We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Time”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

For a Monday visit to SSEC we booked a Sunday 'deal' which included BB&D.
Room fine and one day+ parking £6.

At Diner I chose from the a la carte menu and my wife chose from the buffet menu, I really enjoyed my food but when I noted the lovely steak etc. she got from the buffet I wish I had chosen that.
I had to sample some of her steak and on the way out I compliment the Chef who was serving the buffet. Breakfast was just as good!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auldbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that, in particular your enjoyed the food in the restaurant, I will certainly pass on your comments to the catering team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    854
    342
    170
    83
See reviews for
286
890
85
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Visited bank holiday weekend for attending a conference. The hotel is huge fabulously modern spotlessly clean and very professional helpful staff. A lovely atmosphere slick but relaxed at same time. A little out of town but taxi cost no more than a few pounds to centre of city. Breakfast huge chpice and fresh and lovelu. Only downside was pillows too thick! If u can call that a negative. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank starblondUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for leaving feedback. I am very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again for another great stay.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is the first time since I joined Trip Advisor that I have been so enraged by a hotel that I have felt it necessary to give it a one star review.
This is a hotel that I have stayed at on many occasions. I am a member of its loyalty scheme. When my wife and I stayed there in March we were given a promotional leaflet offering members of its loyalty scheme the chance to stay at the hotel on any Sunday during the year for £65 including breakfast. The only excluded date was 15th September for some mysterious reason and was of course "subject to availability".
Since we had a holiday on Monday 2nd June, we decided to take up this offer and I called on 23rd May to book a room.
I was put through to someone in reservations who told me that she could not find the offer on her system but she could offer me rooms at a higher rate. When I insisted that I wasn't interested in paying a higher rate, she put me on hold while she spoke to her manager. I was then subjected to several minutes of highly distorted and painful to the ear muzak before the line went dead. I tried again and was given a similar story, but was put through to the hotel this time. Again I was told that there was no availability. When I pointed out that there clearly was availability since I had been offered a room at a higher rate, I was told that there were no rooms available at the rate promised in their leaflet as "there was a concert on next door" that evening. I suggested that there were usually concerts on next door in that part of Glasgow and their offer said nothing about reduced availability when there was a concert on. She then suggested that nine days notice was insufficient! These people are dishonest shyster who clearly put this offer out in the hope that they would trick people into calling them so that they could flog a room at a higher rate. There are lots of other hotels in Glasgow. I won;t be staying at this one again.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am sorry that you were unable to obtain the special offer rate for the date you requested. As with all special offers, there is an allocation of a percentage of the total number of bedrooms in the hotel set aside for the promotional rate and, as clearly stated, is strictly subject to availability. I understand that you were very annoyed when you called the hotel and our Commercial Manager explained this to you however I do hope that on reflection you will appreciate that as the allocation of rooms was fully subscribed on the date in question, we were unable to offer you the promotional offer. I say this not as an excuse but by way of an explanation.

Kind Regards

Dominic McVey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great location if you will be attending a concert at one of the very nearby venues. Ample parking, 6 pounds for the day. A nice buffet breakfast was included with veggie and non-veggie haggis! The bar was very wide open and with a lot's of seating... A good selection of single malts... We were there the night they had some Scottish awards, made for an interesting evening... 5-10 pounds cab ride should get you anywhere downtown Glasgow... if you are coming back to the hotel when a concert has ended, be prepared to walk!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for leaving feedback. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this Crowne Plaza as they havent been the best in some cities I have used them. I was really impressed by the reception area and the restaurant, the food I had was excellent. The room was a good size, very smart with a very comfortable bad.

All in all a great stay, my only mark against was not a great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Staying here for 3 nights as part of a conference. The immediate noticeable thing when you walk in is how friendly and willing to help the staff are. Certainly much better than other hotel and cities I've stated in. The rooms services and facilities were all great and breakfast too was lovely. Only downside is the waiting staff don't always seem to notice what needs doing it now the dining room. They will walk right past a table with guests that needs clearing numerous times. I emailed the hotel and whilst I got a quick response it was simular the following night. I guess this was more noticeable to me, being a table for one, I didn't want to sit for 2 hours with a leisurely meal. Overall, their charm and personality won it. It's a good hotel, great location and I would recommend ( and hopefully return).

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have taken into account your comments regarding the table clearing in the dining room and will ensure that staff are aware. I hope to see you again for another great stay.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My colleague booked this hotel as a location for a business meeting. For me I thought the location was OK opposite BBC Scotland and easy walks to the Hydro and Maritime museum but it lacks any personality and when you hit your room you could be anywhere, in any 'chain hotel', so question is then Premier Inn at half the price??

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr_walker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad that you found the location of the hotel to your liking, I am however sorry that you thought we did not offer good value for money, we strive to provide the best service we can at the right price. So I apologise that we weren’t able to meet these expectations on this occasion. I would love to welcome you back in the future to demonstrate how good we can be.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing