We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hotel.”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Disappointing hotel.”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

On arrival we were greeted by nobody so carried our own bags to the reception desk and up to the room. Check-in was quick but that was due to being part of Hilton Honours and the pre-populated check-in form.

Our request for a room away from the elevator was met with having a room immediately opposite so we got to hear people returning from their evenings out. We were only staying one night so could not be bothered to get involved in discussions that invariably end up with staff acting put out by your complaint.

One of the lifts was out of operation at the hotel so waiting to go up and down (I think it's 20 storeys) was time consuming. It got to the stage that we and other customers timed how long it would take for the lift to arrive. It was several minutes on a number of occasions.

The pool and sauna, etc, were good if a little small once more than four people got into the pool. The room was large with good facilities and was in good condition. The taps in the bathroom made bizarre howling sounds no matter the different pressures you tried.

The worst part of our stay was the fire alarm at 6:40am that caused the hotel to be evacuated. We waited outside and then after waiting for twenty minutes started to walk back in with everyone else to smell the burnt toast that had set the fire alarm off. Nobody apologised, we were not allowed to use the restaurant for a cup of tea before going back to bed and the wait for the lifts was going to be a long one.

We went down for breakfast a little later than we would normally and the restaurant was in bad shape. A lot of items had run out, staff were milling around and lots of tables had still to be clearead. The floors were noticeably dirty to the extent that our feet started sticking to the floor as we walked.

On check-out, not a word was said to us about the incovenience caused by the fire alarm. A friendly apology would have sufficed....it was a fire alarm so we were grateful that the systems worked but then it was their toaster that set it off.......

We've stayed at other Hiltons in the UK and they have been generally expensive, poorly furnished and with poor customer service. A pity they have not managed to create the experience that you have outside the UK. We gave Hilton a try this time because of good experiences overseas. We won't be doing it again.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Terryminuit,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our Hilton Honors members however I am sorry to hear that on this occasion there were many things that prevented you from having a positive experience with us.

Rest assured, this is not the level of service that our loyal guests have come to expect from our hotel and we have taken action to ensure it does not happen again.

On a positive note I am pleased to confirm that our lift replacement programme has been completed and all public area lifts are now operational.

I have also shared your review with the relevant Managers to review your comments with their respective teams.

Again, I am deeply sorry that you had such a disappointing stay at our hotel, and we sincerely hope that you will give us another try and allow us to show you the full level of service and comfort our guests have come to rely on at our hotel.

Should you wish to discuss your review further please do not hesitate to contact me at sales.glasgow@hilton.com.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Business Development Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    1,128
    453
    158
    112
See reviews for
524
1,159
157
817
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a lovely big room with a view over Glasgow. Although the room hadnt been refurbished it was still modern and very clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable.
The breakfast was great, lots of choice.
The bar area had a good atmosphere although the drinks were very pricey (almost £6 for a glass of wine! Why do hotels do that?!)
The pool area was good and not too busy (the changing rooms were a bit too small with no private changing cubicles).
Overall, it was a lovely hotel and I'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armstrg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear armstrg2002,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Nice hotel although a bit of a walk from the nearest SPT (Underground) station.

My room was overlooking the flyover but noise was minimal. The window doesn't open so no fresh air aside from the air conditioning units.

Overall the room was very clean and spacious. If you like power showers you'd be hard pressed to find one more powerful than here. I couldn't find a way to regulate the pressure so smaller children or those not liking huge torrents of water may have to stick with the bath.

Breakfast is substantial with plenty of variety.

Staff are very courteous.

One thing to note the mattresses are rock hard (this seems to be the norm across hotels). This
makes sleeping that bit harder.

Overall I would stay here again if I could get it for this price range (I paid <£70).

Room Tip: Go for a room above the 6th floor to minimise noise from the flyover, or even better ask for room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derverschollene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Derverschollene,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

All forms of feedback are invaluable in ensuring we maintain our high level of service and standards and I have noted your comments regarding our power showers and mattresses.

I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and would return.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,285 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

20 storey hotel which is around a 10 minute walk into the centre of Glasgow (Buchanan Street). In the middle of a refurb and the ground floor public areas provide a nice open modern area to enjoy a few drinks (albeit overpriced drinks at just over £5 a pint!).

Our family room was a good size, quiet and very nice (not refurbished yet but very clean). Comfy bed, though the sofa bed could at least have a memory foam topper on it to give a bit more comfort. Staff all very good, leisure pool area good (though why they have not replaced one very rusty large handrail is beyond me!). Buffet breakfast was very good. Secure underground parking at £10 for 24 hours was reasonable.

All in all a very good Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear sleep007,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your family room, buffet breakfast and to read your kind comments regarding our staff.

I have since spoken to Richard, our LivingWell Manager, and he has confirmed that a new handrail has been ordered for the pool area.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights 29th -31st August for my boyfriends 40th birthday. We had a room on 9t floor and it was fab, decorated to a high standard and really big. I emailed th hotel prior to staying to explain it was his birthday and theyoffered to send a bottle of wine and chocolates up to the room which was a lovely touch.

The hotel is located quite close to the city centre, about 10 mins walking. We used the leisure facilities whihc we felt were a bit dated compared to the rest of the hotel but believe its a franchise so that might be why.

Breakfast was amazing, everything you could possibly want inc veggie sausages which was great for me. Breakfast vouchers can be obtained at reception for £12 rather than paying £18 if you go straight to the breakfast room.

Staff were professional, polite and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tot72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear tot72,

Thank you for taking the time to review your 2 night stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding our professional, polite and helpful staff and to hear that you would choose to stay with us again.

I have noted you comments regarding our Leisure facilities and shared your review with our LivingWell Health Club Manager.

I am so pleased you both enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you very soon.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

As far as Hilton's go this is very good indeed. Well placed for the central station and all central areas of the city, this is clean and comfortable and service was friendly and attentive.
The breakfast selection is also very nice.
I did have an executive room so can only comment on this room, and it was superb, with a comfy bed and nice bathroom.
Will stay here again if I'm back in Glasgow, which I hope won't be too long.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear GorillaFoot,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow, for awarding us full marks and for your kind comments on our staff.

It’s great to hear you had a good stay and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Great staff. Everything you would expect from the Hilton.

Room was fantastic. The breakfast was great it had a waffle station and everything else you could imagine. Staff were very friendly.

Walking distance into the town. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylfromBrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear cherylfrombrampton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It’s so good to hear that you enjoyed your weeks stay with us and to read your kind feedback.

Thanks again for the recommendation and we do hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,893 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,617 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing