We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel Great Location - Would Definately Return”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We booked this hotel when the Hilton had a winter sale, and got a great deal on an executive room.
Check in was very quick and we were able to go straight to our room, even though it was before 3pm check in time.
The executive rooms are on the 18th - 20th floor, and we were allocated a room on floor 18, with views across Glasgow.
The room was equipped with a mini bar which was payable.
It had loads of wardrobe and shelf space, and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom with a lovely shower and bath. dressing gowns, and slippers, and a very large digital tv with good choice of channels. the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was fantastic with loads of choice for all tastes, set us up for the whole day.
What made it for us was the executive lounge, where you could take breakfast if you wanted to, but we ate in the main restaurant, but there was internet access/t.v/newspapers and afternoon snacks and a great selection of drinks between 6 and 8 pm.
We had to change rooms due to an incident in the hotel and this was dealt with very professionally and the hotel provided us with a bottle of champagne which was a very nice gesture.
The spa facilities were very good with swimming pool/steam room/sauna and jacuzzi.
A special mention to Stefano in the main bar who was very entertaining and friendly.
Concierge exellent also.
Check out was excellent

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsunsun19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunblaneSales, Director of Sales at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

Thanks so much for such a detailed and complimentary review of your recent stay at Hilton Glasgow. I am delighted that you had a great experience with us and that you liked our Executive Lounge so much. I have passed on your comments about Stefano and he will be recognized for his customer service – thanks for highlighting this as it enables us to reward excellence.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon
Best regards
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,070 - 3,076 of 3,373 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2010

My husband & I had a couple of nights here as I was attending a conference. We were on the 8th floor looking onto the M8 but you hardly heard any traffice noise. We ate in the bar one night and went with the waitress recommendation, which was spot on. All the staff were extremely pleasant and a credit to the management but the best bit of our stay was the bed, it has to be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, to the extent I stripped off all the sheets to see what make it was! I will be back.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
Thank fiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunblaneSales, Director of Sales at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

Many thanks for taking time to review your recent stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the beds are the best around!

The team at the hotel look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Hilton Glasgow is one of the best Hilton properties in the UK. It is a short walk from Central Station; once you get to the hotel you have to walk around the building to get to the entrance and it could do with some better signage – its obviously designed for those driving. The location is a little isolated and it’s a good 10 minutes walk to restaurants and shops; but then that’s not a problem because I really felt I had everything that I needed in the hotel.
Reception was quick and efficient on both check-in and check-out. As my room wasn’t quite ready I was offered access to the Executive Lounge whilst I waited – an opportunity to grab a welcome drink and sandwich.
The room was big with one of Hilton new large screen television with a good selection of channels. The bathroom looked a little date but everything worked well. The room safe was on the small side – not big enough for a laptop. And the view from the room (18th) floor was good looking out to the mountains beyond the city. The lighting was good and it was easy to go from a good level of lighting for work to a low-light to watch tv.
There is a large modern swimming pool and this was a great way to relax at the end of the working day.
The Executive Lounge suffers from having no outside windows and is rather dark in places. But that is the only criticism. The food and beverages were good through from breakfast, afternoon tea and canapés.
The restaurant looked good but gets very busy so I opted for room service. Food was promptly served, hot, tasty, good portions and well presented.
And having given all that praise, the one thing that really made my stay was the friendliness of the staff who always appeared to be going that extra mile to make sure I was getting everything out of my stay that I expected.
This is now the “definitely stay” place when I’m in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunblaneSales, Director of Sales at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

Thanks so much for providing such a detailed review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and on behalf of the whole team would like to thank you in particular for mentioning the positive and friendly attitude of the team members - we do try and go that extra mile!

I do hope you will be back soon

Best regards
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Stayed here 3 nights. The room was spacious, spotless and had recently been refurbed. Service was very good, breakfast equally good, although we didn't dine in the restaurant in the evening. Spa facilities were well maintained. Most things were a 10/15 minute walk away, and a taxi usually cost less than £5 including a tip. Not the cheapest hotel by any means, but you certainly get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJHManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunblaneSales, Director of Sales at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us at Hilton Glasgow - it is much appreciated.

I am pleased that your enjoyed your time with us - we aim to satisfy the needs of all our valuable guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Best regards
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

stayed her on Friday and Saturday night 9th and 20th March,

The room could have been a bit cleaner need to take a duster and hoover around the bedroom, it is a bit tired and worn to be honest.


Was impressed on check in,

my partner on the Saturday went to ask the Concierge about the walking time to the Kelvingrove gallery, she was astonished when she said her partner was familiar with the area only to be asked "do you mean your husband " to which she replied well my nearly husband, no we are not married but after a great 10 year we might give it some thought, I personally think the question was inappropriate and not relevant in any conversation, seeking directions

On check out we had 2 charges on our bill, 1 for the mini bar and 1 for the complimentary newspaper, both were removed without to much fuss by a quick call to reception following the express check out bill to our room, when i went to check we had no further charges, i was told you have nothing to pay, I asked about the car park and as quick as a flash the cost was added to my bill, so i did have something to pay, to be honest the receptionist on duty on Sunday morning was off hand and not in the slightest way warm or friendly, not ideal as a lasting impression.

We also experienced what seems to be the norm at weekends the usual drunken shouting in the corridors at 2am in the morning, people think drink is a suitable excuse for totally inappropriate behaviour and inconvenience to others.

The leisure facilities were excellent, as were the staff, the saving grace of this Hilton anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Average business hotel. Pleasant service, terrible views of the motorway.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
Thank himselfetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed the night after a charity event at the hotel. I have to say I was pleasantly suprised with the price and what you got. I payed a slightly bit more and stayed in the executive rooms, these are big and lavish. With it included access to the executive lounge which is where you have breakfast and between 6pm-8pm free selection of light bites and alcohol. Having stayed at a few Hiltons this is by far the best. The staff and friendly and curtious. The rooms are spotless. The only downside is the parking, they charge you £10 a day to park which I think is a bit extreme considering you are paying to stay there! You are within 10 mins walking distance to Sauchiehall Street where there is plenty to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £84 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing