We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Room was a nice size and quiet. Whilst it could get busy at breakfast, waiting time didn't seem to be too bad. Spacious in the atrium and friendly staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Alsace_11

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for your recommendation and kind comment on our friendly staff

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,337)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,768 - 2,774 of 3,337 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

I love the location of this hotel. Just off the M8 and the parking under the hotel is also very convenient and cheap £10 per day.
The reception area/ foyer is very ellegant with a great feel about it. Check in was very smooth and my room on the 7th floor was very luxurious and quiet with a great view over the
city.
The large bar wich is near the reception foyer / area was very good with plenty of staff and
great service. The breakfast on the two morings was very good as well. The leisure club
is well appointed with a nice long pool and very easy to reach from the main part of the
hotel.
I have stayed at four other 4 and 5 star hotels in Glasgow. But this one is definately my favourite.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7csailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear 7csailor

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and appreciate the kind comments you made in relation to our team.

It’s great to hear that we are your favourite in Glasgow and really appreciate the full marks you awarded us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

top class hotel easy walking distance to railway station and city centre,we were there with another couple for a show at the kings theatre which was only 10 mins walk away,rooms were immaculate and the staff were great,this will be the first choice hotel next time we stay in glasgow.
only downer were the bar prices over £20 for 4 drinks(2 pints and 2 1/2s) , but loads of bars and eating places 10 mins away
the stay at the hotel helped make for very enjoyable weekend for both parties

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear ian W ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break and we would be your first choice for your next stay in Glasgow.

I would also like to thank you for awarding us full marks, this is always a pleasure to feed back to our team members.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed here for a weekend trip to Glasgow and we both really liked this hotel. Great rooms, really large and comfy. Staff on the whole were great and let us book out slightly later on the Sunday. Ok, you have to wait a little while to get a lift, but they are doing them up. It's so close to city centre too and nice places but so badly sign posted if you try to walk! Also bar staff Saturday night, too busy to serve us as he was on his mobile phone!

But for a short stay it's a great hotel.

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can for the views...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear LondonFet,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break in the city and I would like to thank you for awarding our hotel full marks.

I have spoken with our Bar Manager regards your experience at the bar on the Saturday night and he has assured me that this will be reviewed as part of the team’s ongoing customer care training.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We are just leaving Glashow having stayed two nights in the Hilton. An immaculate hotel with great staff. Our standard room was huge with two king size beds and very clean. The bathroom was smart. The location is good as it is only 10 minutes walk from the bottom of Buchanan st.
The hotel is large 20 floors and possibly 200 rooms therefore the main dining room was large but very cleverly split up into a number of smaller rooms. On Sunday morning there was a small queue for breakfast and having given our room numbers we were invited to sit in a lounge with juice and pastries available. When they were ready, after only a couple of minutes we were called by name. The best way of dealing with a queue.
Breakfast was awesome.)
We had two very enjoyable and productive days of Christmas shopping and will return. Almost without exception shop staff were very friendly. Glasgows shopping malls are exceptionally good

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hornbydavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear hornbydavidc,

Thank you taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear that you had a superb stay and had two enjoyable shopping days in the city.

I would also like to thank you for awarding us full marks, this is always a pleasure to feed back to our team members.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I never imagined that a Hilton hotel could be so shabby. But this hotel is truly terrible. The hotel was booked fully as the MOBO awards took place that night in Glasgow. My room was on the same flor as many of the award attendants and hence I got woken many times at night.

Even worse, one of the two lifts was out of order and hence the wait to get down/up from the higher floors to the lobby was generally 10min. The room itself was disgusting- dirty carpets and a leather sofa from the 70s, no nice touch or anything. The only good news was that the bed and bathroom seemed clean. The room overlooked a 10 lane city highway, that I could also hear all night.

The staff was also badly trained, especially at breakfast, where it took a long time to be seated, although some tables were empty.

I simply spent as little time as possible in the hotel, and nothing can get me back to this hotel ever. It's a real disgrace for the Hilton chain.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This is a late review really. We stayed here last December and the only negative that I can comment on was this lift situation. We were left for 10-15 minutes on our floor waiting for a lift with another family. We ended up walking down but because we wanted to go to the pool we had to use the lift to get down there. We jumped in the lift to go down to the pool only to go right back to the top again. We had a good laugh about it! Pool and facilities were all good.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimsulyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Kimsulyn,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

It's great to hear that you had a good stay at the hotel and I am pleased to say Hilton Glasgow is currently going through an extensive lift replacement programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back, should you return to Glasgow in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £86 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing