We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Crown Plaza for two nights whilst attending a conference in Glasgow. I would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent, comfortable rooms, well appointed with everything you could need. Breakfast was excellent and very good quality, especially the haggis at breakfast which was a real treat for a 'southerner'. The food I ordered for room service was also excellent and well presented . Leisure facilities were also very good. All members of hotel staff I came into contact with were polite, helpful and very professional. Would love to visit again for pleasure rather than business.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingy1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be polite and very helpful, I always ensure that guest comments are passed on. I look forward to seeing you again for another great stay whether it be for business or leisure.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    839
    338
    169
    84
See reviews for
281
883
84
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had been for a few meals before but decided to stay overnight and it was ideal. We live in Glasgow but decided as a treat for a wedding anniversary we would stay at the hotel with another couple and the rooms were good but the evening meal and breakfast were excellent. I would like to go back to see the spa and services.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always pleasing to read a nice review from a happy guest. We would love to see you at the hotel again for another lovely stay.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A great hotel, nice friendly staff with in a great location. The guys cant do enough for you. I stayed in a standard room that has all the mod cons you would expect, Nice clean and tidy rooms and bar. The hotel was undergoing a re furb but this did not impact my stay at all. The views from the hotel are good overlooking some of Scotlands land mark tourist attractions. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDS240490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the current refurbishment did not affect your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the Spa package which included 1x 30 minute spa treatment, use of the leisure facilities, 2 course lunch, overnight stay & breakfast.
We received a warm welcome on arrival at 10:30am from the gentleman on reception who took care of our bags & carefully hung our clothes in the luggage area as we were too early to check into our rooms.
The Aroma back massage was fantastic and I would definitely recommend it. The leisure facilities are good, however there are no loungers to relax on before or after your treatment. A spa relaxation area would be perfect....Please add this as part of your refurb!
Our 2 course lunch with a glass of champagne was lovely....
We had a selection of twin rooms and a suite on the 14th floor. Our rooms were clean, modern, comfortable and had a lovely view of the city.
I was delighted to find paraben free toiletries in the bathroom as I am allergic to them....
Breakfast was served between 7am & 10:30 am. We arrived at 10am. The restaurant was very busy, however the staff were very helpful and moved tables to allow us to sit together. They also catered to our various needs, gluten free, wheat free, dairy free & vegetarian. The buffet breakfast selection was plentiful and catered for all. The restaurant is very airy and has a lovely view of the river Clyde.
This was my 1st stay at Crowne Plaza and I will definitely return. Great hotel with friendly staff:)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazza40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am thoroughly pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular that you enjoyed the spa treatments and facilities. In regards to the loungers in the spa area, this is something we will review in the near future.

I am also very pleased to read that our staff were very helpful and were able to cater for your dietary requirements in the restaurant. We would love to see you again in the future for another great stay.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here when down watching ICTFC in the cup final so it was understandably busy. Check in is 2pm however arrived at 1.25pm yet thought we would check whether it was possible to check in. Receptionist informed us that our room was not yet ready however she could give us a different room which turned out to be a SUITE. This was an added bonus and made us feel so posh. Went to our suite however it had not yet been cleaned however a quick call to reception and the cleaner appeared and got to work very apologetically. She made a lot of effort and was friendly. Other people could have begun to feel a bit grumpy about the confusion however we knew it was our own fault for being early and the hotel tried very hard to rectify it and to be honest we didn't mind waiting for the bed to be stripped or towels to be changed as it meant we had a lovely suite.

Nice little touches, slippers, dressing gowns, chocolate and mints. Tea and coffee making facilities and lovely chocolate chip shortbread. Room huge and living area of the suite was added bonus. Bathroom clean and tidy and the shower was excellent,didn't want to get out.

Used the leisure facilities very quickly, pity the jacuzzi was out of action but breakdowns happen. Sauna and steam room perfect to relax and pool was well kept and tidy. Used at around 6.30pm on a Saturday night and it was very quiet, us and two others so perfect time if you want a chilled out experience.

Breakfast was excellent, staff very friendly and welcoming. Lots of choice of food and kept me full until tea time. Something to suit everyone, cereal, toast, fry up, fruit, continental choices, and waffles.

A very enjoyable stay and would definitely return. Location perfect as train links directly to centre for reasonable £1.60 return into argyle street. Parking at hotel £6 over night which is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us at the hotel. We are always delighted when our guests let us know that they enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

this hotel is superb on all levels! the food is great, they serve up big portions at low prices and the accomadation was very clean, and very fancy. The pool, gym and spa area was lovely this hotel really does have alot to offer my only critisism is that due to the location being a little far out from main attractions in glasgow we had to get taxis everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 352Melly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our food offering to be great, which is always pleasing. If we see you again in the future please be aware we are only a few minutes’ walk from the Exhibition Centre Railway Station where you can catch a train into central Glasgow for £1.60 return, I hope this helps to reduce travel costs if you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my partners 40th birthday for family and friends and have to say it was fantastic from start to finish. As this was a surprise I had arranged various things to happen on the day................... and they did. All the timings were excellent, and nothing was too much trouble. We intended to go into town to celebrate the occassion but the atmosphere in the hotel was so good that we stayed in the hotel bar. The food in the hotel was also excellent and the staff and management could not do enough for amy of their guests (on which appeared to be a very busy night) When booking a surprise there is always a degree of nerves and I can honestly say theses were never needed, my party had an age range from 25 - 62 and everyone loved the experience. I have stayed in many hotels in Glasgow and have to say my stay at this hotel is without a doubt my favourite.

Room Tip: We had a suite which had a seperate living area which was fantastic for what we needed. Excellent v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful time whilst at the hotel and I am glad we were able to play a part in your birthday surprise plans running smoothly. It would be great to welcome you back for another lovely stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
2,515 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
3,116 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing