We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
GLASGOW
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a charity ball in the Hotel. We chose an executive room which was well worth the extra money. My wife drove to the Hotel and our car was was valet parked right away. The reception staff were really nice and friendly. Our room was on the 9th floor. A queen double bed, mini bar, bathrobes and slippers and plenty of good quality toiletries in the bathrrom. Tea and coffee making facilities, also an ironing board etc. We checked in about 3 o'clock and complimentary afternoon tea was served in the executive lounge on the ground floor. The staff in the lounge are really helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. There were 4 kinds of finger sandwiches, 4 kinds of cakes. Scones, jam, clotted cream. Biscuits, fresh fruit and crackers. Tea, coffee, soft drinks were available. The lounge serves complimentary drinks and canapes from 6pm. There is a choice of spirits, wines beers etc. Hot savouries and cold canapes etc. All beautifuly presented. Buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent a great choice and very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Up grade to an exective room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JORGE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments and awarding us full marks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    1,153
    465
    161
    113
See reviews for
551
1,188
158
829
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at the Hilton for one night to attend a concert at the SECC. It was ideally located for us to either walk into town and also walk to and from the SECC. The check in was quick, professional and efficient. We got into our room with no problems and were pleasantly surprised at how spacious it was. We had a Queen room which had all the usual mod cons and a view over the Clyde and towards the SECC/O2 arena. It was well presented, clean and quiet. Excellent location for concerts at either or just a shopping trip and it's roughly 15 minutes walk into town. Taxi's line up outside the front door if you'd rather use them. Breakfast was buffet style with excellent choice. Pancake machine and all!!!! Check out was a doddle and again quick and efficient. An elevator was off at the time but we knew this from previous reviews but not a problem. Just a bit of patience needed is all. Also at the time a £50 deposit was asked for for room extras if you want them charged to a credit card. We said no and it wasn't a problem. Overall great stay and would use again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Glasgow and the view of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I'm being charged for nights I didn't stay, after advising at check-in the nights I would be staying and checking out with reception (i.e.not using the 'non-existent' express checkout facility btw). This has happened a few times now and I get no joy at all from Customer services when I complain.

The lift situation is terrible and really impacts on the enjoyment of your stay and is set to continue for many, many months.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonttiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed there for one night on a official visit. The check in was smooth and rooms are cosy. However, the interconnecting doors raises concern of privacy.
Another concern is the wait for lift which stretches to many minutes. I understand that there is renovation going on currently to improve the situation.
During morning time, hotel staff guides the guests to use the service lift to ease the rush.
The breakfast buffet was extensive with continental as well as some local dishes.
The express checkout through the drop in box is handy and left luggage facility is quite well organised.
Location wise, its walking distance from the town centre and markets.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anindya_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am sorry that you felt the interconnecting rooms raised concern regarding privacy and I have noted your comments.

All forms of feedback are invaluable in ensuring we maintain our high level of service and standards and your comments have been shared with our team.

We do hope you will come and stay at the Hotel should you choose to visit the city in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband was on a business trip and we decided to stay on and see the city together.

There was nothing wrong at all with the hotel itself. The room was good, staff pleasant.

The location is like an island surrounded by motorway overpasses (within yards of the hotel), car parks and crumbling abandoned office blocks. If on foot you have to negotiate these unattractive places for at least ten minutes before getting to anywhere at all. This means you can't just pop out for anything.

If you take the car or a taxi everywhere you probably wouldn't notice this. The noise from the motorway is not noticeable in the rooms on the 15th floor, though the receptionist was obviously very familiar with our request for a quiet room.

Another time I would definitely stay in town, probably near Merchant City where there are some nice non-chain cafes, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: ASk for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found our staff pleasant.

We do hope that you will come and stay with us again

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed here recently following a few days on the east coast visiting relatives and playing golf and had a very comfortable stay. Check in very efficient and able to check in even at midday. Room typical Hilton, good size room and bed. Was on 17th floor so had a good view, could see the Shandon Belles restaurant from room.

All staff we met were very friendly, used the Leisure centre on saturday afternoon and no complaints. Not many kids in the pool but think that can be pot luck as plenty of families staying. Breakfast good selection, some of the buffet food was not that hot on Saturday morning but okay on the Sunday.

Slight problem on saturday morning when one of the two lifts working broke down. Hotel staff did all they could to try and minmise impact taking guests in the service lift but during breakfast rush and guests checking out some delays inevitable. Worst case wait though for us was just over 5 minutes but all sorted by the afternoon. These things happen and think the hotel staff did all they could to minimise impact.

Some reviews on here have been quite critcial and this is second time have stayed here in last 12 months and have to say no complaints at all, normally good deals to be had and would have no qualms recommending for others to stay here. Is about 10 minute walk into city centre but after the food we ate in Glasgow quite glad of the walk!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty07uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and have noted your comments regards breakfast on the Sunday morning.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Was attending an event in Glasgow with my husband and we decided to stay at the Hilton for the night. Got a deal so it was only £65.00 for the night and then we accepted the offer of an upgrade to an executive room for £24.00 which meant we also had access to the executive lounge where afternoon tea, canapes and drinks are complimentary.

The hotel is very central and the room was large, comfortable and very clean. Our room was on the 19th floor so use of the elevator was a must!

We never used the leisure facilities or business services so I can't comment on them. I was slightly surprised to note you had to pay for wi-fi and the hotel charges £10.00 for use of their carpark for the night.

We ate in the hotel restaurant at night which was good and the breakfast the following day was excellent.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you can get an offer (we did on a Friday) the standard queen room is a good deal. Enquire about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and would like to thank you for awarding us full marks.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and hope that you will be able to enjoy our other facilities.

Kindest Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing