our restaurant. I will be sure to share your review with our chef and the restaurant team. I apologise for the lack of customer service shown to you and I will ensure that our team members are more considerate in the future. I hope to welcome you back when you next visit Glasgow.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    863
    343
    173
    83
See reviews for
286
897
86
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The old saying is "Location, Location, Location" and you wont get many better views from any other hotel in Glasgow. Most rooms have a fantastic view of the Clyde and surrounding buildings.

My wife and I booked a night away from the kids break and were greeted with a friendly arrival and checked in quickly. We asked for a high floor with river view and we were given a 6th floor (out of 16) which still had amazing views. The room was large, comfortable and well maintained. We didn't spend too much time there as we were busy but it was better than we hoped for.

We took advantage of the bar based just by the front door and reception area. It's ideal for a per night out drink or a nightcap on your way back.

Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food I'm afraid.

Checkout was simple and friendly so we left with a smile and plan to return when we can get another babysitter and fancy a night in Glasgow.

Very happy to recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: It's right next door the The Hydro and SECC so a no brainer if you are going there but even if n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyemouthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review of our hotel. I am very pleased to read that everything you experienced was to your liking and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for one night in club room. Check in efficient despite the hotel reception being very busy. Bedroom was spacious with great views across the city, room was modern and clean. Club lounge was nice, enjoyed canapes and wine. Breakfast buffet was good and had a great choice of food. Would definitely return to the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a club room on 15th/16th floor and get use of club lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything you experienced in our Club Lounge to be first class. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
460 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, the room at first glance looked great and with being on the 11th floor the views over the river clyde were fantastic. The bathroom was a let down and tired, there were holes in the door, one wall was all white spots all over it and the tiles were all mismatched and tatty. Our stay included dinner and breakfast. I had steak for dinner which was very nice which came with fries and onion rings both of which came straight out the deep freeze. shame because a hotel of this stature you would expect everything to be homemade. The breakfast we had in the morning was first class including a scottish flavour with haggis, square sausage and potato scones.

Will stay again but will look elsewhere for dinner.

Room Tip: try and get a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Salmo01,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you found the breakfast served to have met your expectations and the you enjoyed the views from our property. However, I regret if you found the room you were given to be a bit tired. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us consider for upgrades needed.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for one night on business on a good rate.

The check in was friendly enough, and the lobby presentable. I had read previous reviews about the fact that the hotel needs refurbishment and this showed straight away in the lift, which was scratched and felt old. The corridors were also not great.

In terms of my room, the bedroom itself was fine, although it felt a bit old. It had an iron and trouser press, which was good. The tea and coffee was accompanied by some free biscuits, a nice touch. No in room safe..

The bathroom on the other hand, definitely needs a refurb. Although it was clean and sanitised, everything looked old. The bath and shower had been re grouted, and someone had done a very bad job.

The WiFi was good. I think they sometimes charge for this although my rate included it (I may be wrong about the charge, so do check.).

Breakfast was also OK, although I came back to my room smelling of cooking oil despite having selected a healthy breakfast from the buffet!

Check again was again efficient and friendly.

In summary, this hotel is OK, and if you get a good rate you could do worse than stay there. But it could be a bit better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear rabbitman,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is good to know that you had smooth check-in experience and the room you were given was sufficient for your needs. Your additional comments about the bathroom facility being in need of refurbishments have been noted and will be addressed accordingly.

I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area, you will give our hotel another try.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst on business in Glasgow. On check in it was nice to be asked if I wanted a low or high floor room. High floors have a fantastic view either over the city or the river. The hotel was very comfortable, rooms are clean and tidy, in fact the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. We chose to eat out in the city and can recommend a restaurant called the Italian Kitchen. The hotel breakfast was very good with a large selection on offer. Tip is to purchase a breakfast voucher from reception which works out a bit cheaper.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking from your breakfast to your room. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

If you are considering spending the night or weekend in Glasgow possibly on a trip to the Secc or the Hydro you could do a great deal worse than stay at the Crown Plaza. Lovely hotel and very nice restuarant really very nice food and not over priced.

A PLUS point the Crown Plaza is linked to the SECC by an undercover walkway great in the winter - nice dry and warm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to read that your time with us was pleasant and you found everything from your meals to our link with the SECC. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#26 of 95 in Glasgow
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,213 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing