We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Will defo be returning! Great location and great hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andymilblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear sdf,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It is always great to share positive feedback with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    1,087
    433
    151
    110
See reviews for
494
1,119
156
776
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. The room was of a very good size, it was very clean and had a nice big TV and was well furnished. It also had a decent desk - always a good thing when you are on business. The welcome at reception was good and there were also staff on hand to direct me to the first available elevator - a nice touch.

Upon entering my room it was extremely hot and despite turning the air conditioning down low, very hot air continued to come into the room from the vents. A quick call to reception was answered promptly and I was told that if I gave it a few minutes it would cool down - which it did. Not a problem I have encountered before - perhaps housekeeping should ensure that the settings are not turned up too high when they service the rooms? I have no grumbles though as within a few minutes it all worked perfectly.

A good hotel for business and a very central location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Sirbalkinesobranie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear your welcome was good at reception and you found your room a good size, clean and well furnished.

I have passed on your feedback regarding the air conditioning to our Facilities Manager and Head Housekeeper.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I got a great deal here as a 'walk-in' and bagged an 'Executive Room' including a fine breakfast for little more than budget hotel prices.

Only staying 1 night I just had a quick look at the facilities on offer but what I saw was impressive-fitness suite, pool, jacuzzi and sauna.

A grilled rib-eye steak in the bar was my dish of choice and my selection was justified-quite delicious!

All in all, this is now my 'Glasgow Hotel' and ongoing improvement works promise even better surroundings in the future!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietros_Puckerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear pietros_puckerino,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It’s wonderful to hear we are your 'Glasgow Hotel' and great to be able to feedback such positive comments to our team.
I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of one of our many offers on this occasion and that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I booked the Hilton as a stopover before flying to Belfast for the weekend. I was quite surprised at the price which was £78 for bed and breakfast for two people sharing, which I thought was very reasonable at short notice for a 5* hotel.
The room was huge and very nicely decorated with a massive comfortable bed. It also had a leather couch and a nice bathroom. As we only stayed for one night there wasn't a lot of interaction with the staff, but those I did encounter were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the breakfast which provides a huge choice and was very tasty.
The only drawback and the reason I didn't give the hotel a 5* rating is the location. It is right beside the motorway, not the best view but that's not the main issue. We decided to go for a bite to eat and walked to and from the hotel to the city centre. This is not a particularly nice route and takes in some dodgy and poorly light streets. I can see why there is a constant taxi queue outside the hotel and would suggest this is probably the safest, if not the more expensive way to get around.

Room Tip: I only booked the basic Queen Hilton guest room and I'm not sure if this was upgraded on check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Hugh M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and that you found the team members you encountered to be very friendly and helpful. I would also like to thank you for highly recommending our breakfast.

I am sorry to hear that the only drawback for you was our location and your comments have been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I arrived at 8pm after a long drive from Wales and was surprised that I was not greeted by a concierge. I had to unload my own bags then park my own car in the nearby public carpark. The rooms were fairly comfortable and typical Hilton. As mentioned by other reviewers one of the lifts was out of service and to make things worse a second lift was also put out of service the following morning. To get free WiFi you had to be in the lobby otherwise you had to pay a ridiculously high charge to have access in your room. This is a blatant rip off and the sooner that these hotels realise that by charging for internet they are loosing customers the better. After going out in the evening I tried to park my car back in the public carpark but couldnt as the automatic arm kept on coming down almost hitting my car. In frustration I parked it at the front of the hotel and gave my keys to the desk. The next morning I received a lecture from the concierge about leaving my car there and how I could have been a terrorist. I promptly gave him a lecture on proper customer service and the importance of communciation between staff. The breakfast was excellent. The steamed Haggis was brilliant! After breakfast I would normally go back to my room to do some work on my computer but I was forced to sit in the lobby to access the free WiFi. Next thing a jackhammer is started behind a false wall where renovations are taking place. This level of noise in a hotel lobby is unacceptable. Surely they could insulate the work area to protect guests. Unfortunately I had to put up with it as I had work to do. I stormed out of this hotel 1 hour later with a shocking headache vowing to never return. I raised this with a member of staff during checkout and got a shrug of the shoulders as if she was sick of hearing about it. In hindsight I probably would stay at this hotel again but only if teh renovatiosn were completed and if tehy had complimentary WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dineman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Dineman69,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the level of service and standards you received during your recent stay.

I have discussed each point you have highlighted with our Management team to address and resolve appropriately with their teams.

Hilton Glasgow is consistently reviewing the products and services we offer to our guest. The internet charges are consistent across the Hilton brand, however, I will certainly pass on your comments.

On a positive note I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and have passed on your comments to our Head Chef.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. All forms of feedback are invaluable in ensuring we maintain our high level of service and standards.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss this further.

Kindest Regards
Lisa
Business Development Department
0141 204 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here before Christmas as we were going to a show in SECC (Russell Howard - who was also amazing!). Hotel was fabulous. Rooms were huge and decor was fantastic. We arrived around lunch time and as we were early for check in we were hoping staff would let us drop our bags so that we could head out for a look around town. The ladies on reception couldn't have been more helpful - they checked system for available rooms and let us check in there and then (about 2 hrs early). We are already looking forward to going back for another visit! Great views of the city too.

Room Tip: High floors have better city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lly_Bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear H0lly_Bags,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding the hotel and the team and would like to thank you for awarding us full marks.

I have passed on your review to our Reception Manager as we have an internal recognition programme and it is always great to be able to highlight and reward team members specifically.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed one night in Glasgow on our way to highlands and Hilton had a very good rates compared to other hotels and although not quite in the centre of the city it was OK to walk from there to the centre.Room, service and breakfast was standard Hilton quality and liked the decor of the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear H P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay at the hotel and have passed on your feedback to the team.

Should you plan to visit Glasgow in the near future I do hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing