We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliments and caution”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Compliments and caution”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

For years now at the beginning of December, we've stayed in this hotel overnight after attending an annual dinner- dance. The rooms are comfortable; the food, considering the number of people eating- 400 to 600, is always delicious and beautifully presented and the service has always been excellent. However, at the end of the recent dance I discovered my phone taken out of my bag and raffle prizes removed from under the table where I'd stored them. Security implied that it could have been a fellow guest: who knows? I wouldn't cast aspersions. My point is: enjoy your stay but be careful when you leave the table unattended, you may find your belongings stolen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear MoJMo,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

Although I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your comfortable room and the service and food at your annual dinner dance, I am sorry to read of your experience regarding your phone and raffle prizes.
I have shared your review with our security team, unfortunately the hotel is not liable for unattended property belonging to our guests.

Should you wish to discuss your review further please feel free to contact me at sales.glasgow@hilton.com or call 0141 204 5555 and ask for Lisa in Business Development.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    1,153
    468
    161
    113
See reviews for
552
1,188
158
831
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on Hogmanay 2012. Check-inwas nice and easy and we actually got checked in 2 hours before we were suppose to as our room was ready for us. We booked a Queen room which was lovely, nice and spacious and the shower was great! Tea and coffee facilities and an iron in the room which are handy too. We both had a massage in the Ocean Spa Rooms at the hotel which was excellent, the girls were lovely. Breakfast is absolutely superb with so much to choose from and all freshly cooked, a perfect start to your day! The only down side is the bar staff take ages to serve you and despite waiting, they tend to serve who they want to in no order so you can be waiting for 10 minutes and someone else rocks up and gets served straight away, very annoying!! Apart from that, we had a fantastic stay and will definitely be returning to this hotel in the the future

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear PerthLass,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Hogmanay stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your room, superb breakfast and your treatments in the Ocean Rooms Spa.

I am sorry to read your comments regarding service in our bar and will certainly pass these on to our Bar Manager to review with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Spent last weekend at the hotel, spending my Tesco rewards on a 2 night stay the family. Easy to get to by car, parking straightforward, a lovely warm reception with easy check in. Our double double was great, enough room and comfortable, with good quality beds, linen and furnishing. Ok, the sink was cracked and the taps had seen better days, we also found a packet of indigestions tablets under the bed, but we were hunting for a stray toy 'bullet'. Didn't detract from our enjoyment at all.

Public areas were lovely, breakfast good - didn't mind self service coffee, and the bacon etc were far better than many other hotels that have them in warming dishes.

Used both gym and pool, which were fine too. The first evening, the ladies changing area and the ladies loos by the Morblas restaurant were both really smelly. This smell had gone the following day and never returned.

Took me 15 mins fast walking to get to John Lewis, mostly through streets of offices. Decided to take the car when we took the kids in for tea. Lovely meal in Prezzo (spending Tesco rewards again!) and it was a pretty cheap weekend. Expect we will book another stay later in the year.

Room Tip: A double double was just perfect for our family of 4. Far more civilised than sofa beds or put-u-up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear lancashirelass,

Thank you for taking the time to review your "lovely weekend with the kids" at Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your double double room, good breakfast and our leisure
facilities.

I have noted your comments regarding the sink and taps in the bathroom and the indigestion tablets found under the bed and have passed this on to our Head of Engineering and Head Housekeeper to review with their teams.

We look forward to your return stay later on in the year.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in the Hilton Glasgow as a birthday treat/end of exam celebration. On arrival the reception staff were more than helpful. As i had asked for a high floor on my booking, the receptionist made me aware that although this was not a problem, she advised that the higher floors were yet to be refurbished. She suggested a floor on the 10th floor which had recently been refurbished which I gratefully accepted.
The room was very nice and comfortable although the view was not the best. As it was Christmas party season, we spent the night in various pubs/clubs in Glasgow so didn't use much of the facilities in the hotel. I did however fancy a beer on our return and thought the bar prices were ridiculous. Unsure of exactly the cost of my bottle of Bud (i was a bit drunk) but I got less than £1 change from a fiver.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drunkenscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear drunkenscot,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to hear of our helpful reception staff and your nice comfortable bedroom, I do hope you will come and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colintraive, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Ate Sunday CARVERY lunch here with the family just before Christmas. Good service. Vast array of food with plenty of choice for all palates. You could eat as much as you wanted. Wine good and well priced. One complaint, restaurant was at sauna temperature.
There is a car park but too low for Landrover Discoveries

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear BridgetIna,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Sunday Lunch Carvery at Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to read your kind comments regarding the selection of food and good service and will certainly pass on your review to our Restaurant Manager to share with the team.

I have spoken with our Head Concierge who has confirmed that we can accommodate various models of cars and vans given that our car park height is 1.8 metres at the lowest point.

We would advise guests to get in touch with our concierge team on 0141 204 5555 should they have any queries regarding parking at the hotel prior to arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

After staying the previous night in a nearby chain hotel which was very disappointing, decided to check out and go to the Hilton for our 2nd night. We have stayed in a few of the other top rated hotels in Glasgow but had never been to the Hilton. Have to say was pleasantly surprised here, As soon as you come in the door it has a very grand feel the public areas are impressive and relaxing and the staff very welcoming. The bedroom was lovely, recently refurbished,very comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. We dined in the restaurant and the food was excellent where children eat free. Breakfast was also very good, For the weekend rate we paid it was all top quality and would be hard to beat. By far the best Hilton I have stayed in this country and will definately be our first choice when coming to glasgow again.

Room Tip: 8th floor and above have newly refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear BB07CON,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It’s great to hear that we “exceeded your expectations” on your fist stay with us at the hotel.

I will certainly pass on your fabulous feedback to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Went here for afternoon tea that I got as part of a deal. It included afternoon tea and a bottle of prosecco. Everything from start to finish was wonderful from the very friendly and helpful staff to the amazing cake and sandwich selection. This is definitely the best afternoon tea I have had and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louise_brodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear louise_brodie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea at Ti Tea Lounge, Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I will certainly pass on your feedback to the Ti Tea Lounge team.

It’s great to hear this is the “best afternoon tea” you have had and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing