We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the adjoining door”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beware the adjoining door”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We walked from the bus stop. It's not a pleasant walk through a dodgy area immediately behind the hotel that looks straight out of a Jack Reacher novel (the alternative was walking alongside the nearby motorway. The good news is you can walk into central Glasgow within ten minutes.

The inside of the hotel is nice enough. We were allocated a room on the 11th floor which was perfectly adequate. Our view took in the previously mentioned busy motorway but thankfully the soundproofing was excellent.

Ah. Soundproofing. Our neighbour in the adjoining room invited some ladies back at around 4am and I assure you there is next to no soundproofing through the adjoining door. They might as well have been sitting at the end of our bed.

The good news is when we spoke to reception they immediately upgraded us to an executive room. That was very kind. I did not think the executive room was THAT different to our standard room )no adjoining door thankfully).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squarebear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaLaverty, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Squarebear99,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am sorry to read you felt the walk to the hotel was unpleasant , our Concierge team are always happy to help guests with directions to and from the hotel and can be contacted on 0141 204 5555.

On a positive note there is an on-going development opposite the hotel called the St Vincent Plaza, there are plans to build a public realm that will offer our guests an alternative pedestrian route to and from the hotel.

I am happy to hear that our reception team were able to offer you alternative accommodation during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing and I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,381
    1,142
    461
    161
    113
See reviews for
538
1,179
158
825
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed mid august booked 2 rooms on 18th floor one for ourselves and one for our teenage daughters. Have stayed a number of times before really noticed a difference rooms looking tired, chairs in executive lounge stained in fact the executive lounge disappointing no afternoon tea told we were too late it was 15:30. In the evening had to ask for clean glasses staff member had to finish whatever she was doing on her mobile phone before getting them. In fairness staff on reception very helpful and professional, room service excellent and nothing ever too much bother for connich bar staff thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheenaallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaLaverty, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear sheenaanne,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to read your comments regarding our service in Connich Bar however I am sorry to hear your feedback regarding your room and the lack of service you received in our Executive Lounge.

I will certainly pass on your feedback to our Front of House Manager to review with our team as part of our on-going review of products and services that we offer to our guests.

I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel before and my most recent stay was not my best. Two of the three days we stayed I had to wash the in room cups before we could use them, remnants of the previous users beverage were still in the cup not to mention the cracks around the tops.

Bar service was was no better than ok and probably a little on the slow side.

As others have mentioned the WiFi situation is pretty poor, in the lobby the Hilton honors WiFi is passable but as soon as you are away from the public space WiFi all but disappears.

Staff are friendly and hospitable and the car parking on site is helpful, if tight.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Andy B ,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was a disappointing one.

As you can imagine this is not the standard we strive to achieve at Hilton Glasgow. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the service at Connich bar have been passed onto the relevant departments to investigate.

If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on Nicole.Johnstone@hilton.com.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the furture.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Hilton was recovering from what had obviously been a very busy time during the Commonwealth Games. The roads around it were closed (not the Hilton's fault) but getting to the hotel was extremely difficult. The road closures were cleared soon after my arrival.
The hotel was busy with people involved with the games, I even shared a lift with the President of Malawi. You don't get that sort of person in your lift every day!
I think that the Hilton is the best hotel in Glasgow, I have stayed there many times and the services and rooms are always very good or excellent.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, away from the busy M8 which is right outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Steven J ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

I really appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

After a very successful Commonwealth Games it is great to receive such positive feedback from our guests.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2014

excellent as always this hotel has great amenities, modern feel and lovely rooms staff are always exceptionally helpful and friendly. I stay at a lot of Hiltons around the UK and this one is by far the best, most up to date and comfortable. The highlights of the hotel are the fitness centre and the food, even the room service is exceptional

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear lauren s,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

It is fantastic to hear how great your stay was and how much you enjoyed our hotels facilities in particular our Livingwell heath club and Room Service.

We really value your loyalty and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Had a pleasant two night stay booked with Hilton Honours Reward points.

The hotel, where we have stayed several times before, was of it's usual high standard with friendly and efficient staff, large, clean and well maintained rooms and public areas.

The food was excellent and we enjoyed a very nice meal in the restaurant complimented by friendly but not over fussy service followed by expertly mixed cocktails in the bar.

The one negative was that, having spent in excess of £300 in the hotel in the course of the two day stay breakfast was not made complimentary even when specifically enquired about.

I appreciate that the Hilton Honours points redemption stays are room only but this is only the second Hilton out of at least a couple of dozen that has not agreed to complimentary breakfast on the basis of a significant room stay and for that reason and that reason only I will be looking elsewhere when I next visit the great city of Glasgow which I do reasonably regularly.

It is a pity as a little flexibility would have generated much goodwill and some return business. Maybe a matter for consideration in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear CGHW,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Hilton Glasgow.

I am happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed dining in Morblas restaurant.

I value your comments and your feedback regarding breakfast has been passed to our management team to review.

I would like to thank you again for choosing Hilton Glasgow and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed at the Hilton on Thursday evening – my first visit to the Hilton in Glasgow. Very easy to find and like most of the other Hiltons I have stayed in, a very impressive hotel.

Just after I checked in, I found that David Cameron was addressing a business dinner at the hotel that evening and demonstrators were beginning to assemble outside to protest about the independence campaign. I wondered if that would impact my stay, but the event and the demonstration in no way seemed to disrupt the smooth running of the hotel. The foyer was pretty busy later in the evening as I left to go out for dinner and one of the elevators was reserved for the event attendees, but that was not a problem.

I had decided to upgrade my room and ended up on the 20th floor, with a balcony which gave a great panoramic view of the city – well worth the additional 30 pounds it cost. Breakfast the next morning was the usual hot and cold buffet and quality was excellent. Staff could not have been friendlier or more efficient.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Doug B ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to take advantage of our Junior Balcony Suite. We really value your kind comments regarding our staff and your feedback has been shared with our team members.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards

Nicole Johnstone
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing