We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with excellent breakfast”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Hotel location could be better, as walking is not nice to the city, but if you are here for business and you take a taxi/drive a car, then it is excellent.
Rooms are modern and well-equipped, it’s been a long time I had such a great breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Istvan_Kalasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 3,370 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed one Saturday evening in September with our family friends for their birthday. We had quite a good deal that included full buffet breakfast. I have requested for higher floor but unfortunately we only got 6th floor bedroom however we could see the clear view of M8 motorway and Finnieston crane beyond. Although it was by the motorway it was very quiet and you don't hear any traffic noise. We had twin bedded room - beds were very comfortable and the room was spotless clean. Body lotion supplied in the bathroom was really good - leaving the skin really nice and soft. Buffet breakfast was excellent - you can have so many choices; so many kinds of pastries, yoghurt fruits, fish, eggs (boiled, poached, scrambled, sunny side up, etc), potato scones, hush browns, mushroom, bacon, sausages, even great vegetarian sausages which we really enjoy, porridge, haggis, pancakes and syrups, well I can't list all. Just thinking about it makes me hungry and I really want to go back there and eat as much as I could...

We did not have any dinner there as we went out. It's not really a nice area to walk at night so you'd need to take taxi to/from if you go out for dinner but it's not that expensive to get to town center. There is a car park but unfortunately it's not free. If you are hotel guests, you get fixed discounted rate for over night parking - just ask at the reception for this when you check out.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at this hotel and we would not mind going back there again if they do another overnight stay deal with breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eimatretep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hilton in Glasgow is quite snobby.
I phoned them up and asked what kind of car park the had as we have really big jeep and we have to watch the hight. The lady said they had an excellent car park. When we got there it was an underground car park and we couldn't fit in. I asked the door man and he said because it won't fit in underground car park we would have to go to a pay and display car park a few miles away. I said to him can't we park it out the frount and his exact words... We don't want a thing like that outside here!
We said to the lady on the desk and she said sorry cant help. She was as much use as a paper bag. If they lady had said on the phone we would have made arrangements to get other vechical but she assured us that it was god car park. She didn't even say it was underground.

We went to there restaurant for tea. Wasn't good. Was tasteless however breakfast was really good.

I wouldn't stay here ever again the staff are obviously better than you. There are plenty other better places to stay in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Go to other hotel. The Marriott is better and better car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miller3cx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Miller3cx,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow .

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast however I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay.

I can confirm that the height restriction for our car park is 1.8 metres , our concierge are always happy to recommend alternative arrangements for our guest vehicles where business permits parking in front of the hotel may be arranged at the General Managers discretion.

I have shared your review with our management team and can assure you that all areas detailed within your review will be actioned with the relevant team members.

Again I am sorry to hear that you left with such a bad impression of our hotel and I do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

You should not see this hotel getting a welcome or business from Visit Scotlan - they cannot seem to understand what quality means. I stayed in October - in a Exectuive Corner Room - includes access to the Execuitve Lounge. Its quite noticeable that they are cutting corners to offer only realy basic ammenites in the lounge.

Popped later afternoon - reasonably busy but all the afternoon tea had been cleared. Drinks in the evening usual fare but Breakfast was the biggest disappointment. The range of food rather limited and the expection that you would have would be to offer a really good service with a can do attitude so you will be really disappointed here. Whilst you can have a full breakfast in the restaurant its too much trouble - I have stayed in some really great hotels where the service has been great and especially so from the Exectuive Lounge team - even the duty manager couldn't see past the "rules and regulations".

More generally the hotel lobby and lifst have had a face lift - needed it though the lifts were clapped out previously - does not really benefit the lobby area which is noisy and somewhat cold - money would have been better spent on customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AHandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear AHandHH,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us on this occasion was not a positive one.

We are consistently reviewing our products and services that we offer to our guests, I can confirm that our Executive offerings are standard across the Hilton Brand however I will pass on your comments.

Your feedback has been shared with our management team and all areas detailed within your review will be included in our on-going assessment of product and services.

Again, we appreciate your constructive feedback and we sincerely hope that you will give us another try and allow us to show you the full level of service and comfort our guests have come to rely on at our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and another couple and it cost a very reasonable £155 per couple for two nights. Our visit was mostly about shopping and the hotel was in walking distance of the main shopping areas. The room was a queen guest room and was really spacious. The bathroom was also generously sized but there was some black mould on the tiles which I disliked - not what I would expect from a 5* hotel.
When we checked in the receptionist asked us if we were there to celebrate an anniversary and I explained it was my partners birthday. When our friends arrived in there room there was a bottle of champagne and chocolates with chocolate spelling out " happy anniversary"! Not quite right but a nice gesture anyway!
I would recommend this hotel to a friend and would return to it in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gomartymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Gomartymo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your two night stay with Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It's great to read your comments on good location and great value and to hear you enjoyed your spacious room, however I am sorry to hear of the mould on the tiles and have passed your feedback to our Head of Engineering to take remedial action.

Although our receptionist team had the best intentions regarding your partners birthday I am sorry for the mix up and have since spoken with our Reception Manager who has assured me that the continued training focus will be on customer care.

We do hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed for three nights to visit student daughter on exchange at Glasgow University. Room was clean, spacious and well appointed. Fantastic buffet style breakfast, haggis was particularly good.
Good price on sale, excellent value for money. Staff were efficient and accommodating. Within easy walking distance of Glasgow central and cheap taxi fare to West end. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Elaine B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us 5 stars!!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your clean, spacious room and our Hilton Breakfast, in particular the haggis.

We do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Glasgow and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The rooms are well-maintained and spacious. Maybe not ultra-modern but more than acceptable. The staff are really friendly and always give service with a smile. The showers in the rooms are brilliant. Only bad point about this hotel is that it is a real pain to get to on foot from the city centre. It isn't far but you have to walk down through a pretty grotty concrete maze to get there. So, if you get a good rate, definitely give the Hilton a go.

Room Tip: As always - go for as high a level as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianwrightz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £84 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing