We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable overall, great staff but let down by simple things”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed for my partners Birthday on Sat 11th of January - Check in was quick and efficient, and was offered a King bed rather than booked twin (only option showing under Hilton points) which was a nice touch. However as a Diamond member the Hilton promise is to try and get members to the Executive floor but this didn't happen. (Upon check-in they were selling Executive rooms, so not sure if they missed the fact we were Diamond members, or all the executive rooms had sold out between the cafe where I surfed and checking in 30 minutes later!)

Staff were outstanding at all interaction points. Main areas looked bright, modern and inviting.

Room was nice but we had a view (facing North, approx above the main entrance) of a building site and despite being on the 10th floor the windows did not keep out the noise of that or the M8 spur road. The room was cold, heating turned up full for 3 hours saw no temperature rise. Requested it be looked at and it was. That night we had a warm room, but the air was stale and dry (windows can't open for fresh air) so now I am nursing a chest infection :-(

The executive lounge was excellent. We had a lovely afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks and a lovely breakfast in the morning. Faultless.

Pool was fab for my 2 year old as well as Mum/Dad. Let down by zero heating in male (and I assume female) changing areas. The labels/indicators for on/off and hot/cold were missing from the pool shower taps - As a first time guest (as would be the case for many) meant guessing at a) how to turn the shower on/off (no big deal) b) being scalded by choosing the wrong direction from tepid - worse my 2 year old was with me and could have been hurt, but as I wasn't sure it was only me that got the hot water, thankfully. In the main changing room the show I was in (first on the left) had not knob on the show on/off - so I had to press a metal stub rather than a chrome button, again no big deal just shoddy. When I went to change the bench had dirty trainer marks on it so I a) wouldn't sit down to dry/change b) ended up using my towel to put on the floor as it too was close to filthy. it is obvious that with outdoor shoes and water the tiles will show dirt quickly as do the benches if guests choose to be lax. (Why should you be on your best behavior when you are out to relax may be a reasonable view point) It wouldn't have taken much for a cleaner to be on duty to ensure it was clean - This is not the first comment I have heard form others that have stayed here and used the facilities, so I wasn't expecting more. Whilst in the pool staff offered us drinking water which was a really touch - Now nursing a chest infection I am not sure it might be because the air conditioning is perhaps not operating in an optimal manner.

Would I return again - Not if the experience was repeated. To that end I am off to look for another option for this Saturday night in Glasgow as we have a special 50th Birthday celebration :-)

Room Tip: Go for an executive room to get lounge access or if Diamond try and get the top floors for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaLaverty, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear AngusJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I have noted your comments and shared with our team.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,035 - 2,041 of 3,443 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

After busy Christmas and new year, back to grind of school runs and work last week.... A cheeky night was needed. Having requested a high floor over looking the river rather than the office buildings to the front of the hotel..... All was granted! Booked a queen family room for 2 adults the room was lovely, big bed, Egyptian cotton bedding, large bathroom with fluffy big bath sheets. Room spotless, check in, bar staff leisure staff helpful. Despite the rain being on the 17th floor was amazing. Didn't eat in hotel this time went out on return I wanted a cocktail the barman knew exactly what a caipirinha was and asked if if wanted it British style or properly..... Impressive was a very good one.
Breakfast was excellent and varied selection haggis, black pudding etc. delicious. Used the pool this morning and enjoyed the steam, sauna, and jacuzzi.
My only quibble was that wi fi is not free unless you are in reception and some how they manage to disable the 3G on phone so you either have to sit in reception or pay to use in your room. Minor I know but still we needed to use iPad. Other than that it was just what doctor ordered for a wet Monday night in January! Definitely going back

Room Tip: Ask for high floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaLaverty, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear deborah P,

Thank you for your great review of Hilton Glasgow.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Queen room and the views and appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We came to Glasgow on the last Friday before Christmas to see the Christmas lights in George Square and this year we decided to stay the night so we chose this hotel. The car park was a bit tight but there was enough room for our car to get in/out. The reception area is very snazzy. Our room was on the 6th floor with a view of the Finneston Crane, motorway and Anderston cross to name a few places. The room was spotless and the beds were comfortable. We went out for dinner at O Sole Mio on Bath Street and after walking to George Square in the rain we just returned to the Hotel in a Taxi and had a few drinks from the bar. The morning after, breakfast was good (the scrambled egg was a bit cold though) and afterwards we just headed home after a great night's stay. We'll hopefully be back again another time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Steveq ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your pre-Christmas break with us. I really appreciate your feedback and your comments to help improve our guests experience.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stay regularily at this property and always find it most pleasant.
Reception are always efficient, my room upgraded throughout with my Diamond status.
Rooms on a high floor are great although Internet access is problomatic the higher up the tower you go. Great nights sleep is guaranteed!
Dining options are enjoyable with excellent service. £50 per head would be an average per head cost.
The main criticism of this property is the car parking - it's made for people who drive 'smart' cars and not those of us who have SUV's and 4WD's. It's so tight to enter and exit the car park and the evidence of this is on the walls where there's a colour chart of the unfortunates who've hit it.
The Executive Lounge has gone downhill with less choice of food and beverage. It's also spoiled by those who can't afford to buy their own refreshments and feel the need to stash some in their handbags when the staff turn their backs.
Spa is wonderful. Leisure facilities not so much.
I would recommend this property far in advance of other nearby properties.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrumpLasVegasNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear TrumpLasVagasNV,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

As a regular guest and a Diamond Hilton Honors member we really appreciate your loyalty and your feedback to help improve guest experience. I am glad you enjoy your stays at Hilton Glasgow , your comments regarding our car park and executive lounge have been communicated to our management team to review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed from 27th to 29th December. Stayed in a king hilton executive room, with access to the executive lounge. Room was fantastic, as always. Exceptionally clean and the staff were 1st class. Staff in connich were great and good was lovely. Executive lounge, as always, was great, and worth paying that little extra for. Love the hilton Glasgow and would recommend for couples and families. Just what you would expect from a 5* hilton hotel. Already booked to go again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funloverscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear funloverscotland,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel.

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I really value your positive comments about our hotel facilities and our team members , i am happy you got to take advantage of our executive bedrooms with the lounge access.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in January, a family of 2 adults and 2 ten year old boys. Hotel lobby is beautiful and staff were very welcoming. We had a very good sized room with 2 double beds. We used the swimming pool which is a reasonable size. The hotel is walking distance to the city centre but we used a taxi for convenience (taxi rank just outside hotel), which cost about £5 including tip. Breakfast was lovely, loads of variety. We would gladly stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Angela B ,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us in January.

I am delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your time at Hilton Glasgow and the facilities we offer , it is fantastic to know you would visit us again.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The rooms very very modern and clean. We had spa treatments included as part of our stay and my treatment was so relaxing I fell asleep! Treatment rooms themselves are lovely, but the pool facilities are just ok. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was slightly above average. I thought the breakfast at the hotel however was excellent. The hotel is lovely and modern, slightly on the wrong side of town but perfectly safe to walk out of during the day, at night there are taxis outside to jump in. Would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexicotraveller1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear mexicotraveller1981,

Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to read your great comments regarding your stay and I have shared your feedback with our team.

Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,018 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £69 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing