We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long overdue return visit!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Long overdue return visit!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It's been some time since we have stayed at the Crowne Plaza and since our last visit the public areas of the hotel have been given a lovely makeover and the end result has transformed both the reception and bar areas. On arrival we were allocated a club level room which also has had a makeover with excellent results, after returning from a day out we dined in the bar and the food served was both very well presented and piping hot. Staff were as on our previous visits all so very helpful and kind with a special mention due to a lady who served us at the bar called Claudia who was so polite and helpful as was concierge staff members Stewart and Bob who were both a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theolloys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for a great review of your stay with us and for your kind comments regarding the team. I will make sure that the team members named are aware that you have specifically mentioned them in your review. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    864
    343
    173
    83
See reviews for
286
897
86
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
328 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night in room 1219, while attending the Forget-Me-Not Ball in the hotel.

The function was fantastic, so I'd say a heartfelt thank-you to all kitchen and waiting staff who made that possible.

Our room was clean and modern, with a fantastic view over the Hydro, the river and the surrounding city and hills. The bed was comfortable - but the air conditioning is noisy, as others have suggested.

Breakfast was great too. Fried eggs are served from the buffet, but other options are available on request. There's porridge too - away from the cereals, beside the toaster.

Room Tip: Free Wi-Fi if you are a member of or join the ICH loyalty scheme
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m delighted that you enjoyed the function you attended and hope you will return in future for another great stay.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General McVey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Although we live a short distance away in Edinburgh, we'd left booking a holiday late so decided on a long weekend in Glasgow, which is such a very different city. As a family with kids of 11 and 14 we find that most hotels simply don't do family rooms or are prohibitively expensive. Because of this we normally have to stay in Premier Inns but this time because we were saving on travel costs I felt we could pay a bit more. We booked a family suite on the 10th floor and from the moment we arrived we had a great time. The suite had gorgeous views and access to the club room on the 15th floor where we could sit at the window and have a complimentary drink and snack. You can also have a Continental breakfast there without paying extra – a real bonus. Every single member of staff we met were delightful and helpful and the great thing about this hotel is that it's so lively, with coach trips arriving and departing, air crews, weddings, functions - it's just great for people-watching...

There are taxis permanently waiting outside and we shopped, had a great lunch at CCA, took a trip on the Waverley, swam in the hotel pool and dined at Sartis, Fino (a lovely Spanish restaurant close to the hotel) and Sholeh (great Persian restaurant across the river).

There were very few drawbacks. You can't open the windows and the aircon is noisy at first but I stopped noticing it after a while and the room didn't feel stuffy like some rooms can. The gym/pool looks tired and it seems amazing that they don't tart it up as it has such potential but it's still a nice place to be. There are new feature lights in the bar/reception area but the white/blue light coming from them is cold and warmer yellow lighting would be much better, but that's just our obsession with good interior design!

All in all a very happy, comfortable and relaxing family stay and great not to feel ripped off by paying over the odds for a family room... Came home to an email from a London hotel offering a great offer for a family room for only £1750! Yeah, right...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmaedinburgh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I’m delighted that you and your family enjoyed a great stay with us. The bedrooms and leisure facilities are next on our list for refurbishment and plans and are already being considered. I hope we can welcome you all back again for another great stay in Glasgow.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with great leisure facilities. Stayed here in May for a concert which was on at the Clyde Auditiorium from the hotel there is a connecting tunnel straight through to Clyde Auditorium which was very handy. Hotel restaurant good quality and reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this week (1-3 July 2014). It's a tired hotel that is very dark and rooms do not have windows that allow any air in. It needs a refurbishment. Only plus is that it is next door to the convention centre.

Staff are friendly so no complaints there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jdassociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I’m sorry to learn that you feel the hotel is tired and dark as we have just completed a major refurbishment on the ground floor and mezzanine level in the hotel for which we have received some very good feedback from our guests. We are also in the planning stages of the next phase of refurbishment which will include the bedrooms and leisure facilities. I do hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza over a weekend when we had the dubious pleasure of watching Eric Clapton in concert at the SSE Hydro, just a convenient stroll away (he walked off-stage early and without explanation. Rude person). The hotel had been much modernised since I last visited and is staffed by faultlessly well-trained personnel with smiles abounding. The room was modern, quiet and comfortable and the hotel has great views over the river, the BBC studios etc. There is plentiful parking (£6/night) and a nice spa. The breakfasts were excellent and the overall price of the stay much less than its nearest neighbour where we have often stayed. We'll return to the Crowne Plaza! But not to see Clapton! Only minor disappointments were the lack of free wifi and the parking charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spiderman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us although I’m sorry to hear that this was marred by a poor concert. I believe the problem was due to technical issues. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel and I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again in future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at thenis hotel during a congress that was held just at the nearby convention center. This was the best part of the hotel: direct access to the congress! The hotel was under coonstruction and all participants had problems to find the entrance of the hotel. The main lobby being closed there was a little side door that even the taxi drivers didi not find and could not find, as it was behind a large parking lot and an industrial area.
The negative surpruse was the room charge. I had booked in adnvance for a "normal" price. When I did my check out I had to pay a price three times as high. This was not even explained when I checked in.
The nearby Clyde river would invite you for a stroll, if only the weatherw ould allow; it did not when we were there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I note that you stayed with us in March of this year when we were undergoing a major £1m refurbishment programme. I was sorry to learn that the taxi driver could not find the temporary entrance to the hotel as we made very effort to ensure notices were displayed appropriately to minimise any disruption to our guests.

I am unsure exactly what issues you had with the room charge. Did you bring this to the attention of the reception team when you were checking out or dispute the charges after you returned home? If an error has been made, then we would certainly appreciate the opportunity to investigate this and put the matter right. With this in mind, please contact our Front Office Manager who will be pleased to assist you.

Now that the refurbishment has been completed and with great feedback from guests on the improvements made, we hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again on some future occasion.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#26 of 95 in Glasgow
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,215 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,896 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing