We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Nearby Hotels
US$113
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$139
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$63
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$88
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Argyll Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kelvingrove Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$181
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,493)
Filter reviews
2,493 results
Traveller rating
934
915
367
185
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
934
915
367
185
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungecovered walkwaycity centrebbc scotlandclyde auditoriumscience museumcar parkattending an eventsse hydroleisure facilitiesreception staffan upgradestayed here for one nightbuffet stylebreakfast was excellentan overnight staygood nights sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,284 - 1,289 of 2,493 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

we have been here a few times as it is close to the hydro,we arrived for two days 9th and 10th march, room nice but when phoned down to ask about wifi we were told it would be £10 which is ridiculous in this day and age,breakfast was ok, the usual self-service affair where food is left out for goodness how long, i only ever have scrambled egg and tomato, while hubby has the bacon and eggs, the price for both of us is 10p short of £32, also before we left for concert i had small glass of wine and hubby had a bottle of cider £12 so needless to say we only had the one, we are back in glasgow in june but after looking online was surprised to find that the hilton garden was cheaper and free wifi, breakfast and parking also cheaper so thats where we will be going from now on, look out crowne plaza cos a premier inn is being built across the bridge!

Room Tip: we were one the first floor which was good as lifts can be erratic when hotel is busy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I regret that you found our breakfast overpriced as we endeavour to use the best ingredients and produce in all of our food offerings and dishes are replenished on a regular basis. In regards to the Wi-Fi charges this is something we will be reviewing in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Yet again, the Crowne Plaza Glasgow have excelled themselves in providing support to this year's Chartered Institute of Housing Conference and Exhibition. I enjoyed the facilities of a suite, which was most comfortable and had all the amenities I needed. The hotel also supported meetings for us and a wonderful Conference dinner. Staff were always helpful and attentive - I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elainegibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the facilities we were able to provide for your conference and that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites. We look forward to seeing you again at future conferences at the hotel or even leisure breaks!

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

So we stayed here because of the show we were seeing at the hydro during our Scotland visit.
The place was fine, rooms a bit tired but clean and comfy.
My gripe was the breakfast, we were told it was served until 10.30am, when we arrived after a nice lie in at 10.15am we were told chef had stopped serving breakdfast because the reception staff had made a mistake and breakfast finished at 10am and they had a private lunch to prepare for, however he was willing to serve us if we were quick (and because we had paid for it?). We were not impressed and were stood over whilst we gulped and shovelled our breakfast down and as we were finishing off our toast, tables were being cleaned and sprayed all around us, in the sunshine I could see the droplets of cleaning spray spray wafting over our half eaten toast and tea. Needless to say we beat a hasty retreat, the waiting staff were literally shooing us out of the restaurant at this point. Not sure I will be revisiting this hotel based on this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with breakfast, I can only apologise for the miscommunication regarding the serving times, however when you did arrive our service should have been the level which should normally be expected of a Crowne Plaza hotel, rest assured I will be carrying out a full investigation to find out why this happened and taking actions to ensure it does not happen again in the future. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Booked this hotel through lastminute.com for a night away for our wedding anniversary. When making the booking I requested a double room and noted that it was our anniversary. This information was not passed to the hotel and lastmintue.com (part of travelocity?) had actually reserved a twin room for us. Obviously, we were very disappointed when we walked into our room and saw two single beds. On phoning the reception and explaining that it was our anniversary they quickly found us a king room despite the hotel being very busy. They also delivered a complimentary bottle of wine to our room. The room itself was attractive with a big, comfy bed, great pillows, plenty of towels and nice dressing gowns. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment which means that the main entrance is closed for the time being but this didn't matter to us. The bar and restaurant looked big and modern but we didn't spend any time in them. The public areas will probably be even better once the refurbishment is complete. I would definitely stay at the Crown Plaza Glasgow again, but would probably book direct with the hotel in future. Perfect location next to the SECC, Hydro etc and a short train ride into the city centre/to the West End from the train station which is about a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ensure hotel knows what type of room you want in advance, especially if booking through a third party. Parking costs £6 per day for hotel guests, payable at reception.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxileocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that we were able to rectify the mistake made by the booking company and I hope that this did not affect your anniversary celebrations too much. It is really great to hear your praise for the hotel itself as we have been working hard to minimise the disruption of the refurbishment work which is currently being undertaken. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another great stay with us.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, lovely, very clean and the staff are welcoming. It's situated right by the Clyde and offers some spectacular view of the hydro, the crane and science centre etc they have taken advantage of the views with a panoramic lift which is brilliant. Short walk from the centre too so that was good.
I would come back here!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ktdrumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your great feedback. I am particularly proud of your comments regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass this on. It will be great to see you again when you stay again!

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews