We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“should be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“should be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

it is 5 star but looking tired and struggling when busy just a bit more effort and it would be truly 5 star.
first visit since new dining arrangement-sorry prefered the original Cameron and Miskis set up.
good staff but suspect numbers not adequate.
credit -great bed and the executive room -first class
but feel just something missing for true 5 star status

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    1,103
    442
    152
    110
See reviews for
502
1,135
157
787
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

December 2012, we again visited the Glasgow Hilton for our Christmas Lunch. The Carvery section has been totally refurbished and as always the food was amazing. Loads of choice and all of it absolutely delicious (so I'm told by everyone who was there with us). I hope the boss hurries up and books us in again for this year's Christmas lunch (2013). Can't wait! Yum.....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tylionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends over Hogmanay,thought the hotel was great, the rooms were clean, the showers in the rooms r fantastic! Had dinner in the bar and although we had a long wait, the food was delicious, steak sandwich and a burger! Only down side was that in a 5* hotel u don't expect ur table 2 b taken over with plates and glasses( they were really busy) overall we really enjoyed our break, and would defo stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanf1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel has great staff so no complaints there, the family room was a good size (which also allows small pets which is excellent), the location is pretty convenient and the standard of food at breakfast was good. I've never written a bad review before but we were so disappointed by this hotel. In terms of the quality of the experience I would say that it is a bottom level 3* at very best. It is in need of some serious investment - our room had mould in the grouting in the bathroom, cracked tiles in the bathroom and furniture with missing handles. Throughout the hotel you can see lack of investment e.g. the ladies loo just off the reception was really tatty, the carpet in the main reception looks like it needs a good clean and lots of areas had marks on the walls. The food at breakfast looked well cooked but since I had to stand in a long queue (aka school dinners, not quite the 5* experience we had hoped for) to make a selection it was stone cold by the time I brought it back to the table. The layout of the self service area was cramped and totally inadequate to deal with the flow of customers. After breakfast we used the pool (the jacuzzi was not working and a couple of the toilets were not working in the changing area.... bit of a theme emerging....) and since it was New Year's day and we thought nothing else would be open we decided to have a snack in the bar area before our return journey home. The poor staff were not coping with the number of customers (again Hilton I respectfully suggest that you invest in adequate staffing levels). It took around 15 minutes before I was even able to place an order. It took more than 40 minutes to arrive (pizza and sandwiches) and it was obvious that our sandwiches had been sitting in the kitchen waiting for the pizza to be prepared because the bread was hard (and for the record the egg mayonnaise tasted like cheap egg and salad cream).
We were considering a 5* all inclusive Hilton resort in Turkey for 2013 but after this experience I would not trust Hilton's version of 5*.

Room Tip: Good sized family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendywo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

I have used this hotel on a number of occasions and not once has the bill pushed under the door been correct. This time, I was charged a spurious amount for an adjoining room I'd booked. A visit to the helpful staff at reception quickly righted the error though.
The rooms were comfortable, although the bathroom in the main room was in need of a little maintenance with a toilet that was difficult to flush and taps that left water continually dripping into the sink.
The breakfast was good with a great choice on offer. Machine coffee though......not really in keeping with a 5 star hotel....more a Premier Inn.
Not sure of the new decor in the restaurant area.....it doesn't seem premium enough, again, typical of what you might see at a Travel Lodge or, at best, a Premier Inn.
Overall, an ok stay, but attention to detail with both rooms and bills would make for an improved experience.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveadkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome, upgraded to executive room, which was comfortable. Receptionist recommended we took breakfast in the main restaurant as the choice would be better than the lounge. Good move: breakfast was very good. Two small moans: the check-in person told us the wrong opening times for the drinks in the lounge (a regular occurrence, according to the lounge staff) and when we requested a second bathrobe it never arrived.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Large hotel just off the M8 motorway. If coming on the express bus from the airport it is the first stop.

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. Check in efficient but did get the opening times of the executive lounge wrong.

We were upgraded to an executive room on the 18 th floor with nice views over the city. The room was a good size with a large, comfortable king bed. Bathroom ok but I didn't like the shower head as it was fixed to the wall.

There was only one bathrobe in the room. We did ask for another but it never got delivered.

Breakfast in the restaurant was good with a good selection.

The hotel is on the edge of the city centre in the financial district. However, Glasgow city centre is quite small and not too far to walk to the shopping centres/attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin10779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing