We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Functional but nothing special”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Attended a large dinner here and stayed too.
The food at the dinner was indifferent to say the least, and for a chain hotel of this reputation, was not impressive. Service was fine however.
The rooms are not large, although functional.
Considering the proximity to the motorway, the rooms are fairly quiet however.
If staying for a night, then this is fine, but it really is less than overwhelming. Functional, not impressive.
It is also a pain to be charged so much for internet access.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear janey59,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

All forms of feedback are invaluable in ensuring we maintain our high level of service and standards.

Although you found the service at dinner fine I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with the food.

I will certainly pass on your feedback to our Executive Chef and his team.

I have also noted your comment regarding the Internet charges.

I do hope we have a future opportunity to welcome you back and deliver the level of product and service you have every right to expect from Hilton Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,314
    1,100
    441
    151
    110
See reviews for
502
1,132
156
784
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hilton is usually a great chain, and one which I support on a regular basis, but there are a couple of things they need to address. One is charging a ridiculous amount for wifi access, unless you are prepared to lug your laptop down to the hotel lobby, or are lucky enough to be a gold or platinum card hilton honours member,in which case one is provided with a magic code. Other hotel chains charge less for their rooms and provide free wifi access and I suggest it is high time that Hilton Glasgow did likewise.

The other is the condition of the rooms - Room 1207 is desperately in need of a new sink in the bathroom, the surface is badly cracked and worn in at least three different places, and this should presumably have been picked up by the housekeeping staff long before now. The fact that it is in this condition suggests that the reporting mechanism for such problems is in urgent need of review. Not good.

Had I been asked if evrything was OK with my stay upon checking out I would have reported it, but I wasn't, which is both a pity and the beginning of a trend - see my report on Gatwick in October. Showing genuine interest in your guests as they depart costs nothing, and these things can be picked up early, rather than being allowed to fester.

The only highlight was the quality of the breakfast experience, and that includes the cheery Chef, efficient servers, and great food - all excellent.

I look forward to a response - it will be interesting to see if I get one......

Room Tip: Raise the issue of free wifi access - if enough people complain the policy will change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mawa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear MALCOLM W UK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay.

Hilton Glasgow offer free Wi-Fi in our public areas and our Executive bedrooms and Suites. A Hilton Connectivity Station offering 4 PC’S for our guests use, which can be used for everything from conducting meetings to simply printing boarding passes, is conveniently located in our lobby area. Our Wi-Fi access code for this is available from our reception team. Our internet charges are consistent across the Hilton Brand, I will certainly pass on your feedback to our Brand Team.

I have spoken with our Head Housekeeper and Facilities Manger regarding the sink in room 1207 and can confirm that this is included in our on-going maintenance audit and we are currently in the process of working on a remedial action plan.

We always value the opportunity to “make it right” for our guests during their stay. Our Front Desk Staff often get compliments on how friendly and helpful they are so I apologize that the team did not enquire about your stay on check out which would have given you the opportunity to raise your concerns directly with us.

I have passed on your feedback to our Reception Manager who will include your comments as part of our Front Office customer care training.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and have passed on your great feedback to our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback, should you wish to discuss your review further please feel free to contact me at sales.glasgow@hilton.com or call 0141 204 5555 and ask for Lisa in Business Development.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is my second review of this hotel. Despite being a keen Tripadvisor reviewer I rarely review anything or anywhere twice. This hotel however is more than worth the effort in doing so. In my last review I said that "this Hilton stands out from the rest of the brand. I found the staff to be very approachable, friendly and willing to spend time with guests. They injected a very hospitable and human element into my wife and my stay. " I mentioned two members of staff in particular who made our so enjoyable. In a repeat I found a further two different members of staff who did the same thing this time round. Gillian on reception and Janine in the Executive Lounge. It goes to show that there is consistency in the high standard of management and delivery of service in this particular hotel. We met a couple in the lounge who have been there 6 times in 6 months so there is a recommendation and a half in itself. Great rooms, comfy beds and a superb breakfast. Couldn't recommend it enough for business or a weekend away. Yet again I can unreservedly recommend this hotel for its comfort, facilities, location and its friendly, welcoming staff. It really doesn't cost a lot more to enjoy the experience of this luxury hotel instead of the nearby budget brands.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaLaverty, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear bjayyy,

Thank you for the great review of your stay at Hilton Glasgow, we really appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I use this hotel fairly frequently and service here is impeccable, all staff are friendly and helpful and I must say special thanks to the bartender at last visit who made us some wonderful cocktails! Usually pay extra to stay in executive room and although I would still recommend this, due to the changes they have made with only serving beer and wine, no afternoon tea Monday to Friday and horderves not as good in evening I certainly don't think it's as good for your money as it was which is a shame. My only other negative is the pool needed a good clean there was a lot of grit on the pool floor. Saying this enjoyed my visit and have already booked my next stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaLaverty, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Laura L,

Thank you for your great review of Hilton Glasgow.

It's always a pleasure to share great feedback with our team , so pleased you enjoyed.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Hilton Glasgow is a walk away from the Glasgow Central train station, the centre of town and the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum.
The staff at the hotel are extremely kind and helpful. The rooms are as expected from this star hotel. The view from the 17th floor is well worth the extra £30 for an upgrade.
The breakfasts include an excellent choice of food however the porridge which is made as a large amount is not kept hot enough to apply cold cream, as then it is only just tepid, and sadly there are 2 of the 'do it yourself ' dreaded toasters. Which caused so much waiting and disquiet that the breakfast was cool when you managed to return to it.
Room service was satisfactory and the greek salad was well presented and a good healthy option. However a small bottle of Champagne from the mini bar was a little over priced at £19.95.
I know times are hard but it is a sad relfection that the Hilton (and I have been to a few) cannot provide a biscuit to have with the tea and coffee facilities and free WI FI.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerieM904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaLaverty, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear valerieM904,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay . Had double double deluxe room for family of 4 . Couldn't fault hotel. Very spacious, airy and clean. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food good. Lewis at the bar made us some great cocktails . Hope to return soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Saltire2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Audrey S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your one night stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and would also like to thank you for mentioning Lewis personally. We have an internal recognition programme and it is always great to be able to highlight and reward team members specifically.

I am also delighted to hear that you hope to return soon and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taif, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Usual good service and nice clean well stocked rooms. stayed in executive suite with access to lounge, disappointed as choice of drinks have diminished and food not the same as past years cost cutting maybe??

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank robyyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Robbie G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to read your comments on our good service and well stocked rooms.

I have noted your feedback regarding the Executive Lounge. We are consistently reviewing the products and services we offer to our guest and I will certainly pass on your feedback to our Food and Beverage Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,200 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
531 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing