We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Business Hotel with nice facilities but horrible location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel with nice facilities but horrible location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is located right by the M8 in an industrial/business district. The surrounding is not very nice as it consists mainly of the motorway. The hotel itself is a modern and impersonal building that is not very inviting.
However, the lobby and reception area are quite nice. We were greeted by excellent reception staff and were offered a room upgrade to Executive King due to HHonors Gold Status. However we stayed with the Twin Guest Room that had a very nice interior but a horrible view and no possibility to open any windows. The Executive Lounge offers a decent selection of beverages and snacks, especially in the evenings (e.g. Kronenbourg 1664 beer and Fish&Chips or mushroom soup). There are no windows in the lounge and it is located in Ground Floor which is extremely disappointing.
The Health Club Facilites are very nice. The pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam room alongside the showers and changing areas are clean and good to use. Goggles and swimming gear available for sale.
Breakfast in the restaurant (MORTONS) was simply excellent and has helped give the hotel the rating "4" instead of "3" in this review. The hotel had a fabulous selection of finest foods and offered omelets and other specialties from directly available chefs (open kitchen) including Smoked Haddock which was delicious and special. The staff member showing us to our table was very friendly and wanted to be reassured that he was doing a good job.
All in all this hotel is very nice from the inside but the location of the hotel and the location of the Executive Lounge within the hotel just drags it down.
We will maybe try the Hilton Grosvenor Hotel next time which is situated farther outside but definitely looks nicer and more personal. Please double-check the location and surrounding of this hotel before booking. If you are ok with it then you have made a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to get something with a decent view as it is simply depressing otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kritiker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Kritiker99,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast and would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our leisure facilities , however I am disappointed that you were let down by Executive Lounge experience and the location of the hotel.

All forms of feedback are invaluable in ensuring we maintain our high level of service and standards and your comments have been noted.

Thank you again for sharing your review; should you choose to visit Glasgow in the future, I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    1,087
    433
    151
    110
See reviews for
494
1,119
156
776
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Myself & partner regularly stay at the Hilton hotel in glasgow, we always book the executive lounge but after our most recent stay i was left feeling really disappointed. when we first started staying the executive lounge was on the upper floors with spectacular views of glasgow, an outstanding selection of drinks, spirits & fizz with mouthwatering canapés & finger foods making it such a pleasant experience to sit and relax or do some work. Since then they have changed the executive lounge to the ground floor, it feels horrible, not even a window so it is like sitting in a bunker, they have no spirits or fizz just one type of wine, disgusting food that i cant even call canapés (one was soggy potato wedges!!)

For the extra money you pay for this service it is not worth it anymore, i can get better value for money at other hotels with executive lounges. i would happily pay more money for a better executive lounge as would others so please hitlon fix this fast as we were not the only ones complaining in the lounge, move it back up to the top floors and put in a small cocktail/champagne bar so guests can stay in the lounge after 8pm and pay for drinks! The rooms are fantastic, so clean and staff very professional! The breakfast is the best we have came across in any hotel, amazing selection!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batman347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear batman347,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am so sorry to hear your experience in our Executive lounge was not a positive one , our goal is to always create a guest experience that is memorable and leaving the impression of wanting to return. In this case we were not able to accomplish this and I apologize. Your feedback has been passed to our Management team to review.

On a positive note I am so pleased that you enjoyed your room and the hotel’s facilities, in particular our Hilton Breakfast.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for one night to attend a concert.
The reception staff were very polite and helpful as was all the other staff that we encountered.
The public areas and bar are of a high standard just what you expect of Hilton.
We were upgraded due to my Hhonors status.
The room was very clean but small. The bed was very comfy, but the décor was a bit dated and tired. The room really could do with an upgrade.
We used the executive lounge before going to the concert but we were disappointed with the selection of the canapés (only one) and there is only wine or beer available. Nowhere as good as other Hilton lounges I have used. We ended just going to the bar for drinks and ordered food there.
Breakfast was terrific.
Underground parking is good but tight if you have a large car.
We will be back in Glasgow before Christmas, and we will be staying in the Hilton again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Buckieloon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It is great to hear you found our staff to be helpful and polite during your time with us and that you really enjoyed our infamous breakfast.

I am sorry that your were disappointed with our Executive lounge offerings , as a Hilton Honors member we really value your feedback to help improve our guests experience. All your comments have been passed onto our management team for review.

I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

One of the best Hotels I have stayed in. Very friendly & polite staff. Lovely décor & room was spotlessly clean & well equipped. Bed was really comfortable. Plenty cupboard and drawer space. Bathroom very clean with huge fluffy towels and good range of toiletries,

Leisure facilities very good and well maintained. Small pool but very nice with a sauna and steam room.

Food lovely & plenty choice.

Only drawback was the huge security presence due to the Commonwealth Games. The Hotel really handled this well.

Room Tip: 20 floors, Higher floors have better views for obvious reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Susan G ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed Hilton Glasgow. We really appreciate your kind feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hilton with family for one night, hard in Glasgow to get decent hotels with family rooms. Glasgow hilton is what you would expect from the brand, modern, efficient, and professional standards from all staff, entrance lobby/foyer area very impressive.

Child friendly place no hassles. Family room we had was spot on, all the usual amenities and super clean. Family used swimming pool, which I believe was lovely and they thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast was a lovely affair and caters for all tastes, huge choice of traditional Scottish and continental breakfast selections.

Secure underground parking which is great, albeit a bit tricky if you have a larger motor vehicle approaching ramps up and down levels! Is fairly tight to negotiate, evidence of all manner of driving skills clearly displayed on walls of past escapades of various poor motoring skills, thankfully I passed the test, This time!

Great hotel and would recommend, only downside is the location for walking into the centre of Glasgow, the route is less than glamorous if you intend to walk by foot! Upside is there is plenty taxis outside if you require transport into the city in my opinion this is the best & safest option. Would use again if in Glasgow with young family.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2manyreveiwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear 2manyreiewers,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It is great to hear how much you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the facilities it has to offer. We really vaule your feedback and fantastic comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed here twice in 3 months and absolutely love it - from arrival to departure this hotel is 5 star.

The rooms are gorgeous, reception area is elegant and the bar is reasonable. Breakfast is second to none for hotel breakfast's - best we have had and we have stayed in a lot of hotels.

We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Emma P ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoy your stays at hilton Glasgow.

We really value your kind comments and these have been shared with all our team members.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Spent one night here. Staff at check-in very friendly and helpful. I had a room on 17th floor. Only problem was it was facing on to a building site, which didn't give much of a view. Sunshine didn't come round to the room. Which meant it was a little dark. Room was large which is usually not the norm for chain hotels. What I find in most hotels now is the lighting in the room especially in the bathroom is not good. I think it takes a ceiling light to make a difference as was the case in the Hilton. It is a little way out from Buchanan street when walking. Breakfast was excellent with so much choice. Staff in restaurant didn't comment much. Perhaps their English isn't great. Yes I hope to return as I am a silver card holder. Though hoping for a room with a view.

Room Tip: I was in room 1717, try and avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear fluffysheep,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed breakfast and the excellent choice we provided.

As a Hilton Honors member we really appreciate your feedback to help improve our guests experience and all your comments have been passed onto our management team.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing