We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days after all the excitement of the Commonwealth Games had come to an end. We had a room on the fifth floor with a good view across the Clyde. The room was fantastic with a particularly lovely big comfy bed.

Whilst there we made use of the gym, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. It is little bit cramped in the gym area, with some machines right on top of the reception desk, but it is absolutely fine for a short workout before breakfast. However, if you are not inclined to exercise, just spend more time eating. There is plenty of choice at breakfast and none of it is disappointing. I was so stuffed one morning I hardly ate a thing for the rest of the day!! Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stanlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for leaving a review, it’s great to hear that you had a great stay with us recently, in particular I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast choices on offer. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our 2 night stay at the crowne plaza was very enjoyable, we had a room on one of the top floors which had jaw dropping views of glasgow especially at night, the executive lounge is a nice touch with complimentary wines, beers and finger foods. The business facilities are very good. The only criticism is the bar downstairs is so large unless full it lacks atmosphere but i suppose this cannot be helped during the week, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gill72j19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us recently, I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed your time in the Club Lounge. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Had to book last minute as we were attending a funeral but managed to get a deal on LastMinute. Room only for 3 nights was around £320, slightly dear I think but still cheaper than usual. The main downside was breakfast not being included. However you can purchase this if you require. The hotel is lovely as are the rooms, and we had a nice view over the Clyde. While parking is discounted for guests I think the discount could be better. However we did enjoy the stay and the food in the hotel bar was also good. I definitely also have to mention the shower which was fantastic! Really powerful! Would definitely go back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AuroraLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, I am particularly happy to read your praise for the food in the hotel, this in is an area in which we take great pride. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and had a very pleasant stay. Room was clean, spacious and had all the amenities I needed.
Staff were very helpful and attentive.
Breakfast was very good with a large choice of food and drinks.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FearnFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way home from the Highlands After a nightmare journey we arrived later than hoped but we soon got over it thanks to the hotel staff Firstly the hotel receptionist was very friendly and we were soon on our way to our room This was very spacious with a nice view of the tall ship on the Clyde We had been given access to the Club Lounge so went up for a drink before dinner The guy on duty - Frank - was excellent and made us very welcome He made us aware that the restaurant would be very busy as the hotel had 6 coach loads of tourists staying so suggested we order room service to be delivered to the Lounge We did and the meal was very good made even better by not having to move Breakfast was also excellent even though we ate quite late A great stay and hopefully we will return soon

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank andym1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for leaving a review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I will of course ensure that your comments are passed on to Frank in the Lounge, I look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel as we were going to a concert at The Hydro which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy with lovely views over the city skyline. We also used the leisure facilities which were okay, quite basic but fine. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant which had a great menu, food was excellent. We also had a very good breakfast in the morning with a very varied buffet which suits everybody.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GILLIANO015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It is good to read that you had a good stay with us recently and we would be delighted to see you back again for another great stay.

Kind Regards
Dominc McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I've booked a room on the phone last month at this Hotel for August. But when I arrived at the hotel, the receptionist said my booking had been cancelled. So I called their main booking official website, they said again it had been cancelled because I needed to confirm in 24 hours. I told them that I called and confirmed with my credit card details and I even got a confirmation email on the same day. But they just said it had been cancelled and the type of rooms I booked were full, apart from some executive delux rooms. So I had to look for another hotel, calling one hotel after another. So they gave me a headache and wasted a lot of my time on my arrival day in Glasgow. Even if they cancelled, they should have let me know about the cancellation. I don't blame the receptionist but the booking office seemed to have sold my room for higher prices amid high demand in summer. How should I trust this online booking people for the future? I don't recommend the Crowne Plaza Glasgow online or telephone booking, based on my case.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ko Moe U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I am very sorry that your booking was cancelled without notice, I will be endeavouring to discover how this occurred and how we can ensure it does not occur again in the future, if you would like to send our Commercial Manager (cm.cpglasgow@qmh-hotels.com) your contact details, she would be happy to update you with the outcome.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,154 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £82 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing