We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Checked my Hilton HHonors upcoming stays profile the night before and as a Hilton HHonors Diamond member i had already been upgraded to an Executive Floor Corner Balcony room. This is the size of a suite in some hotels.

Check in was quick and friendly and i was welcomed back to the hotel by the receptionist.

The room was large and well appointed. Usual robes,slippers and litre bottle of water. As an executive floor guest the stay included lounge access. The Lounge serves breakfast,afternoon tea and evening drinks with canapes. Alcohol is from 6pm to 8.30pm during the week and 8pm at weekends. A large selection of beers,wines and spirits along with numerous cold canapes and 3 hot canapes.
The hotel pool and spa area is great. There is a gym, pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and several treatment rooms.

Only disappointment on this stay was the Lounge breakfast. There was only one poor girl on duty and the place was packed. She was having to find tables for incoming guests while cleaning and setting tables. Several hot and cold breafast items kept running out as did the cups and glasses. Felt sorry for her as she could not provide the service she wanted to. Eventually a girl from the main reception came to assist but it was too late by then.

The hotel has a 2 level underground Car Park. This is £10 a night for hotel guests.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the extra for an Executive Floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear ajc1967,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to hear you had an excellent stay and I would like to thank you on behalf of the team for awarding us full marks.

I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with regards the Executive Lounge breakfast and I have spoken to our Reception Manager and Executive Lounge Supervisor who have assured me that the continued training focus will be on customer care.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments as these are invaluable in ensuring that we maintain our standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,833 - 2,839 of 3,417 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

Can't fault this hotel, stayed for half the price of Crowne Plaza, and the (queen) rooms were easily the standard of exec. Rooms at the Crowne. Highly recommended. The food here is expensive though. Eat out!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Cadwizzard,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and on behalf of the team would like to thank you for awarding us full marks.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had a great stay at the Hilton Glasgow.
The room was large and comfortable and the hotel feels special throughout.

The spa and pool/fitness facilities were great, staff were friendly and helpful, and the food in the restaurant and bar were of a good standard (although the restaurant menu had limited choice)

access to the hotel by car is really convienent, however despite the hotel being less than a mile from central station, if you arrive on foot you need to negotiate some delivery yards or the motorway to reach the hotel, so best get a cab.

Other wise we would definately recommend the hotel as it was great value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear David B

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and have forwarded on your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Having stayed here a few times over the last couple of months, thought it about time to write a review.
As the title suggests, it all depends on the room. If you are lucky enough to get an upgrade or you pay for executive rooms the experience is far better. The rooms are more comfortable, the bathrooms better maintained and being higher up you get no noise from the motorway.
The other rooms are lower down and if you are at the motorway side, expect some noise especially at the rush hours. These rooms do not appear to be as well maintained.
Check in/out is very quick and effective, never used the bar or restaurant.
The exec lounge has a good array of foods. Sandwiches and cakes for afternoon tea and canapes with alocholic drinks in the evening. Made this into a meal especially on a night of high winds.
Location is not brilliant, about 10 minutes walk from centre, slighly easier if you are local or know the area.
Good view of city if on the higher floors.

Good hotel if you get exec or high floor room and a good deal.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor, if not ask for view of city and not the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear magicbear,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

As you are a loyal guest of Hilton Glasgow, your feedback in particular is a natural representation of how we are performing.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our executive room and the Executive Lounge however you felt let down by some of our other room types.

Once again, thank you for your feedback as this is invaluable in ensuring we maintain our high levels of service and standards and I have passed your comments on to our team.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Stayed here for a recent function so hotel busy. Very quick check in/out. Tables nearly all full at breakfast but still quickly seated and served. Large and comfortable room, albeit the views are never that great.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussellERennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear RussellERennie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and would like to thank you for your “Good service as always” comment.

It’s always great to receive positive feedback on our service and share with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Have to say at the beginning that my stay in this hotel was booked by my partner's company so I cannot really judge on the value as our stay was paid for. What I can certainly judge is the quality of service and standard of rooms. We have been booked into I believe standard room but our twin room on the 7 floor was really big for usual basic room. Beds were really comfy with good quality bed linens and nice lighting. The bathroom had nice size and all the amenities worked perfectly. The only problem we had was that during our weekend there hotel lifts were working oddly and very often we had to walk downstairs. Staff was really apologetic about it and helpful when they could, but you can imagine that being on the 7th floor with broken lift wasn't ideal. Breakfast was perfect with amazing choice for everyone and served smoothly. I am not sure if I would book that place myself for stay in Glasgow as it does require about 15 minutes walk to the centre, but because of the hotel size is probably perfect for business trips and company's parties.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibianna_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear bibianna_w,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and breakfast during your recent stay with us however I am sorry you were inconvenienced due to the technical issue with one of our lifts.

Hilton Glasgow is currently going through an extensive lift replacement programme, which will continue throughout 2012.

I would like to take this opportunity to say that we do appreciate our guest’s patience during this time and I hope that you would choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We have been going to this Hilton for the past 6 years, and have always found the hotel to be a brilliant place to relax. The staff are very attentive to children which is always a bonus and the service in the bar area is particularly good. We eat in the restaurant and the food is great with plenty of choice for adults and children.The family rooms are very comfortable and spacious and have always been spotless. We always look forward to our weekend stays here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TB767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear TB767,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It’s great to hear that you have been coming to the hotel for the past 6 years and I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent weekend stay with us.

I would also like to thank you in particular for mentioning your experience with our team, it is always great to pass on positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,008 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £76 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing