We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here for a night whilst away for work. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. My room was large and quite comfy, and well equipped for drying out from a Glasgow monsoon. The free mini bar is a major plus point for this hotel, as is the location. Breakfast was average, but I went towards the end of the serving time so that may have been a bit of bad luck.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Cumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
There are newer reviews for Carlton George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,481 - 1,487 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I arrived in Glasgow by Train at Queen Street Station at 12:15 on a Tuesday. It was raining at the time but I would say the walk from the station to the hotel can't be more than one minute so we didn't really get wet. Our room wasn't ready yet (and, to be fair check-in time, isn't until 2:00 pm) so we left our case with reception and went out for lunch. We came back at 2:00 and the room was ready. It was a really spacious and nice room with modern fittings, furnishings and a sizeable LCD TV. There was a complimentary mini bar with beer, wine, a couple of spirit miniatures and plenty soft drinks. In a cabinet there were also 3 decanters each containing some gin, sherry and whiskey (again complimentary). The bathroom was modern with a thermostatically controlled shower over the bath. There wasn't much of a view from the room window as we were overlooking an atrium in the centre of the hotel.

We went out shopping and found that the hotel is ideally situated - right in the middle of where you want to be! Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street are right there on your doorstep. After shopping we had a couple of drinks in "Waxy O'Connor's", a place right next to the hotel with bars on various floors and a good selection of reasonably priced food (we ate there on our 2nd night). After Waxy's we went back to the hotel and had dinner in their rooftop (7th floor) restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good and reasonably priced. Although it's promoted as a rooftop restaurant and it has windows right along one wall, there are no great views of Glasgow - mainly rooftops.

We had a very good nights sleep in the room as it was very quiet not being at the front of the hotel (can't say how noisy the fron would be). The only minor let-downs we had was that on the 2nd day housekeeping only left one bathtowel instead of 2 and they didn't replenish the empty tissue box. Also, the Sherry decanter hadn't been topped up. Apart from that we were very satisfied with the Carlton George and would certainly go back there next time we're in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

City centre location, lovely rooms, friendly staff and good food, but the free bar certainly swings it. If you like to go round the shops then back and put your feet up with a free mini bar, decanters and a free exclusive bar from 5pm - 11pm you cant whack it with a big stick.

Room Tip: book the executive room or better, as the basic rooms are lovely but dont get you the free bar and I...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekenderWooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Searched tons of reviews of Glasgow hotels before booking and was perfectly satisfied with the quality and service in the Carlton George. Excellent reception from staff, room very comfortable, free minibar + decanters, breakfast good albeit a bit chaotic towards the end of service but all in all, brilliant. Will definately recommend to friends, and will surely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We come to Glasgow and Edinburgh a couple of times each year (as we love Scotland) and like to try different hotels in the area. Stayed here for a couple of nights recently. The Carlton George has a really, really good location right in the center of Glasgow next to both George Square and Buchanan Street. We arrived by train to the next door train station - very comfortable.

We had booked an executive double room which we suspect wasn’t one of the refurbished rooms, but ok nonetheless. The room faced a small street and the view was therefore not great but at least it was quiet at night. The cleaning left a lot to be desired, unfortunately. Lots of dust on the desk, around the tv. Worst of all, the wine glasses in the cupboard were USED and DIRTY with lipstick on them which really felt disgusting.

The free minibar is a nice touch. It’s restocked once daily but on our night of arrival it hadn’t been restocked at all.

Breakfast room offers good views and is really a nice place to sit. The cooked full Scottish breakfast was very good and tasty, but I’m sorry to say that the continental section had a very limited choice and the fresh fruit didn’t look that fresh at all (like it was cut the day before).

The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

Executive lounge was really nice and cozy, where we could (and did) enjoy a nice glass of Merlot by the fireplace.

All in all, would maybe come back but not without a good discount.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Really good hotel for weekend or shopping trip. The Club room was excellent and very comfortable and with access to the Executive lounge this is very good value. Dinner in Windows restaurant was really good and not only for the views. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Good discount for parking nearby and pick up drop off was just about manageable with one way systems and parking restrictions.

Room Tip: Executive or Club rooms are worth the extra to gainaccess to Executive lounge.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 192AHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great location, 2 minutes from queen street station, 5 from the merchant city and 3 from the centre of shopping. Rooms are a little tired but far from being shabby. Staff have everything you need and expect from Glasgow hospitality. Friendly, little bit of banter and a joke, but very efficient. Free drink is a nice touch too. All in all a must stay venue.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,951 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,326 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,697 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £98 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing