We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, reliable stay”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Black Isle, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, reliable stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Having stayed here several times in the past few years, I guess you could say this is my hotel in Glasgow. Very good, well-appointed and clean rooms, pleasant and efficient staff. The place (and small parking lot) can get very crowded during functions and, understandibly, service (and parking availablilty) can suffer on those occasions. Amazingly, the mini bars in the rooms offer a better value for some drinks than the horrendously-expensive bar downstairs -- odd, particularly considering how close the hotel is to dozens of pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anderjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    1,152
    464
    161
    113
See reviews for
550
1,187
158
829
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Booked in for 2 nights on a "2 for 1" deal at £55.50 per room per night breakfast included, so wasn't sure what to expect.

Arrived around 7pm Friday evening to be met by a "car park full" sign! However, just as we were about to leave and find parking elsewhere, the doorman approached us and told us to wait a few minutes as he was about to release some parking spaces. This was very much appreciated. Access to and the actual parking of vehicles is a bit on the tight side!

Smooth check in, allocated fantastic room with great views on the 12th floor. Room was massive with a large bathroom, plenty of cupboard space, separate working area, nice leather sofa, huge plasma TV, mini bar (which we didn't use - expensive!). Lifts are a bit of a pain, only 2 of the 3 working and they were tiny! At one point counted 11 people in our lift, all jammed together, the sign said 16 people max - no way!!

We were taking in a show at the Kings Theatre and this hotel is situated perfectly for walking there, only took about 15 minutes. Had a drink in the bar when we came back, £13.40 for 2 vodka & lemonade, needless to say we only had the one drink!!

Lovely main reception area where we sat and just chilled. The Celtic Team were staying prior to the match, so we spotted most of them on the Saturday morning. Also met Sir Alex Ferguson, so the "people watching" that weekend was worth it!

Lovely hot and cold buffet breakfast with a massive choice was included in our room rate, no problems getting a table. Room was serviced while we were at breakfast which was good.

Overall, would definitely stay there again and would recommend to friends.

Positives -
Location, cleanliness, breakfast, lovely reception area, fantastic view from room

Negatives -
Lifts, only 2 of 3 working, ended up taking stairs down when checking out. Okay for us, but not so good for older guests.
Small area of peeling paint above shower and leaky bathroom tap - reported but not fixed prior to us checking out.
Lack of hot water at 0900 one morning.
A few kids running around in reception unchecked (where are the parents??)

Don't let the above put you off, I'm extremely fussy but, overall, I loved The Hilton and only hope they do some more "2 for 1" deals so we can stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

The hotel itself is great.
Friendly staff, fantastic breakfast, nice rooms.
The only thing I wasn't too happy about was the location, but then again...It takes less than 10 minutes to walk to the Central Station and Buchanan Street.
The neighbourhood is just a bit boring. Didn't feel unsafe at all, though.
If you travelling by car, the location is nothing less than perfect...Right next too the motorway (M8)
In any case I would recommend this hotel any time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbluedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed Friday 1 - Sunday 3rd May and arrived at 9:30am as we had an early morning flight - receptionist was friendly and helpful and we found our room was already available for us. Queen room on the 17th floor was huge with large sofa, flat screen tv, very comfortable big bed, and very spacious bathroom. Fantastic views.

All staff were friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was good, bar was a little pricey but we only had drinks on the way out and a night cap when we got back. Didn't try the restaurants. But found a fantastic Indian restaurant with the help of a lovely taxi driver - Mother of India - which wasn't too far away from the hotel.

Very handy for the SECC, a short cheap taxi fare away and we actually walked back because it was so busy which took 20 mins (SECC - not much in the way of food and drink so don't get there too early)

Initial impression of the hotel's location was that it was quite a way away from the centre, but it was only a 10 minute walk to the shops. (Lots and lots of shops!) Probably not so good for older guests, but easy to get taxis.

Lifts - 2 out of 3 were working - and on sunday morning it was very busy and we had to wait a while for a lift around breakfast/checking out time.

Had a wonderful stay and would happily return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Good standard of hotel, with gym and leisure facilities. Missed out on the room upgrade, but the room allocated was spacious and well appointed - everything you'd expect. Got the complimentary breakfast instead - although layout of breakfast room a bit cramped - difficult picking your way to and from the buffet. 1 of 3 lifts out of action, so often had to wait, 10 minutes being the longest.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Comfortable, good restaurants, easy walk into the centre. Only problem was the lifts (not enough - you could spend 10 minutes or more waiting for one in the breakfast period)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drunclejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

we have stayed a few times in this hotel and is remarkably great hotel. facilities are terrific and staff is really friendly . location is great for shopping or anything else.

breakfast was awesome !!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anupammahendru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing