We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, fine hotel but not a great location”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, fine hotel but not a great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We arrived at the Glasgow Hilton after a delayed flight from London but having had a great taxi driver from the airport. He had given us lots of information about the city and things to see as well as how to get around. The front desk staff were welcoming and quickly changed out room when it wasn’t the sort we wanted. The rooms are very standard for this type of hotel. It has a large screen TV, desk and storage space as well as plenty of hanging space. The bathroom had a snug rather than a roomy bath but was light and airy. If I had to make any criticism of the room it would be that there was only one easy chair.

Since we were tired from a long time spent at Gatwick airport not travelling we decided to eat in the bar. The menu was not extensive but provided a good selection in all categories. The Hilton Club sandwich was plentiful for what we wanted and the wine was more than acceptable. I would rather have had a real beer available than the case ales but this seems to be as much a Glasgow thing as just a Hilton hotel thing.

The next morning we set out to walk to the Kelvingrove Museum and discovered the main limitations of the hotel location. To get anywhere walking from the Hilton requires going alongside a very busy and very noisy road on a narrow pavement or heading into some back streets or taking a taxi. The location being on the eastern outskirts of the city centre was further emphasised when we walked back after some shopping. It had been a ride on the famous Glasgow subway to get to the city centre from Kelvingrove. Sauchiehall street became seedier as we headed west towards the hotel. Though it never reached the stage of being threatening in any way we did decide that we would need to take a taxi to get to the better bars around the Merchant Quarter. As it turns out the rain, the walking and a large lunch meant we spent another evening in the bar, which proved no hardship.

Throughout our stay every time we had dealing with the staff they were friendly and helpful. We borrowed some duct take to make a handle for a package we had and the waiter in the bar came to tell us that he had dropped our food so there would be a short delay while the kitchen prepared a replacement.

However, the best indication of the service and how seriously they took customer comments was at breakfast on the last day. The buffet breakfast coffee was from one of the new type of machines that are becoming popular. You put a cup under the spout, and (to quote from the Hitch-hikers Guide to the Galaxy)
“When the 'Drink' button is pressed it makes an instant but highly detailed examination of the subject's taste buds, a spectroscopic analysis of the subject's metabolism, and then sends tiny experimental signals down the neural pathways to the taste centres of the subject's brain to see what is likely to be well received.
However, no-one knows quite why it does this because it then invariably delivers a cupful of liquid that is almost, but not quite, entirely unlike tea.”.

When I was asked if I had enjoyed breakfast I mentioned how bad the coffee was. The supervisor immediately offered to go and get me a better tasting cup from the Costa coffee shop in the lobby. Though I refused the offer it was an indication of the dedication of the staff to customer service.

Overall a very nice stay but not really a hotel to visit the centre of Glasgow from unless you are prepared to take taxis.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    1,133
    453
    158
    112
See reviews for
527
1,160
157
818
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

As a Diamond HHonors member we were upgraded to a well refurbished Executive room on the 20th floor. The decor was excellent but there was a large chip out of the enamel in the sink. Also the lighting was poor (except for those at the bedside).
The staff throughout the hotel were very efficient, friendly, and helpful.
Breakfast in the dining room was plentiful and had a very wide variety of both hot and cold food.
The one factor which prevented this from being an excellent hotel was the poor variety of evening food and drink in the Executive lounge.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rook3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Rook3rs,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow, it is always a pleasure to hear from our HHonors guests.

I have noted your comments regarding the sink in your room and the Executive Lounge offerings and have shared your feedback with the relevant department managers.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast and our friendly, efficient and helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Location - it is close to the city centre but it is not easy to walk to, you always have to use a taxi especially at night, there are a lot of underpasses about, a taxi to the city centre or the SECC costs between £4.20 and £5.00 depending on traffic. Reception staff great, friendly and efficient, in fact all the staf were great. Room (1317) on first impression was good but the bathroom let it down tiles missing from bath panel, toilet roll holder kept falling off, then I found a pair of knickers by the desk (not mine, and my husband assures me not his). Did not use parking so cannot comment but there were always queues of traffic on the surrounding roads. Room was quiet except for the air con and whenever the bathroom was used in the room above the pipes made a loud howling noise. Bed was lovely, the best thing about the room, would have had a great nights sleep but for the other noises. Tv didn't have many channels and to rent a movie was £7.95 what a rip off, wi-fi is not free, what is up with these people? We pre-paid for the room which included breakfast, but were charged £6.00 per person and a tray charge of £5 to have it in the room, disgusting. The food was ok nothing special but nothing to complain about either, the only gripe was that it was very nearly cold by the time it reached us and a cold cooked breakfast with luke warm coffee is not the best way to start the day. We used the pool it was lovely, very clean and our son loved it, there is a jacuzzi a steam room and a sauna which were all great and kids are welcome. I wouldn't recommend this hotel because of the location and the extra charges. It is more for business men that can charge expenses to their company and it shows.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihateithere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear ihateithere,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality service and experience, I am so sorry to read that your impression of our hotel was not a positive one.

I have shared your comments with both my Front Office Manager and Head of Engineering, they have reviewed the areas highlighted regarding your accommodation and have assured me that remedial action has been taken.

I have noted your feedback regarding the additional room charges for in house movies and room service.
I am sorry to read that your room service breakfast was cold, this is unacceptable and I would like to apologise on behalf of the team and can assure you that this is not the norm.
Your feedback will be included in our ongoing service and product training for our room service team.

On a positive note it is great to hear you enjoyed the leisure facilities and found all staff great.
Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 23rd to 26th Oct, room was lovely and very clean!! Staff were lovely at reception but could not believe we had to pay for parking when paying to stay there and the room service was £16 for 2 small bowls of chips!! Also the leisure facilities were a little tired, the changing rooms were dated and a little dirty and parts of the jacuzzi were falling to bits. All in all we did have a pleasurable stay and the shower in our room was to die for!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happylassy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Happylassy17,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

All forms of feedback are invaluable in ensuring we maintain our high level of service and standards. I have shared your constructive feedback with our management team to include as part of their ongoing review of product and services.

It’s great to hear all in all you had a pleasurable stay and we very much look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirknewton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We used this for our work conference - around 350-400 people attended.

Large venue for us, although the break out area was crowded for coffee and lunch times.

The staff were prompt when asked for items and helpful directing us to other locations for workshops and events.

Would use this venue again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_H_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Nina_H_9,

Thank you so much for reviewing your work conference at Hilton Glasgow.

It’s always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team and we are delighted that you would use our hotel again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I have been to many 5 star hotels but I don't think this really lives up to 5 stars. The breakfast was good with a variety of different hot and cold food but we waited ages to get seated and I had to go get someone's attention. The same with the bar it wasn't even busy and we had to go up and order even though previously they had come over. The room was nice and clean but was dated. The bathroom definitely needed a refurb and the towel railing kept falling off. The check in staff were nice and friendly but we checked in late as our room was not ready as we had arrived early but ended up waiting past check in time. I wouldn't say this is 5 star more 4 star.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteT1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights to attend a family event in Glasgow and found the hotel to be ideal for us.Our room was over looking the motorway but we could not hear any traffic noise in our room which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. All staff were pleasant and helpful, tho' the queue at check in was quite long. We had dinner on one evening which we thoroughly enjoyed and both breakfasts were also very good.We unfortunately did not have time to make use of the spa.
The lounge area was very comfortable to relax in when we returned one evening very late with friends who were dropping us off, and I was delighted to be able to have peppermint tea while they enjoyed a night cap.
I would return to this hotel next time we need to stay in Glasgow

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor but took the elevator right up to the top floor lobby where the views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidaymakerKillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,895 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,622 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing