We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring back Minsky's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bring back Minsky's!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I have stayed several times now at this hotel and we do really like it. Our room had recently been refurbished and was very nice. I'm a HHonours member and do ask every time if an upgrade is possible, but have never been upgraded - oh well, always worth a try!
We had drinks in the bar which has also had a face-lift and it was a very relaxing space with good service.
We then had dinner in the restaurant which was a carvery. My meal was very disappointing. The seafood and vegetables were over-cooked and swimming in liquid. I ended up eating very little and was very disappointed that we had spent such a lot of money on a poor quality meal when we could have headed in to the city centre.
We have eaten in the hotel before and had really good meals. They have refurbished the restaurant and it now looks like a Travelodge or similar. Very plain and bland lacking the character it had as Minsky's. Breakfast was good, but the staff no longer bring fresh coffee and juice to the table. Coffee is self-service via a machine - fine for the Travelodge but not for a 5* hotel.
Check-in and out was very efficient with excellent customer service from lovely, attentive staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear julieholiday,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow,it is always a pleasure to read reviews from our HHonours guests.

It’s great to hear your comments regarding your refurbished room and Connich Bar however I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with Morblas Seafood and Grill. Your comments regarding the quality of food have been shared with our Head Chef and his team.

We have been in the process of reviewing our offerings over the last few months and I am pleased to say that we are introducing a new weekend Carvery and Grill menu and a midweek A La Carte menu. I have noted your comments regarding the character of the restaurant and will pass this onto our design team.

Our coffee machines offer our guests a great range of fresh options from a cappuccino to double espresso and a wide selection of teas. Our breakfast team are always more than happy to serve our guests Tea and Coffee at their table, should they prefer.
Once again thank you for your feedback and for your kind comments on our excellent customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,314
    1,100
    441
    151
    110
See reviews for
502
1,132
156
784
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in an executive room, having stayed there previously in the same level of room i felt quite confident as to what standard to expect. Last time we were on floor 19, this time floor 18 - definitely not the same standard which was disappointing. It was just a very run of the mill room, the bathrobes had certainly seen better days and not even a little biscuit on the tea tray!!!! Come on hilton we paid £162 for this, surely its not too much to expect, but we could have bought a kitkat from the mini bar for £3.95!!!!! I had also forgotten my hair straighteners and thought this is a 5* hotel surely i could borrow a pair from the hairdressers - you must be joking!!!! I was sent on a trek to the st enoch centre to get my own as the hairdresser refused to let me borrow theres, but as the receptionist pointed out the hairdresser only rents the space, but even so, wonder if john barrowman who stayed there at xmas would of been treated like this? On a positive, the brekkie was good, the room was quiet, but having stayed in radisson blu last week i know i will probably book there again rather than the hilton - sorry, but this was not a memorable visit, just very run of the mill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear hazee13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am disappointed you felt your room did not meet your expectations on this occasion, both our 18th and 19th floor Executive rooms are of the same standard. I have shared your comments with our Head Housekeeper regarding the bathrobes.

We are consistently reviewing our products and services that we offer to our guests, I can confirm that we no longer offer biscuits in the room as part of the Hilton Brand standard however I will pass on your comments to our Brand team.

I have also spoken with the Ocean Rooms Spa Manager who has confirmed that due to Health and Safety policies the team are unable to offer any of their appliances to hotel guest’s for use in their bedrooms. The Ocean Rooms Spa is happy to offer hotel guests priority appointments should they require one.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed couple of days here while I was on work. With my office in walking distance, it was a real perfect stay. Th rooms are really nice. The staff were courteous and friendly. The food is good, both at the bar as well as the restaurant.
The breakfast is complimentary and excellent.
The lobby has free wi-if and the hotel gives the password to it. The hotel has a decent gym. This hotel would be my first preference next time to Glasgow

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRISVACATION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear KRISVACATION,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your couple of days with us at the hotel.

I have passed on your kind feedback to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here in August 2012. Paid about £60 for a double room for one night (£30 per person). Was expecting a lot seeing as it is a 5* hotel. The location was great, right next to the Glasgow central station and very close to the main Glasgow airport. A Tesco is a 5 minute walk away and other shops encircle the hotel. Transport links were quite excellent. The rooms was good and spacious and so was the bathroom. However, the bathroom was not that clean and the water that came out of the shower had bits of what looked like iron. The room was clean however. View not that great. Overall, it was certainly not a 5* and more than £60 per person per night is not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here in April 13. You can rely on Hilton to provide a great standard hotel no matter what country you are in. Good location comfortable rooms, food great if not a little expensive. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Very clean and the whole place has a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameronsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Really enjoy staying at this hotel. Even the standard rooms are big airy and clean. Good location within easy walking distance of the city centre. The spa treatments are very good but a bit too much outside noise is heard making it a bit more difficult to relax.
The bar could be better and the cocktail list was weak but that is a minor issue.
Breakfast is excellent and worth the money.
Had a bit of trouble when my room wasn't cleaned when we got back to the hotel at 1700. However it was quickly remedied and we received a drink on the house for our trouble, a good response.
All in all a really decent place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a very good view of the Glasgow skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

premier stay.expected more from the room on upgrade.no seperate shower,however good view and premier lounge service very good however breakfast in premier lounge lukewarm.Overall good service as you would expect from a five star establishment but rooms need to be upgraded to 5 star.Room adequate though my partner found it noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,200 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
531 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing